Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ex Nihilo

by CScribes - Jam Entry

"Out of nothing, we must make a miracle happen."

Play as Fiah as he tries to escape a strange dimension and gain enough life force to return home. Avoid the elements and finish before time runs out! Short and sweet :)

Features:

- Three Levels

- Cute Graphics

- Cool Music

- A whole lot of love put into it

Controls:

- Right and Left Arrow Keys = Move

- Space bar = Jump

Built in Unity 3D. Tested on Windows 8.1

Credits:

Cauá Picetti/@cauapicetti: Main Artist

@CScribes: Co-Artist

Kara Square /@ThinkrootRecords: Music

- http://thinkrootrecords.com/

Douglas Novakoski: Programmer

Matheus Schneider: Animator

Special Thanks: Vinicius Brochetto

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#532Graphics(Jam)3.21
#741Mood(Jam)2.70
#764Innovation(Jam)2.62
#787Overall(Jam)2.86
#872Fun(Jam)2.50
#923Theme(Jam)2.83
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28am

Pretty cool game, but waaaay too hard for me. Restarting it quickly without going back to menu would've helped a lot!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:09am

Cool.

tobyp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

Neat little number, but the controls are a bit hard for me. Also for some reason it annoyed me that the circle of light would wrap around the screen. A quick restart would have been SO much nicer though. But it was immediately easy to see what had to be done.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38am

i like idea and the polished aspect :)
the controls make it a bit hard to play. i mean, i just press a little one arrow and the ball is already on the other side of the screen.
to me, it seems that you forgot a deltaTime multiplication, or was it supposed to be this hard o_O ?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06am

Cool little game. Like the idea of not being able to see the world.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I liked it =) But too sensitive control.

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice one. I like the idea. It can get a bit hard because of the control being too sensitive, but you get used to it quickly. Music is cachy too. No sure about the theme, though

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:16am

As others have said, controls were really finicky. Player felt too "heavy" while still having floaty physics, if that makes sense.

I sort of liked the restricted vision, but I could still faintly see the environment through the darkness. Restarting to the first level on death felt really frustrating and artificially prolonged the time it took to get to the end.

pkenney says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23am

A game this difficult requires a faster retry loop I think. There's a lot of good stuff here, but I kept getting frustrated that I had to switch from the keyboard over to the mouse to navigate back through the menu to restart, and then only get to play for a few seconds.

Nice graphics and the music was nice, I kept retrying because I wanted to see more. So nice job - well put together, just had that one flaw.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Cool game but very hard

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice art, though I had some issue with the words moving too fast and the game being a bit... slippery. I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:06pm

The masking effect reminds me of our entry for LD 26, Fog. Seemed to me to be a bit too difficult.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Unfortunately, I couldn't get far enough to see what kind of interesting things you were going to do with the limited vision stuff. There's a lot of issues with feedback on understanding why I was dying. One thing that may have helped would be to hold on the game screen for a bit after I died so I could see what caused it, when it goes immediately to the game over screen I was just confused most of the time. The movement had a bit of a jitter that I think got me into trouble because I would collide with things while moving away from them. Permadeath isn't bad, but I think it needs a lot of supportive feedback to make it motivating to keep going instead of just frustrating (for example, getting back into the game as fast as possible can help with this). Nice work!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45am

Pretty hard /and because of that I wish you could skip the intro, I died a lot/, but a neat, cool looking concept!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:53am

I beat it! :)

I think some dynamic jump controls would have helped out a lot (like being able to let go of the spacebar to stop your jump in mid-air).
Also I had a hard time seeing the tentacles! Usually I died before I even saw them.

Great job on finishing the game!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:44pm

It's not always easy to fit story and gameplay in jam games. Good job.

lxd1 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:17am

Fun

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Sorry, the game isn't playable. It's not hard, just not playable. It's okay to not display the entire level but you have to accomodate for that in gameplay. You should make it obvious where to go next, maybe with coins or other clues like Donkey Kong, Mario, etc...

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 2:49am

Cool idea but the controls were really rough. The jump didn't respond well and the player moved to fast. Cool music and graphics though.

Wakka says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

your OSX/Linux Download is pointing to the same file as the Windows download, which contains a .exe file that is not runnable on OSX / Linux

BretHudson says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:31am

Super challenging! Really loved the music. The controls felt a bit off, but everything seemed very solid on the physics side/collisions and all that. Great game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]