Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Yibbits

by cbear_wallis - Compo Entry

Yibbits is a vanilla platformer with a twist. Every new level is placed right on top of the current level. Eventually every level of the game is all squished into one crazy contraption!

Thanks for playing if you do ^_^ <3!!

Controls:
Left and Right Arrows -> Move
Space -> jump(press shorter or longer to affect jump height)
M -> mute music
Escape -> exit game

Note: the game does not save progress.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#56Theme4.28
#96Overall3.77
#157Fun3.59
#186Graphics3.74
#238Mood3.31
#240Innovation3.60
#350Audio3.05
#478Humor2.59

Comments

Dec 7, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Look very nice but i'm blocked at the 6th lvl, too hard !

For others : T test the Web version and it's beugged, better download the natives ones.

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

I am -terrible- at this kind of thing but this started going neat places. Had a nice "ahhhhhh" moment when reaching the first start and the next level popped in.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51am

This is a really cool idea - it could use tweaking of the physics to get controls really tight so that it becomes frustrating because of difficulty rather than fighting with physics.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57am

Yep, level 6 is hard. I liked how every level is created on top of the previous. Fun but sometimes hard to control.

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03am

Neat! I like the art style and the particle effects. The movement feels like it could use some tuning, though - I had a really hard time not falling off things.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:43am

Frustrating but fun!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Loved the way levels are constructed! Got stuck in the one with blinking platform... Getting landings right was a bit too tricky with "floaty" movement, but great game for sure!

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

One of the best games I've played in this LD. Difficuty curve is pretty interesting (some kind of sinus but rising :D)
Great work.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

fun concept and looks and sounds nice, but it's super buggy

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:33pm

This game is just fabulous ! It's so damn cool *^*

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Interesting twist! After a while this got pretty tricky to play with the floaty controls though.

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

ITS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HARD !!!! Had to give up BRRRRRRRRRRR Great implementation of the theme. Had a lot of fun

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

My screen not being 16:9 some thing was left outside of the screen, not a biggy though, and the controls was a bit quirky. Otherwise a really nice looking and playing game!

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:43pm

@johnbrynte I'm sorry about the resolution :( I had a bunch of issues with screen sizing etc. at the last moment and had to rush to get it right.

harley77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I loved this. Great difficulty progression, graphics are nice with a nice touch of particle effects. Good job!

martindilling says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Really really great game, got through it and it was a great challenge ;) And following the theme perfectly ;)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:36pm

HA, beat it.

One of the best I've seen so far. Usually I'm not a fan of floaty physics-driven platformer controls but in this case it works and blends well with the graphics and sound. Difficulty curve is mapped out nicely and the implementation is handled in a smart way. Recommended!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Awesome concept, I love it even if the controls were a bit too slippery for my taste. Good job.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00am

I gave you 5 start for overall but I'm seriously impressed! This is like a complete polished game that I would play. And I will be playing it later.

Great use of the theme. I know the visuals are just shapes but it looks so pretty. And the music sounds like it looks. You really did a good job capturing the mood of the visuals with the sound. I like the way the music had a muffled sound because this stopped it from becoming annoying and made it just fall into the background.

I found the gameplay very addictive.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:37am

Quite a tough game. I like how the level is revealed as you progress in the game.

I would give it a little more leeway in collision detection. The collisions are kinda harsh and ruin things even with a tini-tiny mistake.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33am

I made it to the credits! Which by the way are presented in a very cool way :D

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Wow!!! Everything was pretty cool. Great work. I loved your game.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17am

I really like this one. Very nice simplistic graphics. I love the effect when you die. Good use of the theme, I like the way the level builds up. I didn't manage to beat it, it became too hard for me. The controls maybe feel a bit too floaty, also you slide a bit which makes it much harder.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18am

I just wanna give a super duper thank you to everyone who has rated the game! I had a really fantastic time making it and I admit that there were times that I laughed maniacally while building the levels.
I really appreciate the feedback and I intend to use it! I will(if i can manage) be making this game a rogue-like, meaning it will be all procedurally generated. If I can actually do this then I will spend a lot more time making sure the controls are perfect and in addition I'll be adding more mechanics!
Again, thank you to everyone who has played and I hope everyone is having a fantastic Ludum Dare!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:11am

Just awesome!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:45am

Really neat idea, and well executed! A couple levels are quite tough, but the physics feels right so it's fun to try and fail. Well done!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Ok Morpheus I'll take this red pill! It'll be pretty fun! Huh! xD

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:44am

Simple and basic platformer;very sober, fluid, and particle makes it good looking.Theme is perfectly exploited i think. Very nice!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

It's too hard for me... I'm not good enough at platformers to really grok the physics. I'd recommend it to others, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]