Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SoundWaves

by Thermite - Jam Entry

A space shooter, very much inspired by Robotron and the many games that have followed in its footsteps.

We wanted to find a way to incorporate the music that was donated for the Jam into the game mechanics. Each of the speakers in the corner of the screen plays a different section of the song, and the enemy spawners are triggered when the corresponding section gets loud enough. The more intense the song gets, the more enemies you have to deal with! As the speakers get closer to death, they become more sensitive to the sounds, and trigger enemies more freely.


How to play: Use WASD to move, aim with mouse, fire with left mouse.

Code: Paul Newsham and Bob Haigh.
Art: Bob Haigh.
Music: Generously donated to LD Jammers by Robert Del Naja.
Sound effects: Bob Haigh.

Made using Unity, SFXR, Audacity, and Photoshop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#137Audio(Jam)3.60
#201Fun(Jam)3.46
#251Overall(Jam)3.51
#377Mood(Jam)3.21
#487Graphics(Jam)3.31
#544Theme(Jam)3.51
#563Innovation(Jam)2.94

Comments

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Fantastic grafics! Greate mechanics. Almost 40.000 score without death!

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

WHOA! This is one of the smoothest top-down shooters I've played in a long time. Makes great use of the Ludum Dare music, controls are tight, and the game is balanced but challenging! Speakers have slightly too much health but otherwise this is beyond sweet.

myberrycold says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16pm

This was fiendish! Very smooth!

jkantzer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Fun game! I occasionally had trouble keeping track of my ship in the chaos, but that's okay. Smooth gameplay, great sound.

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Great!! It took me 2 deaths before i discovered i can kill the speakers, after that i stayed with my mouse on them ...
Congrats for your work !

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:11pm

The audio and graphics where pretty good, controls where responsive and it felt good to shoot. The only problem I found is sometimes there'd be no enemies for 5-10 seconds, which really hurt the action.

Hammers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Nice. I liked the idea. I have to say I couldn't quite tell what difference the music/speakers were making but your controls were really nice. The green guys were super annoying but perfectly so :)

guldlock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Great game! I liked it! :)

JJEvil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Sweet game for such a short bit of time to make it.

GSG says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice difficulty curve. Great sound and an original idea.

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

good feeling from controlling the ship but it's pretty challenging to stay alive - which is good :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Fun game! I liked that it got more punishing the longer you left the speakers alive. Those green enemies were super annoying!

It would have been so cool if different music tracks went away or even just the volume had gone down when you killed the speakers.

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16am

Nice one! Superb graphics, I liked the particles and the electric arcs a lot. Good increasing difficulty.

madmaw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39am

Solid shooter with (of course) lovely music. Challenge level quickly ramps up to beyond my level of skill, but that's not a bad thing

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Score: 192320
Deaths: 9 :(

Extremely fluid movement! Very well done!

Nice music and tight gameplay

Good job!

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I liked the audi oand the controls were really smooth good job.

Odefus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Game looks and sounds nice. Could use some kind of feedback upon the bullets hitting the speakers. At first I wasn't sure if I was damaging them or not.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The controls are really smooth and satisfying. I'm glad dying doesn't make you start back at the beginning, but just increases your death count instead -- it's less frustrating for new players, while better players can challenge themselves to not die at all. Great job!

marsermd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:03pm

nice. Very fun, but the ship is too small, so it's hard to trace it's position AND shooting target

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Excellent graphics, great gameplay! Feels very smooth and polished, just a shame I am terrible at shoot'em ups!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

A fluid gameplay here, and that is very nice. I mean, so many LD entries out there that looks unable to handle input and graphic feedback in a smooth way that this is worth mentioning.

Aside from that, cool music, ok sounds. A bit repetitive sometimes.

Overall, good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Fun little twinstick shooter, very solid controls. I like the idea of tying it into the music, although it doesn't feel incredibly obvious that thats whats happening when you play it. Good job though anyway!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Wtihe spheres not gonna take me without a struggle! Damned gray circles with green crosses inside are produce so much of them.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]