Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mobius Dungeon

by nesis - Compo Entry

The link to the theme is that the game is made up of blocks that are moved back and forth to be in front of or behind a black plane, keeping everything on one screen. The player never leaves the screen, and is instead moved across it to "fake" going to a new room. Think of the "whole" dungeon as a constantly morphing, single room that reacts to how you try to exit it! :)

This is a game about getting lost in a dungeon’s labyrinth, and finding your way through mind-bending puzzles.

The game has two gimmicks:
1) Items you place in one room stay in the same place on-screen when you move to another room, giving you access to things you thought you couldn’t reach.
2) Strangely-linked rooms – think the Lost Woods in Ocarina of Time!

Mix these two together with collectable powerups, and you have a mind-bending dungeon ready to be explored and speedrun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#55Overall3.88
#93Innovation3.95
#166Fun3.57
#174Graphics3.77
#294Mood3.25
#893Theme3.32

Comments

d74g0n says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:26am

Wow, the charm of this game is off the charts.

pixelpig says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Looks incredible, but I'm unable to play it due to some Unity web-player installation issues, although I can't say I entirely get the link to the theme.

nesis says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Good point - I've updated the description to hopefully clarify how the game fits the theme.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08am

Interesting concept! I came up with a similar idea - Mobius forest. :)

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:21am

Fun! Too bad there's no sound, but graphics look great and gameplay is smooth and enjoyable.

nesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42am

@pavel_insight:
Hah, it's funny how similar concepts can pop up... I'm looking forward to playing + rating your game after some sleep!

@pvtroswold:
Were it only that I had the patience and skill for adding good sounds. As it stands, I've opted out of the sound category. I'm glad you like the rest of the game! :D

lordsavage says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

Incredible game, well done nesis, I have so far made it up to the teleporter weapon - loads of fun!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Great idea and clever level design! Timing sometimes makes me mad))) But overall expression is pretty good!

Seraphina says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

I like what you've done here so far. This could be a really fun little puzzle game with some more areas. Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13am

This is a very pretty game! Its a nice place to explore. The control is really well done. The character animation and movement align perfectly.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

Very interesting game, though the lack of audio makes it feel kind of empty.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

Great graphics, and an interesting concept!

besieger1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:33am

This game is honestly very clever, love the use of changing what's in front of you to make room for more level. Fun mechanics to and lots of potential!

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

This is fantastic! I love the way you switch to different parts of the level and the puzzles are really tricky. Really innovative stuff!

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

Nice.

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

WOW
I escapde the dungeon, it was awesome, the level design is so great!
Not to hard, not to easy.
It's really cool, congratulations!

Krisjet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Great main mechanic! Lots of interesting possibilities for puzzle solving, and the introduction of new items and harder puzzles felt just right.

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Nice game :D
Loved the mechanic the entire game.

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The game is so good! The level design is great, and the difficulty is just right. I like the gimmick of leaving things in one room to appear in another, one step in front of other games with similar concept. Gj!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:46pm

It's a little like my idea...except yours is far more polished :) Melts my brain though. Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I escaped the dungeon! Really like the way you used the theme. Similar to my game :). Really cool effects when transitioning rooms.

taaboo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Nice game man. The graphical style was good. nice way of introducing tutorials. The teleporter was abit unclear at first. but I got the hang of it afterwards. Sad the dungeon was over already.

edve98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

The puzzles are really interesting. Only 2 bad things in tis game: this does not really fit in thee theme(in my opinion), and music/sounds, I think that you should have those

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Awesome game man! Really like it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38pm

This is the best use of the theme so far I reckon. Really cool mechanic for the puzzles and really satisfying when you pull them off

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

With audio this game will be top notch. Really clever mechanics and use of the theme.

ladybenko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

My favourite game so far

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Cool concept, funny workaround for a theem. I lost quite easy and found a way to move through the closed door (ghost mode!) but it can be quite a riddler.
No music and sound made me sad, but cute cube'y graphics wiped out the tears :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very cool idea. The art is fantastic! I like the idea of the things you use in one room having an effect on another. The only thing I had a problem with is the maze design. It seemed to be a little more confusing than it needed to be (the exits to each room being unpredictable). Very slick game!

mactinite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:31am

Really awesome! I love it, the puzzles are really great!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

I really liked the idea and the feel, but there was the part where you had to hit two switches at the same time, and the mouse wasn't very responsive, so I gave up because it was impossible for me to complete, even though I knew what to do

Dreii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

10/10

Fantastic design work man. Not too handholdy, but nudging in just the right way to push me along. I love it.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45am

Great idea and good puzzles.

