Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Heer Dunter

by Satyre - Jam Entry

Hi, this is my Ludum Dare 31 Jam entry

The game was made in 8 hours. I hadn't time to polish things up and add new content, sorry for that! But I think you may have fun for a couple of seconds :)

Description:
You play as a deer which rides a TV. Survive as long as you can.
Deer is a synonyme for Game and Screen is a synonyme for TV, so the theme will be used more than 1 time in the game ;)

Controls:
Left/Right arrow keys to move
Up to jump
Enter to start the game
R to restart the game.

Credits:
Music by http://balderdact.newgrounds.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Humor(Jam)4.11
#168Audio(Jam)3.50
#310Theme(Jam)3.75
#319Fun(Jam)3.29
#342Mood(Jam)3.27
#393Overall(Jam)3.33
#448Graphics(Jam)3.38
#708Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

I love how you interpreted the theme! Controls were easy. I just wish there would be more obstacles/enemies :)
All in all great game!

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

graphic and sound are great but difficulty is so frustrating at the beginning.

Rnd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

Deer riding a TV lol =)) this made my day

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:31am

Impressive work for 8 hours! Nice oddball art style and I love the entrance the deer makes on the tv. A bit more randomness and different enemy types and this could be really fun.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

Haha funniest game I've seen yet. I'd love to have followed your brain as it went from "So, the theme is Entire Game On One Screen" to "You play a deer riding a TV who dodges hunters shooting at him (but he can blow them up when he lands on them)."

Caspila says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

It made us giggle a couple of times! Interest take on the theme.

Moocowsgomoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Super polished for 8 hours, nice job on that! And good music as well :)
The obstacles seem a bit sporadic in that spikes can appear right under the hunters, which might get frustrating.
Overall really fun game though, great work!

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Impossible to play, always die when I see the first hunter. Maybe its just me, if you go too far to the right you die automatically. Frustrating.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

This was really hard for such a simple game, very well done for 8 hours. Very clever use of the theme.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:34am

This is a excellent game, I love what you did with the parallax and the gameplay mechanics.

dallonf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Somehow, this simple game became my favorite out of the whole jam so far. You hooked me with the title - then the "I see what you did there moment" with the "Entire game [deer] on a screen" thing.

The music is catchy, the action is over-the-top, and it's all very polished. If I were to change one thing, I would make the spikes move at the same speed as the hunters - it would make more sense visually, and be a bit easier. I was killed so many times by trying to land on a hunter and then a random spike comes up right where I'm landing.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

It's a fun and challenging game, although the music was rather distracting. Overall, it's an impressive game, especially since it was made in eight hours.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:42am

Really like your way of interpreting the theme :)

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Very clever. I love how you interpret the themes of these jams. It was definitely fun for a bit and made me laugh. I think this will have a huge following just because of how silly it is :)

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:22pm

haha nice interpretation and a fun little gamejam game!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Cool but kind of hard. Great use of the theme though!!

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29pm

It's fun to play. Nice interpretation. ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Funny entry, while the game looks fine and controls well, it's difficult to get anywhere from first hunter, because those spikes/rocks keep spawning too close to them, making you die right away when you try to hit hunters.

riktothepast says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Fun game, liked the backgrounds but they contrast a little with the foreground assets; nice effect of the hunters crashing on the screen.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very funny. Love the take on the theme. xD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:39am

Pretty fun, nice job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:32am

Lots of fun; left me wanting more content. :D Great take on the theme!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39am

How could I not try a game called Heer Dunter! Awesomely silly, I like your overly literal take on the theme and the oddly unfitting techno music. Quite difficult and slightly frustrating to actually play, but still, funny stuff.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:44am

pretty hilarious. great gfx. decent muzak.

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:47am

Fun interpretation, great sound, and the game had a lot of potential! I'd play this a lot more if there were more obstacles/enemies.

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

funny game

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:01am

Haha entire game on one screen. Man, you made me laugh so hard ! Nice little game, nice presentation, music is errrhhh, not my taste :P

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very silly game, I like it! The mechanics are simple but the concept is pretty funny, with a deer riding a TV! Nice music too, well done!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Simple clean controls. Funny characters. Fun game.

Havi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Funny game! Like the music! Creative use of the theme :D

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:18am

Clever take on the theme. I had fun for more than a couple seconds.

nkling says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:41am

Nice idea for interpreting the theme. I really enjoyed the title screen being a zoom in of the tv that the deer is riding. I also really like the hunter smacking into the screen, nice touch.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:42am

Very cool, I love the visual pun of game and screen XD Hard but fun!

Mechamew says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Fun times! Crushing it!

StackAttack says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Fun game for a short play - graphics and music are great. Love the way you used the theme.

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Psychodelic! My mom aware me do not playin' in games like that xD

Satyre says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Thanks everyone for your review and your ratings :)

Have a happy new year!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]