Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

No Space for Error

by Kwask - Compo Entry

"No Space for Error" is a small and simple game. You are your average space-man aboard a space-ship which is being chased by space-baddies. You must keep your engine room in check while your engine charges up, all while avoiding fires, air loss, and all of the other fairly typical dangers of space.

In order to win, you must:
- Keep your power as high as possible, without it, the drive won't keep charging.
- Keep the drive shaft from becoming unbalanced. If it does, the progress gauge won't increase.
- Completely fill the charging progress gauge.
- Not lose.

In order to lose, you must:
- Let your air or temperature gauge drop to zero.
- Not win.

The different machines around the room require specific tools to fix their problems.
- Drive Shaft needs the Green Wrench
- Pipes need the Blue Welder
- Cables need the Yellow Tape
- Fires need the Red Extinguisher

You may have trouble with the extremely complex controls:
- Left mouse button to pick up and use a tool
- Right mouse button to drop a tool

Good luck, space-guy, hope you don't die!

sound effects not included.

UPDATE 1:
- Fixed progress bar not being filled at the end
- Fixed the habit of the tools bunching up in the top left corner
- Added a readme file for all those lazy bums that don't read this
- In space no one can hear anything, still ;D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#162Graphics3.79
#201Mood3.38
#227Theme3.89
#233Innovation3.61
#253Fun3.44
#289Overall3.47
#304Humor2.90

Comments

nmschro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

This is simple, but yet really enjoyable! The artwork is great and so are the controls. Great job!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

The graphics are nice, but I don't really get it! Also i did something and lost my tape!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

This game has a lot going for it, the the mechanics are simple the premises is enjoyable and its fun when things start going crazy. I didn't hear any sound which was disappointing. Good Work!

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:12am

Haha, awesome. I do like the art.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

I love it!
One recommendation is a little more manual control on when the repairs need to happen. sometimes it feels frantic, other times it's playing the waiting game.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

Woah. I'm....I'm clapping. THis is nice.

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:13am

I don't really get what i'm doing when i play but it's a game that could be terribly good!

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:14am

You hit the nail on the head when picking the right project for a ludum dare. Simple and interesting idea!
I got so close to max out the progress bar, then BAM, fire everywhere, pipes destroyed, cables broken then.. Dead!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Cool idea. Really suffers from not having sound.

Add sound! :D

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:34am

I really enjoyed this!

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41am

I really thing NASA/Starfleet needs to invest in some toolbelts! :) This is one of the most enjoyable games I've played in a while. I escaped on my first try, but it was an exciting experience the entire time. (Incidentally I disagree with BKGH - I think the timing/suprises works really well.) Love the art style and simplicity of it all.

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

The gliding tools when you drop them make this. I love managment games.

eforen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

Crashed every time I try to load it even with compatibility settings...

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

Great graphics. The core gameplay is interesting. The physics gets a bit crazy.

fueelin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47am

I liked it, though it did get frustrating eventually...

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Wow, that was awesome!
Really nice game, the only thing that could make it better would have been sound.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very fun with just the right amount of challenge. I found it's easier if you always hold onto either the fire extinguisher or the torch because they are the types of damage that can kill the player and you don't want to be chasing them around the screen and die. I feel like this is a really good take on the theme. You don't know what is damaging your ship, you don't know where you are warping to. All you know is you've got one job: Keep the engine running.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

Really simple but effective game, please add some music and sfx!!!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18pm

nice concept. I had must read the instructions one second time to undestand, but enjoy the game. Congrats, dude!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I really enjoyed how the objects floats due to the absence of gravity.
I miss sounds :(

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I DIEDDDDD RIGHT WITH THE BAR FULLING ARGHGHHEHAHHGHHAHHEHRHGHH (y)(y) <- two thumbs up

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Simple but fun. Missing sound.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:43am

This was neat; reminiscent of some of the minigames in the old sierra space quest series. It took me a couple of plays to figure out what to do, but mostly because I was impatient and kept breaking my driveshaft wit the welder. It could have used some more to help pass the time between events, like a % progress bar instead of the four blocks, or messages from the outside describing what's making the ship shake. Either way, not bad, all around.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Cool, loved the art and the feel of it. The tools flying around was a nice touch. Dying for some sound though!

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:15am

I couldn't tell if this was supposed to have sound, but it is interesting.

Erhune says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:30am

Ahhhhh, the feeling of a job well done...!

Kwask says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Thanks to everyone that has rated and / or commented so far, I really appreciate the feedback! There wasn't sound in this version, but I plan on making a polished up post-compo edition which will include sound and other small tweaks and addons! You'll be able to find them on my website once they're done!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:21am

Well, first of all I had to manually change the path of the shortcut, so it didn't start in some "Google Drive" directory that didn't exist. After that, though, it was really fun! I absolutely love the way the tools drift around, as if the environment is moving in various ways. (Even though I'm not sure why they sometimes go hurtling around the room when I let them go.) I did manage to escape, although it seemed as though my temperature gauge got to 0 at some point, or pretty close. (I also wonder what exactly affects that; is it the same thing as losing air? Or is it lack of power making the temperature go strange? Remember, space isn't really "cold" because there is nothing to carry heat away; real spacecraft have problems getting rid of waste heat.) Anyway, while it was frantic at times, I never felt *too* much like things were out of control. I'm not sure if that's good or bad, it's just how it is. I'd like to see this polished up a bit and expanded!

Sestren says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

With some sound effects, this would have been amazing. As it stands, it's still pretty fun and fairly tense.

Linkigi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Our games are oddly similar =D I had fun but I didn't feel particularly challenged. Your graphics are very nice. They give the game a great mood similar to 'Gods Will Be Watching'. I look forward to playing the post-compo version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]