Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Super Meat Ball

by sheigeno - Jam Entry

A game made for Ludum Dare#31

Short arcade game inspired by Pong game.
There are currenty 3 playable arena in the game.
This game can be played Solo or w/ Pair.

CONTROLS

Player 1
[W] - Up
[A] - Left
[S] - Down
[D] - Right

Player 2
[Arrow Keys]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#85Graphics(Jam)4.26
#103Fun(Jam)3.71
#175Humor(Jam)3.32
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#184Mood(Jam)3.52
#464Theme(Jam)3.59
#650Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

DaniDK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10am

Awesome :), love the theme :D

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12am

The game looks to be great! but can't play it. How do Begin? I get to the map choosing but can't start :/

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21am

Fonserbc

press down until it highlights "Begin" and press Enter

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

Wow really nice indeed. The graphics and the sound are great!

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice art. I had a little trouble with the controls, though.

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Weird, the link goes to an empty page. Can't download

Odefus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Controls were a tad confusing at first. Liked the graphics and audio. Very nice.

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice graphics and feelings, but the always-staring-at-the-ball character disturbs me, It is hard to correctly hit the ball when and where I want.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:14am

Really nice graphics and sounds, but controls were lacking a bit, making it hard to hit the ball where you wanted or move your character where you want him to be, but still playable. Great to see a local coop game on here, something you don't see much around. Great job!

keyle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

Had fun with this. After the first ball, the controls seem to go crazy if you were still holding WASD down I found.

davidB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42am

Funny variation of Pong.
The way avatar look at the ball, forbid pushing the ball like in other clone and then the avatar dodge the ball vs hit it.

Small suggestion (for next time ?) :
* In menu you should support player 1 control (avoid switching from arrow to WSAD)
* In menu it took me time to understand how to navigate and "begin"
* You could bind ZQSD to Azerty user

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56am

Great art style and audio. Wish the AI was a bit faster in single player

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

..thanks davidB for the suggestions :)

duon44 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very fun! I discovered a bug though, if you keep bouncing the meatball back to yourself really quickly the music stops for some reason

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Moar difficult than it looks. Cute graphic, nice bulls (did I really say that?) and simple gameplay. Great game for two. Only that beep sound... so annoying! Anyway, good game overall :)

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

Funny game! I love the art style and the music, and the gameplay is entertaining (screenshakes, yeah! :)). One minor complaint: could the first player be able to use different keys than WASD (hard to play on a non-QWERTY keyboard :p)

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

Graphics and audio were amazing. The controls need more fine tuning.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

This game is really well done! The graphics are very nice and the sounds are nice too. Challenging.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

Amazing tone and graphics, and generally a really charming version of Pong! Love it.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

I like the art style and the music really drives you on.

However the ball got stuck in a perfect vertical motion in the half of the opponent, so i couldn't reach it and the NPC only moves up and down so he wouldn't reach it either. I think I would like it better if the NPC would move forward and back, too. This would make things more interesting and easier to score, too (I didn't make a single point :/)
The select screen is a bit confusing at the beginning.
Still a good entry, well done.

lukz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45am

BEST PONG EVER!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46am

The art is very nice. But i have trouble with the controls... Hey dude congrats!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

This looks really nice, but unfortunately I can't play it. I have a non-qwerty keyboard, and windows wouldn't let me change layouts in this game. Might be a good idea to add arrow-key support for the single-player campaign.

renatopp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

I didn't really get the controls, the bull rotate itself when the ball come closer, but it looks great anyway. I would remove the 3 seconds cooldown after each goal.

It is impressive for 3 days. Good job.

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Looks interesting :D

Too bad it's Windows only, how about a web version?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Sweet artwork. I did have trouble with the ball getting stuck in walls but other than that it was great.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Neat game, nice graphics. Liked all the game play options. Well done!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very nice Graphics, but very hard to control shoots direction (make the hitbox bigger ? / fixe the player direction ?), movements speed too slow and the goal cage are sometime a bit too huge. And diagonal movement close to a wall block the player :/. tl;dr : Nice concept but need some tweaks to be really fun.

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Epic! Just didnt quite get how to hit the ball properly :(

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Cool game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:30am

wow - fun game- took while to get into it - then i was hooked - great job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]