Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sad Little War-Bot

by sorlok - Compo Entry

Sad little war-bot returns home to find the other machines have moved on. What's a little war-bot to do when you only have guns for arms?

Chaotic explosive action with a bit of humor, hard mode, and the ability for users to make their own levels!

Controls are WASD + Left-click; a mouse makes this game *much* more fun.

Note to Windows users: To close the game, close the "console" window that opens behind it. The main X won't do anything.

Note to OSX users: You won't be able to load custom levels due to the way that App Bundles work. Sorry!

Updates:
alpha_4 - This is the original compo release.
alpha_5 - This fixes mice on OS-X.

Edit:
Some people are having trouble with the default downloads. If so, you can try the BitBucket repository. Please try the default downloads first, though:
https://bitbucket.org/sethhetu/sad_little_warbot/downloads

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#100Humor3.47
#330Fun3.33
#411Mood3.09
#485Overall3.26
#487Audio2.84
#854Graphics2.63
#864Innovation2.68
#877Theme3.33

Comments

Wolfgang_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Very fun.

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:55am

☃ for life
I loved pretty much everything about this one. The dialogue was both sad and amusing, the gameplay was hectic and interesting. The graphics were quirky, but not too terrible. Well done!

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:58am

Great little game. Had an issue with bombs exploding on themselves right in front of me, probably because I was wildly clicking :-) But it's fun.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:59am

The narrative in between rounds I enjoyed very much. The explosion sounds cause the music to go quiet which annoyed me because it's good music. " "You're an ancient warbot with abstruse motivations. You have no place in our enlightened society." lol

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00am

Thanks so much for your feedback, everyone! It really means a lot to me that you enjoyed this game.

Regarding the music, I apologize: I added the music loading code in the last 5 minutes of the compo.

Regarding ☃, I am super happy I was able to get that guy in the game. :D

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00am

Oh, and regarding the grenades exploding on you, yes, your own explosions can cause a grenade to explode. :P

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16am

The Explosion sounds were a bit overwhelming at times, other than that, an all-round good game! :D loves the dialogues!

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Overall a great game for such a short time. The dialogues were very funny too me, and I liked all the little details, like the victory dance. Snowmans hitbox was very off, and often the shots exploded in my face when I fired too rapidly.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38am

I enjoyed it a lot. Probably the first one I have played that actually made me laugh. Good job! Make more!

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

This was quite well polished, and quite humourous. There seemed to be a lot of content, and the story addition was quite welcome. However, it got very repetitive quite quickly, and very loud as more and more enemies poured onto the screen. Spamming left click seemed to both be the only way to do this and simultaneously destructive, since your grenades weren't going very far before exploding.

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This was quite well polished, and quite humourous. There seemed to be a lot of content, and the story addition was quite welcome. However, it got very repetitive quite quickly, and very loud as more and more enemies poured onto the screen. Spamming left click seemed to both be the only way to do this and simultaneously destructive, since your grenades weren't going very far before exploding.

I've made a bundle for Linux (x64 and x86, tested the x64 version on Fedora 20 and that's working.) and a web version of my game, so feel free to try again.

eusekerci says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23am

very nice graphics and humors. Need more innovation :) well done

bitapps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:12am

Nice job, keep working

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Uh oh. I'm getting an internal server error when attempting to download the Windows build.

sorlok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:18am

@all: Thanks for your additional comments! You've all made good (and very true!) points on what I could do to improve the game, and I'm grateful for your feedback.

@Zi: Can you try again? I tested the link from a few machines here and it seems to work... Google Drive is usually pretty stable. You're not behind a company firewall or anything like that?

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:18am

Good work! This was one of the few games that I saw some legitimate variation in the challenges presented (basically, good on you for having so many enemy types and using them well.)

Overall pretty fun, my main criticism would be that the art could use some work, but hey that doesn't stop it from being fun.

Also, I liked your addition of the snowman theme ;)

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:41am

Fun shooter. Nice sense of humor. I got frustrated that my bullets exploded when they hit explosions.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

The download link at the top of the page is 404. The app file otherwise is just a directory of files and a zip would be helpful.

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:21am

nice use of cut screens to advance the story.

nokusu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00pm

This is some serious fun :) the gameplay is pretty solid, there is also quite a nice enemy variety :

ducks :D / wtf nuclear catuses :o / holy s... ! Terminators O_o (actual reaction troughout the game)

the humour is pretty awesome, but i wouldn't spoil any of the dialogue, cool 48hours entry and +1 for the snowman's round :D

matthewdpace says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I enjoyed it, simple, yet fun. I also experienced the bug of bombs blowing up right in front of me. Level four was harder than level (I think those were the numbers, the one with all cactus, then the first time you see the humans).

