Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

snow

by Valeour - Jam Entry

A simple game about exploration and one fox's love for snow. See what you can find, and bring it back home.

Mouse controls
Click on the world where you'd like the fox to run.
Click on a ball of coal/snow to lock onto it, click somewhere else and the fox will roll it in that direction. The further the distance, the greater the push power.

Goal
Roll the lumps of coal/snow through deep snow to start collecting snow,
get all three pieces back to the starting area to win.
Extended instructions below.

A Game by:
Chance Millar, code - www.technicaldaze.co.uk
& Dickie McCarthy, Art - pixelscream.net

With sound lovingly crafted by:
Callum Tennick, sfx - callumtennick.com
& Lhasa Mencur, music - lhasamencur.wix.com/portfolio


Extended Instructions
To interact with coal, run up to it and if locked in the snow will glow,this means the fox is now aiming where to push the ball.
Click again to nudge the snowball!

Try to avoid non-snowy ground and lanterns with the snowballs, they will take snow away!

There are three collectables in the area to find which mr fox will carry with him, these would of been decorations for the end but alas it was not meant to be.

The game's a little hard to complete at the moment, press 'p' to release test snowballs if it's getting frustrating but still want to see the end of the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#141Mood(Jam)3.63
#176Audio(Jam)3.48
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#343Overall(Jam)3.39
#456Humor(Jam)2.66
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#555Fun(Jam)2.98
#996Theme(Jam)2.16

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

Very relaxing!

Ranmara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

Really loved this <3

Emkani says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

Good mood and idea, the controls were ever so slightly frustrating for me and broke the relaxing moments.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

Very nice atmosphere great job!

Flying Jester says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:38am

This is pretty cool! I wish there were more snowy areas, though.

myachin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:40am

good game! liked fox and calming gameplay

jfreax says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

Relaxing little game. I like the music and the overall mood of the game. Well done.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:46am

Lovely atmosphere! I made a thing with snow and wore a tophat, so life is good!

anokta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59am

looks elegant, really liked it! perhaps, pathfinding algorithm might do a better job though. nicely done overall! :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very cool idea, the fox died after I tried to push the snowball up the hill and I was really sad about it :(

Hopefighter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Very calming game, reminds me a lot of the games back in 2003. Sadly it is sometimes a bit hard to see how the terrain is shaped, so it is hard to predict.

Lissaring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:22pm

I really loved the concept, but the controls were a bit frustrating!

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Died? What do you mean? Fox shouldn't be able to die. :(

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Good work on the mood and graphics. Theme is lacking.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I can't seem to rate this game, strange.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Did you opt-out of all categories maybe?
Anyway, some fairly advanced mechanics in this game. That's impressive. Unfortunately the controls are quite frustrating so that made it a little less enjoyable.

Thanks.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Same here, I can't rate. It's pretty, somewhat fun, but a bit out of the theme.

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Fixed the rating issue. Hope you come back to vote! :(

Mase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I wonder if a less zoomed out view would make the game more immersive... the fox seems nicely modeled but is hard to appreciate from so far away. Also the black non-snowy ground looks unnatural.

I have trouble getting the rightmost snowball up the hill...

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28pm

It's beautiful. Like a little game of Zen.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Where's theme? I fail to see connection with one screen. Good graphics, amazing fox animation.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Fun little game, good job ;D

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Very atmospheric and nice to look at, really liked the fox and its animations. Also thanks for the "cheat". :)

Norgg says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Awesome! Really cute and relaxing, will have to give it to the kids to play around with on Android. Had to resort to a test snowball in the end because I managed to completely lose one of the lumps of coal after I foolishly melted it and sent it over a cliff, could maybe fix that by having them respawn after a while if they're left somewhere off-camera?

It took a while to get used to the locking on, but felt okay once I had.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Pretty fun game! I enjoyed the mechanics and the little secrets hidden around the environment. Good challenge and exploration, it kept me engaged. Not to mention, you did a good job at making the player's goals very clear.

The only thing I think this game could use is some indication to judge how well the player did. Something like a "Play Time" display would be nice.

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:28pm

~Norgg, they do respawn if they lose enough snow. :)
If they get lost however... then balls. Sorry!

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:28pm

@CMWeissMedia, I thought that too, but I realised the ending is kind of how well you did. It varies depending on how much snow you collected throughout.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:06pm

is is not game on one screen))))

Bloxri says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I rolled a ball around in some snow as a fox to relaxing music. 10/10

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:16pm

This game has quite some great potential!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:34pm

This was a rather nice and relaxing puzzler plus I liked the soundtrack (Also you can't go wrong with a fox wearing a top hat).

gmaker says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:13pm

web link 404

Valeour says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Thanks. Web link has been updated, but you can still try one of the downloadable versions though.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Very nice and pleasant to play. Its really nice to hear some sounds that aren't from bfxr ;) The ball moving system makes sense but perhaps could have a power indicator. But its nice that I can do everything with the mouse. The opening animation is a nice touch :)

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice game. Great atmosphere, and the mechanics were really nice. The only real suggestion I have is proper pathfinding for the fox. It did get pretty annoying having to manually maneuver around cliffs that I couldn't even see.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The game is design is pretty good. It's different.

goro says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Failed to download data file

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Great graphics and music, but goal is not clear. Anyway, everything looks lovely.

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice mood, trying to push a snowball out of the hole was a challenge worth of a greek myth :)

Code White says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Cute game and quite an original idea. I'm keeping the Android version, well done ;)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Loved the audio it gave the game a very soothing mood. At times i found it difficult to determine if the area i am walking on something elevated. overall it was very lovely to experience this entry :D. good job

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Such a cute fox game! I Included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/onSxxkN9CmE

Dunric says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nah, didn't really like it. Good effort, though. Don't give up. :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Really nice graphics and audio. The controls felt a little frustrating at times, like having to maneuver around trees, but the snowball pushing was nicely done.

belstras says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Cute fox and nice environment. The music was very ambiental and relaxing. Feels like a solid game-

jasonLJ says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

I wanted to hug that fox so hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]