Controls were a bit unresponsive, but maybe it's because of my computer. Didn't stop me from enjoying the experience :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Love the graphics, nice puzzles! I Included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/v6qOf-i7cO4

LittleThor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14am

Wow! Amazing game! I love the concept, link to the theme, level design, graphics and the realisation! Fantastic work!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

I absolutely love the art direction/lighting of the game (holy crap in 48 hours!) and the concept is really cool! I picked up a bomb and couldn't left click to use it, but I think I might just have been doin' it wrong. :p

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really enjoyed the graphics of this game. Great job on the fire and lighting effects!

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

Amazing. Really cool concept of items preserved over screens, and very helpful tutorials that didn't feel like hand holding but like teaching. Never too much information at once, and still room left to explore on your own and acquire the knowledge from yourself. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:57am

My brain hurts, but this was enjoyable. So much stuff here for a compo entry!

Bardikus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice concept but I don't think you respected the theme very well

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

A pretty neat idea! Something similar to what we first thought of. Like those kind of puzzle games :)

dorkster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I want more! :D

Amazing job. I would pay for a full game of this.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Unique concept! I really enjoyed this game! Well done!

Ranmara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Clever puzzle design, left me wanting to play more! :)

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Really nice: interesting mechanics and nice graphics too, very well done :)

blzkz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Wow, cool game, great graphics! I enjoyed playing it!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice one :) Love the graphics!

taviandir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I think the connection to the theme is slightly farfetched - I had to read the description to get it, and even then I'm not sure, hehe. I think it#s cause of how the transitions between the rooms look n feel.
Regardless, it was a fun and charming game! :)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Thoroughly enjoyed playing, it's a very neat puzzle idea! Theme implementation seems kinda tenuous to me, but I get that it's there ^^

Came here after reading your post on the homepage, I'd love it if you would stream playing my game at some point (twitter is @SebastianLague)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=37445

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42pm

great

iShadow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This game has everything, except sound:)
It feels like a demo of an great classic. Looking forward for extended version.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Played through your dungeon. Solid game and entertaining puzzle design! I hope you add more puzzles in the post-compo version you are making. Good use of the theme, though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Wow, very polished game! Amazing work for a compo entry. The only thing i missed (a lot) was the lack of any audio. The game would have benefit immensely from audio feedback for explosions, movement and switch activation. Good Job!

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

This is brilliant, Good Stuff

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Harly fits the theme, and I'm shocked someone got all this done in 48 hours but, trusting you did, its a tremendous job!

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Really well-crafted game - down to the little details, like the dust particles when you walk around...

Very clever puzzle game! This is critique on a high level, but I found the game a bit too linear. It's quite easy to solve the puzzles because there is only ever (mostly) one way to go forward.

Also, I did not like the way the game punishes you when you die - you have to start all over completing all the puzzles again (not very exciting, since you know them already). But again, this is just nitpicking!

Really fun experience. Not sure how it fits into the theme though.

Kep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Innovation++!
Well done.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Really innovative game! Looks and fills great.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very interesting idea, but makes my brain hurt!

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very impressive for a few days work

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Oh wow. In the very beginning I was confused why the bomb timer was so long. Then I figured it out. I liked that shift in understanding. The levels are well designed and the mood, thanks to the art and effects, is really special.

I got stuck a few times though and the only way to get to where I wanted to go was to jump off the edge.

All in all, this is probably one of my favorites so far. Great work.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

When I saw this game on the front page, I felt this game was for me... Was not disappointed.

GFM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I really liked how you made the whole dungeon be inside the screen the whole time. :)

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Linux version is downloaded when I click on Windows link.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really neat mechanic, and really liked the visual style. Well done. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54am

Very nice homage to The Legend of Zelda. I'd put in some sounds and some music to make this great game even better!

recursor says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:39am

This is very fun even without sound. Very fun. Great job!

rantt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

Cool concept, looks great, and the level design was really well done. I really enjoyed this game, great job :)

Elrobo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very cool game, great idea, nice bit of zelda tropes with some additions. Would love to see it expanded and play with a controller.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45am

Played this when you weren't done yet and you got me interested, really cool how everything turned out! Great job (:

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58am

Quite nice graphics! Gameplay is solid, Nice entry!

nesis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59am

@Elrobo :) You can play with a controller! At least my xbox360 one works - left stick to move, A instead of left mouse, and B instead of right mouse.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01am

Great concept! And great execution! Wow, so many rooms and elements!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11am

that is a cool idea and nicely realized too, well done.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

That was a great experience. Very cool concept. I escaped the dungeon. The game cries out for sound, but being made in 48 is very impressive!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

Smart concept and level design, cool controls & animations. The transition between rooms gets a bit heavy due to the control loss and the screen shake, but the rest feels right and well made. Even if it might be a bit out of line, you interpreted the theme in a unique way, congrats.

