Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Tycoon

by GreenyUk - Compo Entry

It's December 1st and it's time to start preparing for Christmas 2014.

You have $50,000 and 24 days to create as many presents as possible.

Hire from a selection of elves with different traits, buy blueprints for different presents and manage your workforce to get the best from them with the time you have.

Make sure you delegate jobs to the right people and don't run out of money!

When you reach Christmas Eve (or run out of money) you will be scored on the number of presents you have made. Leave your scores below!

**Instructions**
-> Hire people through the laptop. You can only hire 4, and they're with you 'till the end so choose wisely.
-> Buy present blueprint from the laptop. Again, you can only have 4 and they have different properties.
-> Each present has a happiness score associated with it. The more expensive the item, in regards to time and money, the more score it will give.
-> Elves have different energy levels and will get tired, requiring a rest.

**Bugs I'm aware of**
-> The green bar is energy. When that reaches 0 the character should stop working to recover. This works on Windows, but not HTML5.
-> The energy bars go down way too slow

Anyway, hope you enjoy Christmas Tycoon and had as much fun this LD as I did. :) 35 hours roughly this weekend!! See you all next time around. :)

PS. I tried to embed onto this page, but the cap of 900*600 is too small!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#108Graphics3.95
#199Humor3.14
#341Mood3.18
#436Overall3.30
#528Theme3.62
#618Audio2.59
#670Innovation2.97
#717Fun2.92

Comments

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:56am

It looks great! Very promising.

But unfortunately it's a long time 'til christmas and not much to do.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01am

Yeah, unfortunately my over-scope meant I missed some crucial mechanics. I might just make the clock faster for now! :p

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

I can see most resources were put into the art assets. Well done!

Deity says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Cool game. Being able to upgrade workers would be nice as well

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

I loved the descriptions of the elves. Its a good game and would be interesting if it was fleshed out. But 48hrs is a hard deadline.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Interesting game. Fun to tinker with. The sound needs a lot of work, but the graphics are great! I like that the fireplace and window effect productivity and energy.

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Fun game! The idea's good and the different elves/presents adds some replay value. Like you said, you don't have that many mechanics (same thing happened to me), but what you already have is simple and fun.
Note: At the start, in the logo, it says "Chrsitmas" instead of "Christmas"!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

Haha saw this on one of your posts! I love it!

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05am

cool graphics

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Thanks all. Yes lots of effort went into aesthetics and things like the descriptions. I'd love to have another 24 hours to flesh it out, but that's the nature of the best. :D Thanks for playing.

Kwask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06am

I like it a lot! Other than the bugs that you mentioned alrady, I didn't have any problems with it!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice graphics! I had fun! It would be nice if there was some way to make money back, I hired the best workers and only made game boys and still had plenty of money left, I think the economy could use some balancing.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Very cool idea! I would play on mobile a more extended version.

sanojian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09am

I love the isometric graphics. This could be great with a few more things to do

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

An impressive amount of game implemented in a LD. Great looking pixel art, and it all seems to work well. I wasn't quite sure how to figure out what I should be building though. I guess the strategy would be to get as close to running out of money as possible before Christmas?

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56am

The art is awesome! I really missed some stats of the produced items in the middle of the game. Probably adding some more activities will make it even better because after you've hired elves and gave them blueprints there's not much to do.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:33am

Thanks again all. Main criticism seems to be lack of varying activities, like derpy elf setting himself on fire. I did plan to add this stuff, but time beat me. Pretty pleased that people are liking what's there though. Thanks. :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Very impressive 48hr effort!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Enjoyed playing this one. The art is very cool.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Your idea is very good, and the illustration is fantastic. Congratulations

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very clever game! I really like the simple art style and details such as window or fireplace. Sounds are also great.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

it froze and after the title screen just started flickering for me :/

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Not sure what could cause it to freeze, I never ran into that during dev and no-one else has reported. Sorry about that. All i suggest is refresh or try windows source!!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Pretty good. Noticed that a few things wound up being off screen due to the large window and I could not figure out how to full screen it. Oh well. Anyway, I really liked the art and the direction the game was going in, though it may need some more mechanics to make it more involved.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41am

Made 6700 points, it needs a leaderboard! Cool game! Add some music!

joe40001 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12am

Neat game, the mechanics need a bit more to them, I couldn't tell if there was anything I could do to effect the elves once hired. Like if the fireplace is just novelty or helps the morale or something. Very good art and style though.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I find the concept unique and the game is pretty addicting ! Also great graphic ... Well done ! :')

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

What is the green bar above elf-heads for?
Seems bugfree and I'm into this kind of pixel-art :)

Some suggestions:
Intro should be skippable
You should be able to replace elfs
Pausing the game while reading item/elfdescriptions would be nice

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Just to answer some comments:

-> The fireplace and window were supposed to effect efficiency, but i didn't have to implement :/
-> You can skip the intro by pressing space

Thanks for playing and rating :)

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Man I love games like this! Some heavy Kairosoft vibes here.

Great job!

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

It looked promising on the screenshots, but I was a little bit disappointed by the lack of clear goal :/ It would be a very good thing to add goals in front of each toy.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Really fun game, never really made much profit though :( was really good use of theme and the graphics were great!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Awesome ! Reminds me of Game Dev Story :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:34pm

It would be really fun if there were more to do after hiring the staff and choose the products.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:27am

Love your pixel art <3 Quite a funny game, hope it gives more information before starting the real game so you don't lose days figuring out what to do.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25am

Hi there. Interesting idea. Didn't realise blueprints until 7 days to go lol... much clicking elsewhere. Like the humour in the Elf descriptions. Good job!

SneManden says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great concept! The pixel-graphics are nice and the mood in the little cabin is cozy.

However, when you have hired the elves there is not much to do? I think it would be nice if you (e.g. playing santa) had to somehow control the elves and keep them occupied and stop slacking off, etc. :)

It has potential.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:15pm

nice, creative tycoon game with very cool artwork, weell done :)

Backterria says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:29am

Very good!I adore the cursor of game!!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Fun resource sim. Love the pixel art. Wasn't always clear what I should be clicking on.

Bernhard says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I wasn't sure if I was doing good or bad and in the end it looked that I can't really lose but who cares, it looks amazing for sure. Quite ambitious project for the compo entry. Thumbs up!

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:51pm

A lot of neat touches with a lot of content. I think it would make a good incremental-type game with a bit of balancing. Not having everything unlocked at the beginning would be a good way to keep it interesting throughout.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]