Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Entomophobia

by DoubleS - Jam Entry

The latest game from a certain company for a discontinued portable console. And it's all about arthropods! How lovely!
You play the main character, called by some name or another, whom you must guide in her quest to cleanse the world of nasty icky gooey bugs. With her trusty crossbow by her side and your steady fingers, you will soon have to face the dreaded king of arthropods, who rises from the oceans in defiance of your exterminatory goals!

Use WASD to move. Use the arrow keys or IJKL to shoot. Turn the volume up or down using the mouse wheel.

A game by @skslucher.

Music, Ludum Gal model and some code by @rcrburgess.
Art and graphics designed by @halfy314.


EDIT- In response to feedback, I've added an updated version of the game, with more balanced screenshake and less clutter. Just for fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#20Theme(Jam)4.39
#23Fun(Jam)4.00
#62Overall(Jam)3.92
#83Audio(Jam)3.77
#107Mood(Jam)3.72
#160Graphics(Jam)4.01
#315Innovation(Jam)3.33

Comments

jarry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54am

I like the "gameboy style" you've made. Nice job

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56am

Amazing! I don't have anything to critique on this one, just nice job!

rmc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56am

Insanelly hard. But very, very fun. Love the idea of running it on virtual game boy. Really adds to the mood of the game. Nice job.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Loved the gameboy style, but I felt the game sort of easy, also it got me dizzed throughout it.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

Very nice. The only thing I didn't like was the way the gameboy shakes when you kill things, it was good at first but later you kill too many things so it is shaking too much.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Found this game very fun. I love how you have incorporated the theme. The different variety of mobs was great as well as the boss. Nice job!

Krimble says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

I found it hard to see what was alive in the later levels but overall a good game.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

t-t-t-t-t-t-o-o-o-o-o-o much camera shake :) Other than that: very very nice. Loved the retro style, the overall presentation and execution - even though the gameplay gets old quickly.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Interesting. Very nostalgic.

Budda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:56am

Awesome little game - top pick from what I've played so far, well done.

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:04am

Amazing! Great effects and the gameboy-like console is nice idea. Check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Very charming take on the theme! The shaky camera and strange fire-button were hard to adjust to, though.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09am

Love the presentation of this! The art was well done, but the enemies and the text was a bit hard to parse due to the angle of the "screen" (and also hard to see against the sea of bug corpses, maybe they could disappear after awhile?) Nice job overall!

Geti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Excellent! Got a bit of lag after a while from the sheer amount of carnage but this was very fun, simple, to the point, and full of screenshake! Excellent!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26am

Great graphical style, good music, good execution. My main complaints would be that it would be nice to clarify that arrow keys are shooting (it took me a while to figure this out and they have a musical clef symbol next to them I think?), and the screen shake would REALLY be nice to disable. With the sea of bug corpses, a million bullets, and a shaking screen, it gets nearly impossible to see what's going on.

Also, is there a final boss? I got several levels in (15? 17?) but did not know if there was a number I was aiming for.

DoubleS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:08am

There IS a final boss! Get to wave 25, if you dare....

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Really loved the way it brought up the gameboy, and the controls scribbled on like that, great touches. And the game was great fun to play, well done :)!

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40pm

The Gameboy-idea really made me smile. The game is fun and a bit addicting. Beating the boss made me cheer! Nicely done! Though the screen-shake/gameboy shake made the game a bit harder to play at some points.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Very nice. I really like the feeling of old school gameboy nostalgia it gives. And the difficulty felt really solid. Awesome work.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07pm

First time I got killed by the Boss so I HAD to play again and beat the s**t out of that lobster haha, love the game! from the game boy power switch to the end, round game. Good job!

DoubleS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Thanks for all the positive feedback, everyone! I'll be doing major refinement to my screenshake algorithms from here on. ;)

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I actually didn't like the particles appearing outside the Ludum GalCOLOR. It took away from the immersion a bit. Other than that, 4 stars.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

That was awesome! :D But the boss killed me :/ Really liked the chaos on the screen after a couple of gun upgrades and lots of enemies :D

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Awesome concept! Love game boy style! And the graphics is so beautiful ! Well done!

allanolivei says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Congratulations, perfect gameplay and graphics. Very polished.

DA_KID says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Another really polished game. Art looks really nice, crossbow feels really good, enemies are nice and have a decent amont of variety. The only thing I'd add is high scores.