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26am

Very clever design and use of the theme. Makes for some interesting puzzles. Very charming art style (even if it's a little bare). The walking animation is funny, looks like Igor or the Hunchback. Could use some sound. so it goes I guess. Good work!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26am

Love the level design and the pace of the game just felt right! Nice entry!

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:28am

I remember I used to have a game on the Apple II a long time ago that had dynamite you could place, and if you switched to a different screen, the dynamite you placed would stay in the same relative position. I'm pretty sure it was a bug in that game, but I still used it to my advantage sometimes. This reminded me of that. :)

My game, if you wanted to try it: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=12468 (It takes a long time to play through it entirely though.)

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:29am

Woah, very clever game! I don't know if this counts as a whole game in one screen but this is really amazing. Has potential for a full fledged title imo.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:51am

I love the graphic style. And really funny game, i needed to make a map on paper to see where i go^^.

raincole says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27am

It's a great puzzle game. Love the mechanics!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Interesting and beautiful game. The level design is clever and logical. Very well done! :)

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Very nice gameplay idea !

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Fun,Graphics ? +200 points! :)really good game Also check my project if you have some time,mate! :)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Very cool puzzle dungeon game. Love the gameplay.
Very well done!
My first 5* for innovation.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Love everything about it!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:16am

Fantastic concept, and surprisingly pretty straightforward to get your head around! I can see what you where going for with the theme in that every room is connected by screen position, which is actually really cool, you might be onto something, might be worth developing this further!

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:42am

that really is amazing! well met!
i will surely play it again.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:45am

fun game - like the idea for the mechanic - nice

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:16am

Really cool concept. I wish you used the teleport item more. Maybe in future iterations it can be more like portals that you can drop bombs/throw boomerangs into.

-AlucardX60

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:15am

Hi there. Really like your graphics and animations style. Amazing content for 48h. Big shame no sounds or music. Nice level designs, goto about 10 levels in. Nice integrated tutorial. Bookmarked for a later retry. Good job!

Knighty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:50am

Pretty cool idea.
Unfortunately, I had some problems. At the part were you have to hit the four switches with the boomerang, the boomerang kept passing through the switches without activating some of them, and eventually it wasn't letting me use the boomerang anymore. (The game was pretty laggy for me, so it may be related to that.)

About the bomb puzzles: I like the idea, but it's a little "hand-holdy" the way you've done it here.
It's not really a puzzle if you show the player exactly where to place the bombs, by using the green tiles.

JNyknn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Your game has a lot of polished content, it was fun to play it and the visual style was amazing. Great job!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Sweet game. I like what you did with the screen when moving to new places. Graphic style is solid and looks nice. Gameplay works. Well done!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Pssst - You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-skEj9o26aE

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Just saw this game on Ludum Dare to Believe and had to try it out myself! Really fun concept, I can definitely feel the Zelda influence.

I would love to see more done with this concept, I think you have a really good base going here if you were to develop it into something further!

lricardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:36am

I really enjoyed, I love puzzles and reminded me a bit of Zelda ... rsrs congratulations

ijwu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:58am

I absolutely love it. It fits the theme perfectly, the room transitions are awesome, and the game mechanics are really interesting. This could make for an amazing puzzler. It's almost hard to believe this was made in 48 hours. Great job!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:01am

Nice interpretation of the theme. Definitely a good puzzle game.

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:05am

I think I just saw the future Zelda overtaker! Beyond well done and polished game and concept!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:46am

Great game mechanic and graphics! The teleporter was a bit glitchy by I made it to the end!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:51am

Wow an interesting mechanic that is well explored with the different abilities you pick up. The presentation is nice and I appreciate the explanations in the game. Liked the animations for the fire and boomerang. Health doesn't feel necessary and dying is very punishing to have to start over.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:57am

Really nice idea, and very cool art. A very complete game. Congrats!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:13am

very impressive compo entry, it looks and plays really well. one of my favorites

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:43am

Great use of the theme and innovative idea. Also, it was fun to play with the mechanics to solve the puzzles.

I would loved if it have some audio, but well the time was there as always xD

Overall, I love it :D

Kuupu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:47am

REALLY good core mechanics, you can polish it and make a really good game

Kwask says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:39am

Excellent game! Was really excited to see this finished ever since I saw your teaser post during the compo!

