Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

I wanna be that pixel!

by Animefrikis - Jam Entry

Life inside a screen can be a rush too, and our little electron hero must dash its way to glory!

Controls:

Use AWSD, QZSD, or Arrow keys to change the direction in which our hero is moving. Once moving, it will keep going until you switch direction again.

Use the U key to absorb the energy around you.

Use J key to shoot a bullet from your gathered energy and kill the baddies.

And finally... rush through the circuits the golden chip before time runs out. Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#419Audio(Jam)2.93
#486Humor(Jam)2.62
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#569Overall(Jam)3.13
#735Graphics(Jam)2.75
#745Mood(Jam)2.69
#773Innovation(Jam)2.59
#978Theme(Jam)2.41

Comments

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

This is alright, but could be much more. Might be a little fast for not having much control over your character, and would have preferred to be able to aim my shots or have them auto home in on enemies. The data pads feel unnecessary as it's just more to hurt you and hinder your progress. Needs more in the way of rewarding the player. Considering this is a game about being an electron in a screen, why not play with the concept of Red, Green, and Blue additive colors (or more commonly referred to as RGB)? Right now it's a standard maze affair, and doesn't play with its theme enough.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fun idea. The time limit really makes the idea work well. Really hard though

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I like how you accompanied otherwise simple gameplay with an adorable theme.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very simple game. It needs something more to make it interesting and unique.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:28pm

solid gameplay, simple but fun

FlashRocks says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice idea, but could have been polished better in my opinion :) Very cute, though.

Awesome use of the theme :D

Skipi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Pretty nice, although you throw a bunch of new tiles in on level three without explaining them.

I also had to stop because I got stuck between some of the leftover pieces with no means to push them away. :/

It also kind of felt like shooting protons was meaningless, unless they blocked a 1 tile thick passage. I found it too easy to navigate around protons.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:10am

Nice and interesting concept, but I've never had this much trouble with protons in my life... Why nobody in my physics class told me?!

Anyway, I enjoyed it even though I pretty much failed as an electron.

StrayCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:23am

Thank you for your feedback everyone!

I'm superhappy with the final result of my game, as this is the first LD that it feels like a finished game!

About level dessign... the truth is that it was an hour before submit time, I had like 5 maps, the mechanics, and just crossed fingers and started throwing actors here and there, hopping that the result was playable XD

So yus, the one thing to add to the future of this game is a lot of playtesting, and better level dessign. I'm glad that you liked the concept :)

Demy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:34am

Wow, i love this, cool idea with controls, nice music and cute graphics.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:03am

I'm a fan of vvvvvv so I was into this. Fun times.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:05am

This is as hard as an "I wanna" game! No wonder the title starts with "I wanna"...

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:06am

Good idea, Very nice for your first LD.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice idea. and nice new elements that made me wanna continue playing the game one of the best I have played so far. ++++

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice audio.
Fairly simple game though.
Well done.

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:16am

wow i loved the entire game. i loved the gameplay.the characters and enemies are simple ans awsum

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Angry balls! xD

Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Cute game! I Included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3EfYtGD2H88

Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Nice game and nice music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]