Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Boagie Dodge

by Boracho - Jam Entry

EDIT: updated the download to a single runtime executable. I derped and exported the wrong format. All Apologies!

Beamed straight to your (1 screen!) Television! Live from N'Gengulon IV!
Survive the galaxies favorite gameshow "Non-Energy Based Entities Dodge the Exploding Boagies!" Make it to the portal to go back to your home planet. If you get hit by a boagie, you explode into non-existence. If you haven't reached the goal by the 1 minute mark, the boagies speed up in their excitement!

BUGS:
After ducking, you will get stuck to the ground. Give a jump to unstick yourself.


W - Jump
S - Duck
A - Left
S - Right
Backspace - Exit to Title
R - Restart
ESC - Exit (only works on victory screen and title screen)
Wall Jump - When close to a wall (and already in the air), press A or S (as appropriate) to wall jump.
Watch out for the autojump on ledges (It's a feature...I swear!)

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#583Audio(Jam)2.44
#623Humor(Jam)2.35
#861Fun(Jam)2.53
#873Theme(Jam)3.02
#895Mood(Jam)2.35
#899Graphics(Jam)2.29
#913Innovation(Jam)2.25
#929Overall(Jam)2.62

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

It seems like a good game, but it really is ruined because the wall jumping doesn't work right. For me, I have to face towards then away from the wall to wall jump, and it is really quite difficult.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

I almost rated you low for theme until I got the joke! I actually like the wall jumping, although the movement's a bit sluggish for the precision required. And one-hit-kill is rough!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

Funny game. It took me a little bit of time to get a hang on this walljump technique, and then there was this impossible leap of fate!

Screw these d*** N'Gengulonians!

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

I was having fun with it, but having the walljump only happen if you're facing away from a wall makes it feel cumbersome for some reason.

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

The walljump is a bit wonky, then agian I've never cared for them, but solid work. Congrats!

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49am

Simple, but not in a good way. Controls don't feel great.

LexGear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

Lonely mac user :(

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15am

The controls were pretty solid and the beat, though repetitive, was really nice. I wish I could actually make the big jump and see more of it.

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

The game was nice, I think it was a bit too hard to pull of the walljumps sometimes but other than that nice!

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06am

Gameidea is good, but I had hard time to walljump :(

djk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:12am

It's a neat idea, but I feel like this could have been a lot of fun if the controls were tighter. I agree with some of the other comments - the wall jump is frustrating. And for a game where I was asked to use it constantly, it quickly made my whole experience pretty frustrating.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17am

@djk yeah that seems to be the common thread here. I toyed with changing it during production, but decided against it in the end. I should have submitted earlier, I would've had the chance to change it. Live and learn I guess. Either way, I appreciate your taking the time to check it out!.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26am

How simple this game may look, I had a few good tries with it, I enjoyed it. :)

That 'LIVE' in the top left corner, totally sets the mood :D

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33am

wall jumping feels strange... but nice little game :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:10am

I guess the maps are randomly generated? I got spawned in a block where I just couldn't move D:

Dontre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11am

Dont know how, but i was sticked in wall and i just could move up. Anyway, good job!

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:30pm

@PlasterPhantom can you get a screenshot of that? I've never seen that except in the test world.

slarrimer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nice game! Took a while to get the hang of the controls. Seems like making the movement faster would help things.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I really like the story you came up with the back up the game. And your character design is adorable. I would echo the sentiment that the walljump control is really counter-intuitive. I think a more suitable choice would have been to use the jump key to execute the wall jump, rather than having to press the opposite direction. Otherwise executing multiple wall jumps to scale a vertical wall becomes extremely frustrating: there is little forgiveness if you press the opposite direction a little too long. In any case, a nice little platformer.

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Cool game! It was pretty challenging timing the wall jumps while having to dodge stuff being shot at you. Well done!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I liked the mechanics and graphics, but is it intentional that you can't complete a jump about two minutes into the game?

lxd1 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:18am

fun

Mekuri says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

It took me a while to get the wall jumping controls, but once you actually get that you just have to move in the direction you want to jump it actually feels quite good, so I ended up liking the mechanic :-) A decent game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]