Simon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:57am

This is pretty cool. Well done!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:28am

Nice graphics!cool character too!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:32pm

an clever idea and well executed

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Love the idea, has a lot of potential. Want more :D

Eduardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Nice mechanic! I like the graphics too!!

Managore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:00am

What a fantastic idea with the ever changing room! The way the boomerang and bombs could be used in various ways was really clever, I'm looking forward to more content.

exoddinary says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really nice and polished game! Good job!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:44am

Beautiful game !

BretHudson says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:16am

Took me too long to get around to playing this! Can't wait for the new levels. :) Fantastic concept.

ianatherton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:36am

Good work on this one! Innovative, fast, fun, a good time killer and brain twister, hope to see more of this in the future!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:52am

Really fun game. This game could become a really good game if it was developed more. One of my favourite so far!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:02am

Hey cool game ! i thought bombs staying on the screen between rooms were a bug at first :) Good concept and design!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:22am

Looks good, and very, very nice puzzles. A little bit mind-blowing at times :P

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:08pm

This is a nicely done entry. I'm not fan of the "find correct door to continue"... BUT gameplay aside: I liked the character & animation a lot. The scenery was very well done. The effects too. Liked the mood too.

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Looks like we have a winner here. Good use of theme and clever gameplay. Lack of music doesn't really kill the mood either.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Fun game with great mechanics, well done.

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:13pm

-You escaped the dungeon! *runs forward and falls into the void*
A nice and promising game! It can make a big and interesting game in future, and this looks like a demo version.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I really enjoyed this game. Very original. Awesome work!

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Awesome job, mobius. Was chatting with you on the stream :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Extremely cool idea. Enjoyed playing this a lot and found the level of difficulty to be just right.

Stending says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:08pm

One of the best compo I saw yet!
That's really awesome, the concept is really innovative.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Best game I've played so far. Fits the theme nicely. I had quite some fun figuring out the connections between the rooms and how to progress. This game has a impressive amount of content and a pretty good level design.
I only got lost once: When I used the teleporter, I landed on one of the statues.
Followed you on twitter for news about the post-compo version. ;)

By the way, the game produces some weired graphic bugs (gray boxed in the game viewport). Played on Linux at Full-HD.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Very nice idea combined with good gameplay.

Sestren says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Really cool game! I see a lot of potential with this idea. Please make a fully-polished post-compo version, if you can!

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Best compo entry I've seen so far, great job!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:18am

Pretty fun, beat the whole thing. Was like the puzzles portion of the old zelda, minus any combat. Would have been much better with sound/music.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:34pm

very cool game, one of the best in terms of visuals, creative dungeon switch, well done :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the way you reinterpretate the theme and then how you suited with what you had in mind. Maybe more explanation on the things you can do for a better gaming experience would be appreciated. Nice entry!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Pretty good, with an intriguing mechanic. Crying out for some sound though.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:42am

Love the animation and shadows, game-play is simple but can be challenging

waxwire says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:28pm

nice idea, simple but cool graphics, the room-swap is kinda weird but whatever, this game is cool :D

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice! But I don't really like the bomb physics

Ryusui says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:29am

Very clever, this. My only issue is the weird room transitions, but I imagine they're there to make it look less like you're going to another screen and more like the screen you're on is reorganizing itself. Would love to see more!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:32am

Amazing game :D

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Really nice idea!

Odefus says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Interesting mechanics. It came to an abrupt end and left me wanting more. Cant fault you for that though. Solid entry overall.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Neat! The puzzles were great, and the core concept was solid! The transition animations between rooms are a little "busy". I also thought the room where the right exit was connected to the right exit was a little weird... even though it was necessary to solve a puzzle with the boomerang, at first I thought it was a bug.

P.S. Your game will appear in the my next video (episode #4).

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:50am

Shame there's no sound but I absolutely loved the gameplay concept. You can totally see where the Zelda inspirations come from.

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Pretty good! I love the interpretation of the theme, even though I feel like it was being a bit liberal and cheaty with it :) But that's ok it's resulted in a good fun game :)

The puzzles are well thought out and well designed, I like that :)

Gripes:

1. Why does the player have to "dash back" when going through rooms? I don't get the necessity of it. He should really just "teleport" there.

The way the rooms don't connect correctly seems arbitrary when everything else seems systematic. That's weird in a world of systems.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Felt incredibly quiet without sound effects or music, but the mechanic was really cool - reminded me a lot of Zelda games, I think that was likely an influence. It wasn't too impressive graphically, but the puzzle design was superb. Web player version seemed to lag a little, but I didn't dock any points for that, assuming the desktop version would play fine.
Would be great to make this one dungeon in a full game (with some graphical oomph and sound of course).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]