Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Door Panic!

by XenosNS - Jam Entry

Screen Door Panic!
by Adam Hartling - XenosNS
for Ludum Dare Jam 31

It's a beautiful summer day. The warm breeze is coming in through the screen door as flies buzz outside.
Unfortunately, your cat is being mischievous. She keeps trying to claw at the screen!
If she rips the screen, the flies will get in and eat your lovely bowl of fresh fruit!
Instructions
Click on the cat's paws to swat her away from the screen
If she rips the screen, repeatedly click on the tear to fix it
If any flies get in the tears, click on the flies to swat them away from your bowl of fruit
If the flies eat all the fruit, the game is over

Music
Thoughtful Piano Theme
Trinnox
www.opengameart.org/users/trinnox
http://opengameart.org/content/thoughtful-piano-theme

Sounds from freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Theme(Jam)4.14
#258Humor(Jam)3.10
#589Innovation(Jam)2.91
#780Fun(Jam)2.68
#888Overall(Jam)2.71
#906Mood(Jam)2.32
#920Graphics(Jam)2.18
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

7000! Very funny, that cat has really long arms

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

really annoying. five stars

XenosNS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

lol! Thanks Elliot!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30am

Cool idea but its really easy to camp the bottom of the screen. You may want to consider adding something near the top to make the player not always just sit at the bottom.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

cute game, well done

shadow64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34am

12400. I was just thinking that it wasn't increasing in challenge when all of a sudden there were cat paws everywhere!!! Pretty fun and innovative. Oh and uh...it certainly takes place on one SCREEN. I see what you did there. Oh yes. I see what you did.

Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing! :D

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Hilarious confusion, very innovative, but a little impossible to manage eventually. Like it!

AmyDee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

That darn cat! Cute and enjoyable experience, a little tougher on touchpad vs. mouse as swatting the cat seemed to require dragging and not just clicking :D

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04am

Hi there. Like the cat miaow/mew. Game is basically impossible once there's a hole in the screen door... too much to do. Needs some balance work. Good job!

XenosNS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Thanks everyone for the comments and for playing!
I agree it could use more work, especially balancing. Only had 4-5 hours of free time that weekend to work on it but wanted to participate regardless.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:58am

20,800! Man, those cat paws are long! I like how as the game progresses you have to balance between letting some flies through to keep focusing on the cat paws or it just cascades in difficulty.

One suggestion: try to make the flies go through the screen once they reach the center of the tear.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:04pm

colors are should be little bit mixed..
btw,cute game..

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:40am

I almost went with a screen door theme, but couldn't think of a good place to bring it. But you did! Excellent job, I found this game actually really funny, mostly the choice of sound.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]