Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Destroyer

by Hendri - Jam Entry

Game's objective is simple just destroy enemies before they destroy you.

There might be some bugs in the game and I'm sorry if I can I fill fix them, so let me know about them.

The game was originally meant to be posted for compo, but I encountered a bug and I didn't have enough time to fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#623Audio(Jam)2.26
#694Theme(Jam)3.33
#712Humor(Jam)2.18
#885Fun(Jam)2.48
#906Mood(Jam)2.32
#925Graphics(Jam)2.15
#942Overall(Jam)2.57
#964Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1987Coolness30%

Comments

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Pretty nice. Occasionally when I fired, the bullets went behind me though, and I lost health this way a couple of times. There's a couple other complaints I have too - sometimes, the 'prepare for next wave' message appeared before I'd actually completed the current wave, and got in the way, plus the 'exit game' button doesn't exit the game. However, the controls were responsive and intuitive, and the basic concept was executed pretty well.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Web link is broken - can't play the game.

Hendri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I changed the link, it should work again.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice simple game, could have added more to it though?

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Simple enough gameplay. There's a slight problem (if you can call it that) in that the screen is twice as wide as it is tall, so you don't really see enemy cubes coming from the top and bottom as early as from the left and right.

koujaku says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I'm uncertain if the cubes had a lot of hitpoints, or if the bullets were moving too fast and going through the cubes! Either way, something funny was going on there.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

turbo green stuff shooter)
Why bullets fly through the boxes?

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I really love how controls respond! it would it be nice that at least the bullet instances were destroyed when colliding with enemies.

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:05am

The approach was pretty simple, but I liked it. It would be cool if there was any indication that a hit had registered, or maybe if the bullets stopped on contact.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:05am

It would be nice if the cubes had healthbars, and if there were some form of score. Still, it's a good start, just very skeletal as it.

harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:08am

Not bad at all. Would be nice to get some hit feedback on the cubes though.

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:33am

Nice start! It's odd to see my bullets go through the enemy cubes, perhaps you want to make them stop as they hit? Aside from that, this has the seed of a good game!

Rothens says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:06am

I think it gets boring after around 30 seconds :) Needs more work. And make some explosion effects too :D

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:37am

Very simple, it works well. I had fun shooting the cubes :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I'm in doubt. If I'll talkin about realistic aspects this game will looks really poor. But from the minimalistic point of view this game looks so fancy! I like this style! xD

Valeour says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Pretty basic, not much to it. Nice attempt none the less. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]