Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BBQ DAD

by Luke Molnar - Jam Entry

You are a DAD at a BBQ and the orders are coming in thick and fast. Better hurry up cause the gas is running out! Have you got what it takes to be DAD of the year!

Hi everyone, and thanks for checking out my Ludum Dare game. This was a one man team effort and I would have posted it under the comp but I ran late by a few hours. That's ok, it was a ton of fun. I hope you guys get a giggle from this game. Please let me know what you think, feel free to be a bit harsh (But not mean).

Twitter: @LexGear / @RustboxGames

Website: www.rustboxgames.com

POST YOUR HIGH SCORES IN THE COMMENTS BELOW!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#19Audio(Jam)4.16
#20Humor(Jam)4.11
#88Fun(Jam)3.75
#191Overall(Jam)3.63
#234Mood(Jam)3.43
#352Graphics(Jam)3.59
#422Innovation(Jam)3.16
#478Theme(Jam)3.58

Comments

Catwheel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54am

157 was my points! Pretty fun!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55am

I very much enjoyed this!

I liked the audio, had me laughing a few times. Especially the "no problem son".

Good speed. Challenging enough. I could see this expanded if you wanted into other cooking type things. Or maybe other dad jobs.

I got 172!

icedvariables says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26am

The voice acting is very entertaining!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Easy and fun! :) like that!

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Fun! I loved the voice acting! :)

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:57pm

THe voice really add something!
Well made game ^^.

DealWithIt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

HERE YOU GO!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great game, super tough as well. The voice acting is fantastic, and contrasts well with the difficulty of the game. It can be tough to gauge how cooked something is, but that's a minor issue. It'd be cool if you could just click and drag to throw the food into the tickets too.

SojaBird says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Hahah the audio!! Omg the audio is amazing!
You've got to have had a great time recording that.

The idea is super nice and sweet. Though it's sometimes hard to see what's rare and medium and such :D

Great entry.

My points: 152

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

153! I know I can do better than that!

Great game, simple but challenging. The audio was fantastic. Altogether extremely well crafted.

Recon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Very, very good audio, but isn't it little off-theme?

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Pretty fun, very challenging! I had a few laughs. Well done!

Anti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Great game! Really enjoyed this one. It's just fantastic!

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

159! Pretty fun, there's been a lot of different games on this take but yours is brutally true to life AND funny :) Great voice overs :) I can imagine this *is* a real life dilemma faced by mane BBQ dads!!!

yodamaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Very funny! Just make sure that when the game is over, you don't accidently start another one - include a little delay. I couldn't see my score at all.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Fantastic game, I really love you're art style. Keep it up!

BTW: About my game to run it you MUST allow to run apps download from everywhere to do that: Go to Settings -> Security&Privacy -> Allow Apps Downloaded From: Anywhere

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Weird that did the trick for me. I'm also on 10.10. Dammit apple security!

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Hilarious! Loved it, the voices made it 10x better :)

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Nice voice and handwriting tips!

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really really like it! :D Great one, so simple yet so fun. <3

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

96 because I was laughing all the time. Nice game!!! Love the voice!!!!

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

'Ew, wat da hellz dis?!' Love it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40am

I like it! I found it a bit hard to know when the food is done, but the audio is pretty funny!

davient says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

Loved the Voice Acting! "Thank you for the... Ew what the hell is this" Hahaha

--
Lex - You dont have a LD profile, I want to ask you for more details on the Unity Errors you found on "Oi! Menu!?" tweet me @drdavient

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05am

235! *flex* Well done man fun and simple and the voice overs are hilarious. :)

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

i think i overcooked everything. :P
it was fun though and i love the voice acting!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16am

Love the audio! Really addictive game, I keep going back to it. Just got 222 points :D

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

That's all it takes to be a super dad, huh?

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Does anyone really feel like some bacon now?

