Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen Bacteria

by Nitrodeus - Compo Entry

You are a geneticly engineered bacteria, created by a computer program who wanted to clean (sterilize) the top of it's computer's screen. Your mission is to kill all the other bacteria. The entire game is therefore litterally on one screen :p

To achieve your mission, you can throw antibodies (press SPACE) to neutralize other bacteria, and you can send bullet proteins (press B) to kill them.
Be careful, as the enemy bacteria are able to shoot their own proteins at you, are able to repair themselves and they even can de-neutralize themselves after some time, so be quick !

Dont forget to surveil your energy reserves and membrane damage, or you may die and fail the mission...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Humor2.85
#472Mood3.00
#518Graphics3.14
#519Audio2.78
#546Innovation3.14
#740Theme3.46
#749Overall3.00
#811Fun2.82
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Pcholt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

ph@bach ~/Desktop/LD31 - Screen Bacteria $ python Intro.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "Intro.py", line 66, in <module>
ludum_dare = Intro()
File "Intro.py", line 16, in __init__
self.slides.append(pygame.image.load("intro-"+str(i)+".png").convert())
pygame.error: Unsupported image format

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Ah thanks, bug fixed.
Actually I had left the .psd Photoshop files in the folder, rather than the .png and therefore the program couldn't read the images... :p

ix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

At first I thought this was really hard, then I got the hang of neutralizing the enemies and it got kinda easy. Interesting story, though.

jojocanard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I managed to reach around 60%. I wanted to see the ending but it seems that it would take a long time to reach it and I wonder if there is one.

Fun to play. Congratulations

Lo-X says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Really good game. Except that the sounds are too loud. I did not quit before I won :) These bacteria are discusting, I don't even wanna know what are these things we throw at each other :) Good point of view about the theme too.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I will be honest, I was too lazy to install Pygame to play, sorry.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:57pm

This was an interesting, concept, im not sasd that i didnt think of it though :), but the game play would of been better if the movement was in 2d, not just 1d, the game was 2 easy, and i played through it entirely with out every knowing what the energy bar was used for. other than those minor complaints its a good game :)

leo_gri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Very fun !

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very simple, but I really liked it. I'd love to know how you got that noise background to scroll like you did, I'm trying to generate nebulae on another project. I like the look and scattering effect of the anti-bodies.

Zayron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I got to around 75% before I got greedy and died. I really like the antibodies. Not sure what the energy was for but overall this was fun. :)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Neat game and cute take on the theme, good job!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:13am

Watching the timelapse of you making the game was even more fun than playing, really like the constant tweaking and you got it to a good place! :thumbsupdude:

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Run bacteria! Run! xD

Shivur says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Very original use of the theme.

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

First things first: I _hate_ installers for LD games.
The fact that you included an executable zip, is just amazing. Thank you for that consideration.
Game crashed on close though.
Anyway, the game itself is cute and clever. Very difficult, but a good job none the less.
Thank you for all your effort :D

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Funny use of the theme. Very simple, but some neat ideas. The "blast a bunch of stuff" attack was fun and certainly not something I'd seen in other games, so good work there. A few bugs (at least I think they're bugs) make it difficult to play: all revolving around previously neutralized enemies becoming suddenly un-neutralized. This especially happened when two enemies spawn fairly close. Fighting the second one and having to back up often meant I would run into the first one which was somehow active again.

RugbugRedfern says ...
Aug 19, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Really fun game - I enjoyed playing it a lot! All I ask is it to be a bit shorter, and have less redundant gameplay. Other than that, it's awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]