Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny's Adventure in TV Land

by Kate Kligman - Compo Entry

A tiny adventure!

Hint: If you're stuck on the first screen, try to get the carrot by the clouds.

Update: Last level should be fixed. If you played previously use shift + refresh to clear your page cache. Please let me know in comments if Tiny still vanishes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#189Theme3.94
#559Humor2.48
#568Mood2.92
#823Innovation2.73
#934Fun2.63
#944Graphics2.48
#983Overall2.75

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice and well done game :) Unfortunately, I got stuck in the part with the snowman :/

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54am

I get it now. It's a lovely adventure.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55am

I'm glad you added the tip to your description... I didn't know how to get past the first screen... -_- This game has a very good use of the theme. While simple, it's a fine LD entry.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:56am

Simple, unique, oddly satisfying for being so short. I like the story being told. Definitely gives a distinct mood.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

its not obvious that you can jump on the clouds. took me a bit.

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05am

Nice game! First screen was so hard, but I did it!
Thanks for the game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58am

Unfortunately the Space Bar plays havoc with the game in Chrome.

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Thank you, this should now be fixed!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Charming little adventure! It left me wanting more. I suppose my only suggestion is to make the clouds a bit more obvious that you can jump on them (Since I'm an average gamer and I don't read directions, haha) Great work!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Ending made me smile :) Liked the idea of getting a couple of mini games in to the screen. The hitboxes in the desert level were a bit frustrating!

olkeencole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09am

Very cute. The cloud platforms was a nice twist, and I enjoy how you told a story through it all. Simple yet elegant!

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42am

Very lovely and cute little game I liked it a lot!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Simple but effective; I liked how even with multiple scenes, everything happened on a single screen.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

It was very nice story, very simple but it was enjoyable to play.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Took me like 4 minutes to figure out you could jump on the clouds. D'OH. Interesting little game, and though it's really easy, I've never seen anything like it. And I like that you tricked people into building a snowman... ☃!

tjxx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:44am

I wasn't aware you could jump on the clouds at first, but very nice and simple approach to the theme. I liked it.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Quite nice, loved the seasonal flavor text!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Well designed ! It's really fun to play and also graphics is so minimalistic congrats!

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16am

The jump needs a little bit of work, but very nice take on the theme. :D

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51am

Lovely little game.
Jumping mechanics felt strange but worked.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Short, simple, and good. I liked that you had us collecting things for the end, but we didn't know it. It would have been neat if the wind pushed you back more when you jump. Overall, nice work!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:26pm

A very simple adventure with slightly floaty controls, but overall enjoyable :)

Definitely had to read the description to figure out I could jump on clouds. It's a pity that mechanic wasn't used again, that alone could've been an interesting game of climbing what isn't traditionally foreground elements

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Hi there. Jumping up to clouds pretty impossible, on Chrome/W8.1, because the space/left move timing generosity is far too small...

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice little game!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:35pm

This is a nice little adventure. The jump is a bit stuttery, which can make platforming difficult. Great interpretation of the single-screen theme!

jelly says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Whoa. It took me a long time to figure out that you could jump on the clouds, and only found it by holding down spacebar and bouncin around like a bean. It's not a bad thing though. I like moments like that in a game. Where they make you question your own assumptions.

After that I was hoping for something more unexpected challenges, but it was all over so quickly! All in all, it was short and sweet and had a nice a-ha moment.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cute !

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:55am

mrexcessive:

Thanks for playing! :) Try continuously holding the up key when you're jumping towards the clouds from the highest tree. It will float you a bit. I'm on Windows 8.1/Chrome myself and able to make the jumps.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:24am

Excellent job of creating mood and tying everything in with the theme. Very charming! Wish the first level was easier (even with the hint)!

garygreen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Sweet. :-)

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:21am

Doh! I feel stupid how long that took me. Nice job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:24am

Cute! The first screen was really hard! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:29am

Hi Kate! I don't know how to write personal letter, thats why I've write right threr :)
We finally repair Oculus version of the Mosquito Simulator. Now you may try it out.
Sincerely,
Mike

erik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:21am

The gameplay is simple, but I like the flow of the experience you've created.

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:52am

Loved the use of the theme is this one! Also a really clever way to tell a story, and hey - snowman!

madmaw says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Cute

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Interesting concept, but a little too easy

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]