Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Nauty Sub

by ThatsMyJam - Jam Entry

A mini Submarine exploration game made by my brother and I for the jam. Rescue divers, blow up depth charges, break rocks and kill blowfish while trying to get a high score

Controls
Space: Move
Left Mouse: Shoot
Right Mouse (Hold): Hook

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#164Graphics(Jam)4.00
#425Overall(Jam)3.29
#434Fun(Jam)3.14
#699Innovation(Jam)2.74
#804Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I like the idea of a submarine as the main character. Keep going with it. Nice game.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

It seems like a nice game. I'm stuck because the hook (right click) won't work on a web page. You might want to change that.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Love the visuals, and love the obscured level design, adds a lot of ambiance. Thanks for sharing! -CC

mahu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I enjoyed the graphic style, the mood that the game transmit fits really well with the theme, good job.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

-You should disable the Gamejolt right-clicking :|
-Lack of SFX :(
-Music! :)
-Love the mood :)
-Love the art of the sight radius contour :)
-I don't think this is a one screen game :(

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Right mouse click doesn't work in Web version :(

ajopart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I died, and I don't know why. Frustrating. But great graphics and music. You should add effects when the player touch a fish or rock, to signal that there is something happening

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Right Clicking Disabled! Thanks for the heads up

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I've enjoyed every microsecond of you're game. Keep it up

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I like the graphic style and the gameplay. Nice game overall.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Love the fog effect! Somehow I died for some misunderstood reason after reaching the end of the first area... Otherwise good job!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I really like the scribbled dark effect! Neat idea. The space to accelerate was a little difficult, especially with shoot on the mouse. Overall pretty cool.

radmars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:18pm

This game has a lot of potential. Music is great, the undersea setting with the light around the player is great too. Would love to see some more inspired enemy types as well as some audio feedback for various activities. Overall great little experience!

chrisamaphone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Neat idea, but honestly the shooting part felt really incongruous; why lean on such an overused mechanic when the mood/theme of the game doesn't really fit it? The graphics and controls are quite nice.

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Good job! love the graphics!

Nitrodeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22pm

cool game, nice job !
like the sounds

alyphen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

A very interesting way of doing "Lighting". Control mechanism was quite interesting too, but I think I would have preferred a keyboard-only option. The timer makes it fairly difficult, and it feels like there's quite a nice variety of smooth terrain and obstacles, even if there are in reality only a few.

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52pm

You should've added the humor ranking! I would've given you 5 stars just for the name!! xD Awesome game! I love it! :D

GarethIW says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I got to the end of level 1, but didn't get any time added - is that intentional? Either way, nice mood.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very cute graphics, nice job!

Shampop says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:08am

Cutecutecutecutecute :D
Graphisms are really cool, music too ! I like the ambience and the ideas. But i can't go further than level 2, i don't have enough time... Maybe i can win some, but i don't know how to. Ennemies are quite hard to kill too, but it's ok, if i had more time i could deal with it.
But game is still great !

uvwar says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:23am

I guess the hook isnt really necessary? I really liked the scribble black outline around the sub!

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Music is really good. The graphics are cute and fun. The handmade blur is a good addition but it should perhaps mix better with the overall graphics.
I enjoyed and tried many times!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:51pm

The main thing that threw me off at first (only on the first run) was the lack of indication of the player shots "hitting" things. I didn't know at first that the rocks were able to be destroyed, mostly just because they didn't react to the first couple shots.

The atmosphere and general visuals for the game were really well done however, and the impression of the submarine having light was nice.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:16am

The controls are well executed and the artwork is great. You two did an excellent job on this submission!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]