Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Kerfuffle

by rabbit - Jam Entry

A 2 player shit slapper. Pick up your sword and slap your friends to death! Rack up as many kills as you can in two minutes to be the ULTIMATE CHAMPION.

*SLAP ISNT A BUTTON, ITS A JOKE TO START THE GAME. PRESS SPACE TO SLAP SHIT, AKA PRESS SPACE TO START, PRESS SPACE TO FIGHT, OR PRESS SPACE TO ENGAGE*

Player 1 Controls:

WASD to move

F to Jump

G to Sword



Player 2 Controls:

Arrow keys to move

O to Jump

P to Sword

If you don't want to use a keyboard then just plug in a couple of xbox controllers and go nuts.

Programming/Design/Art/Sound:
Nathan Ranney
twitter.com/ratcasket

Music:
John Darvin
twitter.com/GriefDrums

You can also download from GameJolt

http://gamejolt.com/games/action/kerfuffle-ludum-dare-31/41092/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#131Fun(Jam)3.63
#210Humor(Jam)3.22
#255Audio(Jam)3.32
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#443Mood(Jam)3.12
#589Theme(Jam)3.46
#805Innovation(Jam)2.52

Comments

hd_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Pretty cool entry, but I will admit I was slapping space expecting things to happen but space isn't a control in the game !

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

WHY IS THERE NO GRAPHICS RATING? Really fun and simple. The animations and art style were delicious. +1 for english

Sos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46am

Oh man, this is so good!

theellipsis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

good game, but controls could do with work, you say "wasd" but from what i could tell it was only "a d". and jump wasn't "w" which would be more natural to me.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

Added graphics rating. :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

A very fun game, all things considered. Reactions were good, and the polish was pretty good. Would play that more, with matchmaking or something. Nice job!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:57am

This was really fun. I'm way bad at it, apparently, but I managed to lose a few rounds to a friend. Good times. It would be nice if there was more to do, and there are some strategies that have no counter (like spamming attack in the middle platform), but even with that, it was still a blast.

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

Graphics and audio are killer. Controls are satisfying-- I like how the characters freeze a bit the moment before they attack, and the "thud" of the little dead guys sliding around is muy bueno.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59am

Super rad! Responsive controls and cute bouncy graphics! Also the jams were super chill. Great job!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:04am

5/5 sister is mad

xerohuang says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07am

nice audio and graphics

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39am

Pretty fun. I like the faces on the characters - nice and expressive.

mtanton says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

Very nice! Controls were a bit odd, but got the hang of it. Music is A+.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great music, works well with the game. The character movement is so nice and fun to mess around with. Now just need to convince someone else to play with me.

PetParents says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35pm

5/5 can confirm am sister

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

I really love the controls and game feel of this one. Even though I wasn't playing with anybody I had a blast jumping around and slapping the shit out of the non-existant second player :P Nicely done!

Ellian says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Yes, I saw your entry on TIG... amazing work. :D
It's super fun and so polished... I wish I had someone to play with ahah

jkantzer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Loved it. I did the same thing as hd_, admittedly, and wondered why the space bar didn't do anything. :P That said, this totally deserves to be developed into more than a game jam game.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

space bar starts the game, dudes. :I

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Strange controls, but a neat fighting game!

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Slap doesn't work. Graphics are very minimalist, but that's probably what you were going for. You should add a mode for AI that way you aren't required to play with yourself.

Blockers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:35pm

the graphics as so cute and simple-- i love it. admittedly, i ended up slapping my own shit because i didn't have anyone to play with, but i can imagine this being really fun if i had a friend over and we wanted a simple fighting- or rather, shit slapping game to play. good job :P

Zanaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I love it! music is jamming(somewhat appropriately), the graphics are nice, animations are fab, and the controls feel solid.

