Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Survival Camp: A Day-Night game

by hoyt hoy - Jam Entry

Get wood and some blueberries, punch the monsters in their faces!
Survive how many days you can!

Play for fun! Survive for bravery!

How to play?
Use Arrows to move
A- Sit (it will recover you live)
S - Get things (you need food and wood to survive)
D - Punch! (Hit the mosnters! you will need time to do this. try hard to survive with yous hands!)


This game was made for:
Fernando Scaff Moura: Game Designer, Art, Code
Adalberto Rodrigues: Music, Sound, Effects

Collaborator: Mauro Leandro Pasqual : Code (without him, this game would be impossible)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#341Audio(Jam)3.13
#382Mood(Jam)3.20
#458Graphics(Jam)3.36
#530Humor(Jam)2.54
#589Theme(Jam)3.46
#618Innovation(Jam)2.86
#672Fun(Jam)2.83
#674Overall(Jam)3.02

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

it's rough, but if you fix the controls and the difficulty level at the beginning it could become an interesting game.

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Nice little survival game, but quite hard. Using the "z" key is a bit annoying, if you have a QWERTZ keyboard, like me. ;)

moldfire says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18pm

A good game, but the controls are a little awkward.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I like the graphics!

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

The controls are weird, and it's super hard at the beginning but I like it.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Its a good game, it took a couple tries to get started, but is there any reason not to pick up every thing at once?

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I like the idea. Sound is really grating at times. Hard to tell when Ive been hit.

Cool lighting effect!

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Looks interesting but the beginning is extremely difficult and punches seem to miss a lot.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:04am

In the end, t'was starvin' what killed me. ::nods seriously::

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

It is EXTREMELY hard to get started, enemies bombard me at the start and I have no time to pick any items up and die within seconds.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

Very nice and quick paced game. Love it!

wooltech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

Interesting idea.

maad9 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55am

I like the whole atmosphere of the game. Interesting game, but a little too hard at start.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

I change something in the game, made it more easy.
AND put the game on Game Jolt, it's better ^^
AND AND change the controls, not more problems for German players ^^ Now you play with Arrows and A S D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice game! Insta-died a few times before getting used to the controls. The beasts attack ferociously! Simple yet elegant art style, i like it!

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:07am

Reminds me Don't Starve! Nice work.

maurojones says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very nice :)

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29am

Like said before it would be good to have little resources on start. After you get trough that you are in the mercy of the wood pile spawning.

Shirt reminds me of Steve on Monkey Island :)

Sayuri Tagata says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21am

At the beginning i had some problems to understand what was going on, but it's a really cool game with an amazing art =D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Really cool idea, pretty too.

My only critique would be that the shadow effect on the player was a bit distracting, I get the idea but the shadow was always facing in a different direction to what I wanted to look at.

Good job bro

SoulGame says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The game nicely fits to the theme and I really like the concept. I think you made a good job designing the whole experience. But you miss some tuning to make it a joyful game, :)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Cute game :) controls are okay for me :)
Also check my project if you have some time mate x) thanks.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice idea though i couldnt survive much. Nice lightning effects.

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice game, have a great potential.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Pretty cool but steep learning curve. I was bombarded by monsters immediately.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:05pm

The game started so abruptly it took me a couple tries to even adjust to what was happening. Super hard to start with, but the idea is intriguing. Nice entry!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Nice little game! Your health seems to decrease so fast if you don't get fire/food, and that made the game really hard. I couldn't make it further than a day or two. But I adore the concept, and it was actually fun to play!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:53am

I'm cold!I'm hungry!i wanna go home!:)good!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Neat little game, this could be pretty interesting if expanded upon. I think you die too quickly, and the game starts off way to fast without giving the player time to figure it out.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:06am

Nice little game and I love all the games using this framework so far, effects and art are nice too!

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Once I figured out the controls it was ok to control the character. I kept dying, but I think maybe I should have ransomed the food better :) Good job

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Interesting game and the sound is very very good

nassi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Took a few tries to get started, but managed to survive for a while after that. Too bad I wasn't able to eat the monsters, because the blueberries didn't grow fast enough and I starwed. On one of my tries my guy starved to death and after he had keeled over he said "I'm hungry", which I found quite amusing.

Valeour says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Very rough around the edges, not very balanced. But the graphics are good, music was nice, and definitely has a lot of potential. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]