Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tesseract

by Fede3751 - Compo Entry

Tesseract is a 2D platform game!

Explore every layer of the Tesseract and discover the secret which lies inside of it!

Everything in the game happens always on the same screen, you're going only deeper inside the Tesseract.
IMPORTANT:
The real reason why Tesseract is connected with this LD lies in the ending. Please consider it before judging! :)

The game features two modes: Normal and Hardcore.
The game was meant to be played in Hardcore Mode but it was changed during the development as the ending of the game is strictly connected with the theme of this LD!
The game is considered to be really hard from most of the players, prepare to get frustrated! :D

COMMANDS (Explained during the game):
-Arrow Keys: Move
-Z: Jump
-X: Hook to a wall or below a block
-Spacebar: Talk


TIPS (Come back if you get stuck!):
-The hook can be used both on walls and below blocks, think about it!
-Falling sometimes can be the best way to solve a layer of the Tesseract.
-Pay attention to those eyes, they will kill you in few seconds if they see you moving!
-If a layer looks like it's impossible, maybe it is in the way you're looking at it! Look around! :)

INFO:
-Game written in Javascript and HTML from scrap with Sublime Text.
-Exe version made possible thanks to Node-Webkit.
-Music and Sound effects created using Bosca Ceoil.
-Maps data created with Tiled.

Good luck and, if you get angry (and you will), take a break! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#345Graphics3.41
#411Mood3.09
#500Overall3.25
#535Fun3.10
#552Audio2.72
#744Innovation2.88
#754Humor2.21
#1129Theme2.74

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04am

One of the coolest games I've seen so far!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice idea but I wasn´t able to hook to any object.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

I really liked how you used the theme.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

Nice one, i like this ;)

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22am

Good looking game, and it's nicely packed! Liked the 'layered screen' concept - if it's making any sense. :)

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice pixel art

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23am

Good looking game, and it's nicely packed! Liked the 'layered screen' concept - if it's making any sense. :)

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25am

very cool game, but I think the "Everything in the game happens always on the same screen, you're going only deeper inside the Tesseract." is a load of shit.

I can't see that is fits the theme what so ever but it is a nice game though!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31am

The hook mechanic is quite fun ! Nicely done ;)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32am

The ending is what connects the game with the theme mostly! You'll understand why if you do get there! :D

Jed T. says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I love the cute graphics. It took me a while to figure out that I can hook on walls. But I'm not sure where the theme actually fits in?

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Interesting game with nice realisation but I'm not sure it fits really well to the theme. Nice work though!

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Was a bit frustrating at times but a nice game. Hooking feels a bit clunky but can get through it. Good job!

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Very nice game! I only made it to the room where you start at the very top and the door is at the bottom (the wall's like an upside down staircase). Couldn't get down there and gave up after twelve tries or so. Fun all the way to that room :)

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice game, but it easily gets boring. Please check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I like the art and that you've added the light effects! A tad hard to sometime to get "right" when jumping. Thanks for the game! Good luck and Merry Christmas!

adrianulima says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

good game, I was going well until get trapped outside the level xD

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28pm

@adrianulima could you please tell me where that happened? I tried to make the game as much as bug free possible, but it looks like I failed! :(
Thank you for your comments guys!^^

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I really liked this one. I was having issues with the hook, it was not as obvious to use; your guidance in your comments did help, but it would have been nice if the hook was a bit more fluid/intuitive in game.

vortex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Very nice game, but the controlls are really awful with a german keyborad :(. The only thing i disliked, is that it wouldn't hook on instantly, but on a timer or something

maad9 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04am

Nice game! Like mechanics(hook) and atmosphere of whole game.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42pm

difficult to hook to stuff, but i guess is just me :P

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Gameplay is a bit awkward, otherwise the game is good.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice platformer. Nice level of difficulty. Very polished.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Those wall eye are so frustrating and slightly
nightmare-fuelish XD

nov1kk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

It's a good game overall, but I felt the eye to be quite annoying, and even buggy some times (I would die at game start sometimes).
I also found the game to bee too dark, but that's just my opinion.
The hook idea is really good, and even though some times it could be frustrating, it was a nice challenge :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I'm not sure if it was my general lack of being able to platform well or what it was, but I was having some serious bugs and trouble jumping and grappling.

I also got a weird sound bug which caused the music to loop in a disturbing way. This may have been intentional. I'm not really sure. :D The idea seemed really good, I would've loved to've gotten to the end!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice game, but control is very hard.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:38am

I just modified the commands of the game to suit the request of everyone of you guys! Hope you'll find it easier to play now! ^^
@Taunia Sabanski: Yes, the music loops in a weird way, it was meant to frustrate the player while trying to go on in the game!^^
To all of you guys, thank you for your comments, I'm doing my best to fix every bug I can find these days (the bug of the eye killing you when you respawn has been fixed).
Thank you for your feedback!^^

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Good game.

gre says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Interesting mecanism.

PS: I Didn't catch the "grip on wall" at first.
You can weirdly jump in the air if you didn't jump after falling from a platform. With this bug you can pass lvl 1 and 2 without actually using the hook.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Neat game! Very polished platformer.

I really liked the jumping and grabbing mechanics. I enjoyed the levels where that was all you had to deal with the most. The grabbing the ceiling throw me until I figured out you could do that. The mechanic where you can jump after dropping was very well explained, I think the grabbing of the side and ceiling just needed similar treatment.

I hated the eye, it basically just meant you couldn't play the game for half the time. Waiting isn't hard or challenging, but it is frustrating.

I don't think this fits the theme (I did see the ending, and it seemed like the story was tacked on at the end). But that doesn't stop it from being an awesome game :).

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Hi there. Just don't have the coordination to climb the first jagged wall even in Normal mode. The physics is a bit pixel perfect/unforgiving. Nice retro look.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:59pm

The game looks cool and the idea with grabbing walls was cool but grabbing above you was a bit weird and I gave up after a couple of tries in a room where I had to stick to the ceiling too much :/ would've really liked to see the ending. Even without seeing the whole game I was impressed :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Hard as hell, even on easy mode, but definitely different. I loved the death scenes. Both the tesseract mechanic and the red light / green light of the eye made for an interesting game. Just a shame I'm not coordinated enough to play it to the end (thanks for providing the walkthrough).

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:08am

I finally beaten normal mode.
I refuse to do hardcore mode.
Argh!
What an unforgiving, existential game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]