One thing though: if you have a controller plugged in, wasd doesn't work, straight up. I was really confused until I noticed it had controller support and that's what was causing the issue. :)

X54321 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Pretty nice, it's really, really polished.
The controls were a little awkward, but they always are with this sort of thing.
There's not much in terms of gameplay, it just feels a little empty.
But, you know, it has the word shit in it, so that's something.

tompudding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Ha, great. Really solid feel to everything, looks and plays great.

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Realy nice ans simple, good game!
However, I saw many games like that in this jam: /

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

For some reason mine wouldn't jump... which sucks because I love the music and graphics for this game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:28pm

looks pretty fun and polished, but I have nobody to play it with :(
*forever alone*

borgi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Moody graphics and nice implementation. Sadly I could not slap shit coz I had to try it alone. :( Nice job anyways!

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I love the animation and the weight you feel when landing a hit.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Nice game, really liked the mood and the simple controls :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Simple but nice graphics, Super-fun gameplay, Overall probably my favourite so far.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

KERFUFFLE
it a game

Cracked me up :D

Really solid game! I like the art and especially the music. I didn't have anyone to test with, but after playing around a bit I felt that the game might benefit from the players being obstacles to each other - as it is it's easy to get into a situation where players just run into each other.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

@Hempuli

You are right! I plan to add a dash/roll that puts you through people later on, but without it the game was sort of messy. Thanks for the input. <3

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46am

Well done! Very entertaining and polished!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

Love the graphics! Nice and polished game. Good job!!!

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

This is pretty cool, I really love the music and sound effects. The simplistic graphics are pretty spot on too.
One problem I had though was that the default resolution of the window is pretty big and didn't fit on my screen.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29am

Its nicely "juiced", too bad 1 player mode isnt available.
Music is kind of off setting, chiptune will be better.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31am

Okay.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

Plenty of fun! The swordplay is very organic feeling. Sort of like Foiled but without the weird walljumping. Good polish too, given the simplistic graphics.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:28am

just played this with my cousin and had a great time. Doesn't seem to be a ton of mechanical depth, but the reflex element adds a strong layer of skill, so the gameplay is still exciting and fun.
The feeling of movement and swordplay is also fantastic.
I also think it was a great idea to not show score until the very end of the match, so that the game feels suspenseful the whole way through.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03am

Too bad it's multiplayer, but still a nice entry.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33am

Very very fun! I like the way you can quickly get in and have a blast beating the shit out of your friend. Maybe it is missing some kind of handicap or something. Kinda hard to reach the other one in some of the spots

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

@Antworks

Yeah it needs a couple more mechanics to be really good. Thanks for playing. <3

Fuchter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

Very nice idea, beautiful art and catchy music.

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52am

Lots of potential here. I like how the hits feel nice, also the blocks have funny faces.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:57am

Nice! Very SuperMeatBoy like mechanics. There could be any aditional goals besides killing each other, like a bonus to catch, for longer/faster sword... or a shield...

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:51am

Good two player fun. The jams... they are good! he he

Crushenator says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Not bad.

Hermitli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Really cool! I love this art style! Graphics 5 stars!

shanageek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24pm

wow this is pretty fun! we kind of wish we played it during the Jam :p

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

this is really funny. it's like playing with emoticons xD

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Wow, the polish on this is great! The characters look and feel amazing. I don't have a P2 right now so i just owned the other character for a while and even that was fun because it works so well.

Add controller support, multiplayer and more maps and you have yourself a fun title.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Graphics are simple but look good, and controls feel great.

Wish I had someone to play with though.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17pm

@GreenyUk

It has xbox controller support. ;)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Awesome game :) love it

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I'd like to add that I played it some more with my younger sibling, and it was great fun!
Reminded me of Cobalt :)
It needs, though, a score counter up top, a title screen, and some upgrades :D That would make an awesome game.

Also, Rabbit, it would be good if you supplied the source :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01am

Actually really fun game to play. . . I have to admit that i even went so far as to keep it on my desktop :0. exellent game though :)

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

I'm still adding new features, but will not update the download link until after the judging is over. So check back then to get a better version!

