Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Winter invasion

by Belvar - Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move
X to jump
C to shoot

Goal : Survive until the star at the top becomes shiny (it appears slowly). Then go up to catch it.

Picking up the items is important. You melt slowly so pick up snow to regain health.

The tilesets and structures are randomly chosen so if it doesn't please you just reload the game !


As you could notice, I took inspiration from Risk of Rain among other games. I originally planned to add cool items like in RoR or Binding of Isaac but you know, time...

Made using :
* Haxeflixel framework
* GIMP (I should start to learn using Inkscape and stuff... Animations are lame)
* Tiled
* SFXR
* emacs
* Archlinux

The HTML5 export didn't work, sorry for that !
I also have a GNU/Linux64 build but I didn't included it. If you want it, just say it and I will upload it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#244Humor3.03
#545Graphics3.11
#581Fun3.06
#618Theme3.56
#630Mood2.86
#664Audio2.52
#733Overall3.03
#982Innovation2.45

Comments

estuardolh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03am

lovely graphics C:

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55am

it's fun but a little frustrating around the edges, if you end up above an enemy who's slightly to the side of you you end up bouncing on him until you die and there's nothing you can do.

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice game!

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Good but the controls are a bit hard to get used to.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:13pm

This game is great, love the graphics, died in seconds on Harder

Zayron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Fun game. At first I did not like the fact I could not jump high then I could. I guess it was a power up. Your game is almost named the same as mine too. :)

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I like the graphics ! Really annoying when someone gets stuck on you because of how high you shoot.

On one of the maps there's a ledge on the left and right, if powerups spawn there you need to boost off of someone's head in order to get up to it, which is frustrating

OpenGL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

I think it's the best side platform shoot game I rated now. :)

Havi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice and fun game! I like the random level and texture.

Lolwned says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Random levels are well made. Love the power ups !

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:25pm

The physics are half-decent, and there's a wide range of power ups on offer (though of course not rivalling RoR's ;)). It almost feels like there should be more writing, because your style is absolutely brilliant, over the top and pretty hilarious. It's also pretty sorely lacking music, although the sound effects are alright.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33pm

The controls seem very unresponsive at times.

Belvar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Thank you all for your feedback ! I get the game physics are not optimal and frustrating, this is partly due to flixel colision system that is not really good (but it would not be fair to blame it all on the engine :) I think there is way too much hitback too)

Oh and I did not specify it clearly but the level are not randomly generated, they are randomly selected in a pool of 5 level I made (just to be sure there is no confusion)

@rd127p77 : to be honest, and although I am a bit ashamed to admit it, I never beat the Harder mode myself...

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:45am

The death message was awesome, great game :D

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23am

I love the little jump animation! Great game!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:08am

That snowman sprite is hilarious :)
Seriously though, quite fun with all the different demons once you're all powered up. Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10am

Hi there. Like the blame for everything message at death ;) Like the carrot nose gun. Nice sounds. Found it a bit difficult and combat too tricky (lose health quickly if they get adjacent but can't kill fast enough at range). Needs some balance but Good job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Its nice, the power ups icons are cool! but couldnt jump further to any platform, is there a double jump? Please add some music!

Belvar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59pm

@Jupitron : to jump higher you must wait for jump powerups

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It's great to see another HaxeFlixel user. Good graphics. Nice work.

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Lol! Snowman shooting a carrots! xD

jotson says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Like the snowman animation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]