Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Silk

by hoqjed - Jam Entry

Created by Farhan Qureshi and Dylan Gallardo. The web version is highly recommended.

Controls
--------
+ Left-click to select and place rocks

+ (If in web browser) Press F11 for more window space. You might have to click outside the game screen to make this work.
+ Hover your mouse in the top right corner of the screen to reveal the game menu.

An atmospheric puzzle game where you move rocks around. These are special rocks though, and they have special properties. Try to put all of them into the sandbox to complete each puzzle. Don't let their simplicity fool you.


*NOTE* MAC and LINUX versions are untested.


Sounds Found from freesound.org
-------------------------------
http://www.freesound.org/people/klankbeeld/sounds/176587
http://www.freesound.org/people/monterey2000/sounds/2234
http://www.freesound.org/people/jorickhoofd/sounds/169546
http://www.freesound.org/people/mikobuntu/sounds/127652
http://www.freesound.org/people/Littleboot/sounds/196712

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#9Mood(Jam)4.28
#63Overall(Jam)3.91
#100Innovation(Jam)3.80
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#149Fun(Jam)3.57
#341Graphics(Jam)3.62
#432Theme(Jam)3.62

Comments

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:59am

What a great game! I loved the effect of the rocks coming through the sand. Also the game itself is clever. Well done!

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05am

I love it. It's just great. The atmosphere is nice, everything about it is just peaceful, levels are intuitive and interesting, and were never frustrating, which only reinforced the peace. Thumbs up. Like, billions of them.

Pierce_Z says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13am

Really neat idea, I beat the whole game! Relaxing too.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Peaceful game. First levels were quite challenging but since level 5, challenge disappeared when the sandbox became larger for not enough pieces to play. Concept was simple but maybe it miss a good use of it.

semdog says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

This managed to calm me down after 72 hours of stress. Really soothing. Thank you. <3

Rose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42am

This was a fun and unique puzzle! I appreciate not having instructions but I was a little confused on the first level with both black and white tiles. It might help to introduce white in a level by itself so that its properties are revealed.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

Nice game! It was very atmospheric and calm :)

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

Great game! It felt really calming to play and the audio and visuals matched perfectly. The difficulty didn't increase much over the levels, though I don't think that's a bad thing.

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Wonderful experience. You always have phenomenal atmosphere! I couldn't get past the second to last level, yet I wasn't frustrated - very relaxing play playthrough.

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice puzzle game.

StackAttack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice and relaxing puzzle game. I really enjoyed playing it. I found it a little hard to understand what was happening the first time I played and I lost all my stones off the edge of the display. On the 2nd go, I figured out what to do and completed all the levels. The levels were interesting, but didn't seem to increase much in difficulty as you progressed.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice concept! The audio is really cool, and the graphics and fun: *o*!

Hob623 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

What a wonderful game! Puzzles are quite easy but that only reinforces the peaceful mood and the feeling of play. It never feels like it is scolding you or even really teaching you, just pushing you in the right direction thanks to intuitive and easily understood mechanics and puzzles. Very nice!

hbocao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I'm just gonna say this: let me know when it come out on mobile. Really. Awesome job.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

Awesome job!

My puny brain couldn't beat the second last level.

Everything was so good!!

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice Atmosphere, perfect for a coffee break!
Sounds are nice too

fancypants says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Great game, very innovative.

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:01am

Amazing puzzle game, did manage to beat it after ages... amazing mood and very relaxed!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:40pm

-Took a few levels to fully understand the logic, but when I got it, everything went smoothly :)

Zarkith says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:35am

The mechanics were as simple and elegant as the sand garden theme. Well done!

I felt like the first all-white pebble level would have been better placed one level earlier, otherwise the difficulty ramped up perfectly.

The whole game was pretty slow to control though. I know it's supposed to be zen and all, but when art gets in the way of fun it irks me a bit.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Very soothing with a nice atmosphere. Nice job!

Jacic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:24am

Nice puzzle game. It got quite difficult at the end. :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:39am

I BEAT IT!!

I really enjoyed playing this. Really good experience, required a lot of thinking towards the end, (especially the puzzles with asymmetric solutions, like the last one and third-from-the-last) and extremely relaxing. You also did a good job of letting us figure out the sandbox's rules ourselves. Thank you for the great game. I could have played this for hours.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:31am

Fun. Very peaceful. Great sound effects, and relaxing puzzles. I do wish some of the puzzles had been a bit harder, but then maybe I'd have become frustrated, which may have ruined the experience. Well done

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:14pm

I really liked the music, it creates a nice atmosphere.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:32am

I loved this; it was the kind of spacial-perception puzzle I enjoy. The subtle movement in the backgrounds was noticeable yet never annoying or distracting. This is one of my favorite games so far this LD.

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:29am

This was a satisfying experience. I loved how he game space took up the whole screen and even the menu was integrated. The mechanics were also very intuitive.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Very intersting puzzle game, nice animations

Canyon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I think a few puzzles in the middle could have been cut, as they were repeating the same notion. But going through the categories, I gave you 5 Stars all round.

Darthone says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Really relaxing and fun game to play through!

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Well done ! It has its esoteric mood to it. It looks pure and simple.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:46am

Love it! great mood, solid mechanics and quite challenging game. Great job!

Chris M says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 8:16am

Much to love here, most pertinent is how perfectly the elegance of the theme fits the puzzle mechanics you have created. The slow transitions and long meditative sound effects set a pace conducive to contemplating the relationships between these stones. Usually with LD submissions I'm rushing to get through all the content as quickly as possible, but you managed to slow and engage me right up to the last puzzle.

The ramp in difficulty works very well, although I felt around levels 3-5 (or thereabouts) more confused than I perhaps should have been around the difference between the stones. If this is an issue other players have experienced, it might be worth looking into unconventional (i.e. asymmetrical) board designs to better teach the particulars of each stone.

The last three levels I though especially well designed, concerned as they were with one core peculiarity that arises from the interaction of the stones. The first of the three I was stumped on for a good few minutes, aimlessly moving the stones around until an idea well into my lap. The next two, literally expanding the idea as they did, could be progressed through very easily, giving me the feeling that I'd actually learned something. It is the most powerful experience puzzle games can offer, and you really nail it here.

Few small things that I'm sure is already on your backlog for the next version- a reset button and better handling of invalid stones (either move them to a position closer to the board, or highlight their invalidation somehow).

As many others have said here this merits in a full release, and I'd personally love to see where you go with the concept.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:48am

Short and sweet! It's hard to design good puzzles; I admit some of yours were't very compelling and I bet this would have been wonderful with one extra bead type of some sort but it was great for LD.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Some minor convenience additions. Reset button. When hovering over a space maybe have some "ghost lines" and indicator showing if any rocks will be removed.
GREAT JOB!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:27am

I loved it, I kept playing until the end, time goes by real fast, the concept is pleasant and the levels are not too hard, which fit nicely the whole zen vibe. I like the visuals and the sand effect. Great job !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]