Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dispense With Chaos

by colludium - Compo Entry

Santa's bag is dropping all of its presents and you have to click on groups of four or more to make them explode. Don't let the pile get too high or this physics based game will end in your shame. I don't know why Santa has explosives in his bag, but there you go...

See how much you can score in 10 minutes - I hope you enjoy this LD31 entry, I certainly had fun making it (does crying with frustration count as fun?).

I would prefer it if you downloaded the Windows version. Really, please choose that - it's only a 30 Mb Node Webkit file. Why? you ask - my answer is because the current version of Chrome happily renders games full of janks with missing frames. It looks ugly... I can't stop you, but I am pleading with you! I know, you don't care, you're on a time-line and you have to review a lot of games to get your kudos up. So, if you insist on downloading the browser version then you might have to play it in a small window. I don't know.... I'm just saying. You could have some serious hardware that would make NASA jealous, so don't be offended - I'm just saying in case you don't!

Made with Construct 2, GIMP, Inkscape,, Music Maker Jam, sfxr, Audacity, Genetica, and not forgetting toast and wine (nourishment).

Downloads and Links




spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

Love it! Very solid. Clever concept. Love the music and the way it changes as your playing. (PS I played on web, and my system is really not very good, and the jank was pretty minimal.)

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Pretty fun game!!!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:48am

I was a bit concerned about the rude shape that was emerging as I played, and then a realised it was just some bells.

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14am

Interesting concept. :)

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Very nice.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37pm

nice concept, well done

G_O_R_D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

THe web version ran fine on my system, but none of the objects ever disappeared even though lots were touching same type.

colludium says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

@G_O_R_D - were you clicking on the groups? They don't disappear by themselves - that's part of the game idea. If you were clicking - what browser were you using?

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

Items need to dispense faster, other than that make it 5mins, the average time someone is willing to play.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good idea, pretty innovative.
It seems to me though there is a balance issue. I would have preferred to be able to decide when to drop presents, and have a "manual" release for it. Or maybe not have to match 4 presents, most of the time, 3 were enough.
Also a 10 minutes timer is pretty long.

It is a nice idea to mix the "tetris" preview with a match 3 mechanic, but as I mentioned, it required too much juggling on my part for me to be really efficient at it.

But otherwise, good ambiance, very nice music, and interesting fact that more and more type of presents are dropped.

No jank on FF solid browser, as usual.

Good job on making a game during the compo.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I completely agree with Kyatric, he/she pinpointed the exact things I liked and disliked about it.

Good job!

Wirtualnosc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very fun and innovative game. Good job :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:07am

Hi there. Great sounds, even the button clicks. Nice clean design. I suggest you make the dispenser move with keyboard not mouse, as it is too annoying jumping top to bottom...

Erkberg says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Pretty cool game. I especially like how sometimes the level changes and mixes up everything. It's a little hard to switch between controlling the bag and exploding stuff, maybe let the bag be controlled by keyboard?
Graphics are fine, the music is quite relaxing and it's just great fun to explode stuff and watch everything fly away, good job overall!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:19pm

My PC ran this perfectly on Chrome in full screen (I am now in talks with NASA).
The physics were very satisfying, especially when you clicked 4 things and they exploded, the whole thing felt very tactile. That way the level changed was good as well, it kept things interesting

colludium says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:07am

Thank you all for your comments and feedback!

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Very innovative idea, with the adjustment of the bag and the strategy of trying to best drop the presents in the right spot is pretty challenging. Audio fits well with your artwork and the settings. Good job!

Havi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Cool game :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Cool idea. I like how the level is changes while you play. I feel like the action moves a bit slow and I find myself clicking around randomly. Maybe just have the pieces automatically explode if 4 are touching without requiring the player to click.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:08am

Very nice idea, the effect of the objects exploding and the sound are hilarious! hahahahaa xD

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:39am

Real neat physics game! Quite a bit of fun trying to predict how the explosions will regroup stuff, and the dynamic map is awesome! Excellent work!

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:01am

I was excited to play this, as you don't see this genre of game in LD very often. It was quite fun, but frustrating at times. My main issue was with the controls. Using the mouse to both move the dropper and select the items to explode seemed more annoying than challenging. I'd suggest maybe assigning them to either separate mouse buttons, have the arrow keys control the dropper.

The explosions were very satisfying. I liked that you have the player choose which groups to destroy instead of doing it automatically at some point.

Also, 10 minutes felt a bit too long. I think either reducing it to 5 minutes, or making the gameplay endless and gradually increasing the drop speed, would make the game a bit more enjoyable.

Overall, a nice LD entry.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:12am

I find it's a nice concept, although I'm not completely sold on it.
The (long) timing for example is one thing I'm being kind of torn on.
I understand why it's there, but it means I have to go for 10 minutes of game each play, it's a "huge" commitment.

The fact that gifts drop independently of my will, it made it difficult for me to decide where to drop them while searching for patterns, while keeping an eye on the clock.

Moreover, if you screw the "lower strata" there is no real way to dig back so deep.

Overall nicely done and pleasant to play but a bit too "messy"/action oriented for a game that requires thoughts and planning ahead imo.

Good job on making this game in 48 hours !

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:03am

Not terribly innovative, but great fun!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 3:02am

Cool gameplay, but near the end it just seems like you're playing pachinko, with all the rotating platforms, the dividers and the speed that the balls were being ejected at. I think the balls flying when moving the bag was way too punishing, the velocity probably should just start as 0 so that it's easier to micro manage every ball. Despite this, I did enjoy playing and the music was nice.

pht59x says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:05am

Very good innovative physics-based concept. Do we need to read instructions to find out the bucket can move using the mouse. Nice music, too.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:36am

Good game.
Difficulty progressivity, mechanics and music are all well done.

I do fill that I had too many thing to manage at the same time (what come next, where should I click to make things fall where it is good, can i click to make things disappear). MAYBE, i would remove the moving bag feature, but just MAYBE.

ceosol says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:53pm

This is a solid entry. It is a little difficult to control the blimp. Remembering 50 things on the ground and having a half a second to see what is coming next does not work too well together :)

I definitely agree that the time should have been shorter. Speed it up to 5 minutes or even 3 minutes with faster board conversions. But overall, the physics were great and you really exemplified it but having changing terrain.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I was very impressed by this, It is a really cool idea and I love that that shape evolves and changes as you are playing.

I'm not sold on moving the dropper, for me I found it got in the way more when I was trying to click. If you kept it maybe move it to be controlled with arrow/wasd.

I know some comments mention they should choose the rate...I'm going to go against that. I like that it is all automatic. What I would like to see is it start at a faster dropping rate.

Another option would be to position the bag in the middle, but when it shoots it aims the object at the mouse location. This way it would be automatic, but also give you control over the objects.

Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]