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Finishing a round is pretty satisfying. Nice job, the graphics are cool!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Great graphics and sorta fun gameplay.
I was happy when that end boss appeared, it changed the pacing from "spin uncontrollably in circles while incredible intense screenshake makes you dizzy" back to "this is actually fun playing". Yeah, I never thought I would say this, but... please less screen shake.
The over-the-top upgrades are fun, but they don't help when you can't see a thing anymore.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Great job! Not only is the game super fun and well put together, but the presentation really tops it off.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:27pm

it's challenging, 5 stars for the visuals, they're very ingenious, well done

caporaltito says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Excellent!

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Amazing! Intense! Died at the boss, but will try again later. This game is a blast to play. A gamepad option is the only thing this still needs to be complete!

jpmit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Good use of the theme. Great graphics and music. Fun! Great job.

LabOne says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I added this to favorites in browser.

uvwar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Pretty dang awesome. I'll also mirror the comment of a little too much screenshake; I get motion sick from the screen constantly flying all over the place, but otherwise really cool game and aesthetic.

mactinite says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Awesome job! The game itself was fun, and the way you made that certain game system was awesome ;)

jelly says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I love the gameboy concept! Also technically, nice idea to use a low res render texture.

Almost arthromited when the lgc bounced my brain. The game has so much charm though. Yayy!

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice use of the theme. Great action game!

bazld says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Wonderful! great job on the retro style. Its really playable too.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Amazing! Aside from the very cool theme usage, this game is really fun to play, smooth controls, furious action. I understand non filtered textures used for the retro feelings but sometimes there just too much on the (one) screen to cope with.

Overall, excellent job.

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:11am

Fantastic!Great gameplay,graphics!Very cool and very playable!

Headmade says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I really like the gameboy feel and the quick pace of the game. I would prefer the game to be a little bit harder though.

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Really nice :D I liked the fact you were rewarded with a power increase after each wave. I was getting bored of the same red and green enemies at one point, but suddenly I was introduced to a more agile quick shooting enemy, right at the time at which I wanted something else - nice timing. Got to the boss and died there :P

Looks like you addressed the things I would've suggested in your postjam version. :)

victorafael says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:35pm

The scenary becomes a hell of bugs when you are close from the boss :P

Loved the game.. It was not that easy... but I managed to finish it without dying.. congratulations to you and your team...

and I wish my game boy did not vibrate that much! :P

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Nice game, it plays pretty great and I like how it's on the gameboy screen. I'd tone down the screenshake a bit though. Because the game is rendered within the game, it's making me a tad nauseous. Well done though!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Ha ha ha WOW! This was an awesome entry. The floating GameGal background was great, and I feel you've got a really good sense of """""""game feel""""""" or something. I played one round where I got arrows up so many times that the game just got stupidly colourful.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:44pm

amazing!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Nice gameboy style. Simple game but fun.

belstras says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice gba styling and impressive unity work, good job.

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:44am

Hey, I really liked your use of the theme for this entry! Things got so hectic so quickly, I kinda didn't know what was going on - but the sheer power the character has by the ended just added to the quirkiness I felt. :)

I felt the music didn't really suit the GBC idea of the game, perhaps a full chip song written in LSDJ might have fit the bill a bit better? Still, that's really just nitpicking on my behalf.

I really loved little touches like particle effects appearing //behind// the screen, they helped add to the polish of the game itself.

I really liked this, keep up the good work folks! :D

ripatti says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:07am

Amazing! Nice survival with Binding-Of-Isaac-like controls.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:36am

I just tried the post-jam version. Much better with less clutter and less screenshake! I'm not sure the screenshake is even necessary, but it's much more playable now. :) Those watermelon bugs are really hard to dodge, but I finally managed to win, even!

Scott Slucher says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:40am

Thanks for the positive feedback, everyone!
Seems the new version is a big step in the right direction, there'e no better way to figure out what went wrong than to show it to other people. ;)

Florent says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice take on the theme.
You should definitely add a link to this page on itch.io !

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:08pm

that deserve to win at least the Theme section I think!! very original.

Congrats

Frump says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:04am

Great work. Enjoyed every aspect and I love the fake game boy style!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Super nice game!

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Monsters' goo everywhere! I like this style!!!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:04am

Brilliant twin stick shooter with an awesome style! Brings me back to when I was little, playing Pokemon and other titles on my own purple Gameboy Color!

sweenist says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:30am

Wow! What an incredible game! Awesome music! Challenging gameplay! Looks so cool! awesome job!

Teejay5 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:30am

I'm addicted haha

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]