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:41am

Great controls and animation!Have to play it with a friend soon!!

mechabit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51pm

hah, love those faces :)

The Jahn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Looks really fun! :O

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:40pm

i like those swords taking all directions :D

AndreasL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Awesome graphics, simple but cool gameplay. Unfortunately I have no one to play with. Wish there was a single-player mode.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Awesome game !

qristofer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Finally got a chance to try with my bro. It was fun! Solid feel and control, good shakes and slowdowns, expressive graphics. I do miss air juggling my dead adversary, and diagonal sword.

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Good call on the juggle. I will for sure add that after ludum dare is over. <3

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:35am

i was too lonely to actually play with another person BUT that didn't stop me from jumping to the music & watching all the pretty animations & admiring the subtleties in the controls

insanely polished for a jam game!!!!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:29pm

This is an awesome example of something simple executed incredibly well! I didn't have someone to play it with at the moment but the controls, graphics and combat were all top notch stuff!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:38pm

2 players ??? did you read the LD JAM recommendations ??? single player please ¬¬

rabbit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Recommendations are exactly that. Recommendations.

bitserum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Those are the two most bad-ass squares I've seen. Love the little roll in the air after sword attack. You did a great job on it and everything feels good. Fun little time waster

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:43am

This is pretty neat, it's like the sword slapping in my game but it actually works!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:43am

Yessssssss, this is genius. Simple, even stupid design but really elegant and loads of fun, involving a bunch of tactics and such as you try to outmaneuver and crossup your opponent. Reminds me of nidhogg :D

My primary suggestion to you would be to decrease the respawn timer so that there's less dead time, it would make the game much more fun. *thumbs up*

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:27am

gameplay is polished but yet too simple.
graphics are too boring and cheesy.
music is grating and repetitive.
no logic to game whatsoever.

not sure if i got them all?

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great animation -- the little details give everything a lot of character and are really impressive, especially a quickly made game.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:59pm

i was just trying to show you what it is like when a rude jerk comes and reviews your game. i was really expecting a better game from high up on your pedestal, and this probably isn't even your first game or LD. you are just jelly that my unpolished game is better than your polished turd.

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:37pm

If I say you win will you go away and be a negative nancy somewhere else?

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Also, just to clarify, this is absolutely my first LD game.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:56pm

It's a fun multiplayer game. Simple concept, lovely graphics, cool music. Also, nice way to put the time running out. I would love to play this game with a friend.

Overall, I like it :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:11am

nice graphics - controls felt good, but not sure about the selection of key - gret entry

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:50am

Thanks for your feedback too! I've patched my game with a hotfix for the issue you experienced on the second stage by adding a switch on the right side so you can no longer get into an unwinnable state for that area.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:29am

cool and nic

peeweek says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Really cool Jam entry! Graphics and audio are really cool. Not the most innovative design, but it has a really nice Game Feel!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game! One of my favorite LD entries so far.

BretHudson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:56pm

So much juice in everything you do in the game! Animations and sounds make it so satisfying to jump and kill. Really liked reading how you ended up doing everything in your TIGS post, and can't wait for the post-LD version!

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Good multiplayer arena fun.

voxel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:40pm

AI wasn't much of a challenge once you learn to predict its behaviour pattern. Music was great though. Good effort, keep trying ;)

pjchardt says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very fun. Controls felt smooth and responsive. I really liked the mid air pause when the player attacks, as well as attacks resetting only when on the ground. One pattern I saw as my friend and I played is that the matches tended to always move towards the bottom of the screen. Not sure if this was just us or may be encouraged by the attack/controls/level layout. Either way, all around solid entry!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

It is weird not knowing the score while playing, moreso when the time is about to finish and the numbers get bigger.

Graphics are nice, the animations really make it come together.

Gameplay-wise we sort of miss a different type of attack, or being able to counter the attack of the other with your own.

Overall it's a pretty good entry, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]