Allowing custom levels is cool, bonus point in 'Overall' just for that.

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:02am

Quite fun and humorous. As well as a little sad. The audio fit well, and the graphics were perfect for the concept.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:04am

@all: More great feedback, and thanks for that! My original goal with "grenades exploding on contact wit your own explosions" was to subtly discourage you from shooting wildly. (I had this idea early in the design that you could complete the game without actually killing anything and that would change the ending, but I didn't have time to implement it.) Clearly, the mechanic just ended up frustrating players, so apologies for that!


@masterhyjinx: The directory view is just how Google Docs lists zips (not sure why; I also find it a bit counter-intuitive). I'll check into the 404's --not sure why people keep getting them.

Hob623 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32am

Interesting little game, challenging enough. Actually quite poignant writing with a weird sense of disconnection from human reality that seems to nicely gel with the robot perspective. Nice!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22am

Fun game! Neat concept ! Well done

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:07am

I don't like that the explosions get to you and prevent you from firing more bullets when you fire fast.
In the final boss battle there is no way to tell whether you are making progress in killing him.

Otherwise a solid game

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:08am

I don't like that the explosions get to you and prevent you from firing more bullets when you fire fast.
In the final boss battle there is no way to tell whether you are making progress in killing him.

The explosion sound is way too loud and it's white noise.

Otherwise a solid game

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Cute game. Pretty good twinstick shooter gameplay, the explosions in particularly made it feel quite satisfying. Dialogue was quite amusing as well. Good stuff!

Erhune says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:43am

This game was much more fun that what I expected from the screenshots! I loved the writing, the general pace of the game was good, the fighting mechanics were actually very interesting due to your bombs blasting one another... I enjoyed it very much until the end!

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44am

Definitely had some great humor in it, and this is one of the few entries I actually loved playing. In fact, I didn't want to stop playing. Nice art style, subtle story, sound, all of it. I enjoyed this one. :)

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:01am

LOVE the mini cutscenes that advance the story. The aesthetic and audio are no less than bizarre. Charming, but totally bizarre. The gameplay, however, is fantastic! I love the variety of enemies and the utter chaos the game evolves into. Great game!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:06am

Fun writing (even if it was a little uneven at times), and nicely paced -- often hectic, but always with some breathing room.

The "silly" enemies (like the nuclear cactus) and the gameplay remind me a bit of Llamatron.

Excellent work!

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:58am

@all: Thanks again for the feedback! I've said it before, but I'll say it again: knowing that my game let you smile or have fun is really wonderful to me.

@DomNomNom: I like the idea of providing feedback on the snowman; maybe it can melt or lose coal "buttons" as it takes hits.

bobombe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:51am

Very fun game, I liked the dialogues ^^

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:31am

I enjoyed this game - very fun and addictive, and humorous =)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Great game! Lots to like here.
- Very funny
- Smooth controls
- Well thought out shooting mechanic (spamming shoot just causes your bullets to hit one another. This naturally slows down the firing pace and feels like something fun to work around, rather than a bothersome restriction)
- Good diversity of enemies
- Fun Boss fight
- And, again, hilarious.

Very fun entry all around. I understand my desire to give you a high rating.

Zi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Wow. Um... Wow. This was incredible, LOL!!! One of my favs for sure.

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:44am

Whew, I think I caught up and reviewed all of your games thus far. If you left a comment but I haven't reviewed your game yet, please reply again and I'll get to it!

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nicely done, special mention to level 8. It was an epic boss fight.
Really hard because your rockets explodes on your own rocket explosions, so you can't just spam left click.

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:06am

I got through the first three levels without even having to move, just spamming grenades and soaking up damage. The second cactus level was so hard it's basically a killscreen. Seems like it needs a considerable amount of balancing to be worth playing.

sorlok says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:25pm

@crazyrems: Glad you enjoyed it!

@csanyk: Some balancing certainly is needed; thanks for playing! A good strategy for level 4 is to focus on keeping a corner clear. I made a video showing this strategy: http://youtu.be/5mU5bTAxW0g?t=2m35s

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Nice game!

I really liked all the animations!

One thing I didn't really like was, that the explosions of your own shots did detonate your other shots. In the worst case, when firing rapidly, you would damage yourself and not a single enemy, because of this.

All in all really great game!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:16am

Fun and lighthearted, if a little chaotic at times. The music fits well with general craziness. The story is a really nice touch and what makes it unique! Good work!

banana4life says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Fun little game, but I think it was too easy

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:07am

i loved this game - interesting story - good gameplay - great sound - nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: using cached page]