Lokiman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I'm no good in real life BBQ, but doing it in the game was fun as hell :D
Extra points for pro voice acting!

Too bad you didn't make it in time for compo but we all can play and enjoy the virtual BBQ anyway so it doesn't matter, right? :D

Igor KinGamer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

274 YEAH, dad of the year! hahaha
Very nice :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

HOW MANY CHILDREN DOES THIS GUY HAVE??

Shampop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:56am

276, I'm the Dad of the year :D

It was fun, and the voice are great

Kitch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

That was alot of fun.... got stuck in the 200 point range, as it appears I raised a bunch of steak snobs. :)
Thanks! Good Job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

Best score: 184

I'm rating a little on the low end for innovation since I've played a number of games like this before, but you blew everything else out of the water! Slick art style, hilarious voice acting, and...a tutorial?! Really impressive how nice and polished everything is for an almost-compo entry. :D

These kids must think steak grows on trees

jackrugile says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59am

Loved this game, the voice acting made it for me. Hilarious! Well done!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:37am

The voice acting game this game gives it a lot of character, nice entry!

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:06am

this was fun. The voice acting was hilarious. little hard to tell how done the steaks are though. Other than that, good work!

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23am

Neat game, enjoyed playing it. the voice is a nice addition also :)

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I enjoy it.The gameplay is simple, but the audio is perfect

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:15pm

GREAT!!!

Very funny voices and great graphics!
The only thing that bothered me was that it was hard to tell how well the steak was done.

Great job!!! :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Simply superb. A game about bacon, and other meats. It's a shame that I have zero cooking talent in real life, but at least I managed to keep my virtual family happy.

Lots of fun - I enjoyed it.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Hi there. Fun idea. Like the voices. Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

My wife did a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/eyIgjesH2cg

Luke Molnar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Wow, I didn't expected to get so much positive feedback! I thought, maybe 3 people would play my game. Thank you SO much, I'm so happy I made all of you laugh. "Badlydrawnrod", thank you and your wife for creating that video review, it's really really good. Thanks everyone!

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:21pm

This is intense. Also, I shouldn't have played this while hungry, hehe. The graphics are quite good, and the audio is just fantastic. I guess the idea has been done before many times, but the execution was awesome! Had lots of fun! Certainly a must-play from this LD =)
Scored 338 points! I'm a M-M-M-MASTER!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:13am

Fun game! Its tough to figure out when the different meats are ready since they have different colors and times for perfectness, but it's a learning process. The voice acting was awesome, it really gave the game character.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:32am

I am super Dad!

this is super awesome! voice acting is good and sounds fits. I wish I had the ability to throw burned food out.
btw how many sons does this dad has :P?

one of the few LD entries that I play multiple times. and I still wanna play more

qristofer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Brilliant! Always wondered what it'd be like flipping. Fun game.

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Now I want a buuuuurger patty. How many kids does this guy have, haha. At first I was overwhelmed, which I think is a good thing, because the theme is supposed to show how stressful it is to be the bbq dad, right? Then I learned about how i can usually have at least 1 steak going even when no orders, because they will want it eventually. Bacon cooks really fast! Sausages and burgers cook pretty fast too, and I like how they are simplified versions of the main mechanic, because it might be too much if I had to learn to tell shades of burgers and shades of bacon, etc. So I like how those 3 are for the most part about getting it done fast enough, and then the steak is where its all about getting the shade right, which itself is a cool mechanic. I love color based mechanics in games. I got 208 high score! I can see this being an addictive game if there were something more to it than just getting a high score, then some sort of way to upgrade your grill, or spatula, or get meat thermometers, lol. And chef hats...

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:05am

Haha, very funny game. I really like the audio!

It would be nice if you could throw out burned or wrongly-chosen food.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:06am

151 points...Not bad for someone who knows nothing about cooking on a grill lol! Very nice game! Kinda reminds me of a simple version of diner dash

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:03am

Fun entry with great audio, couldn't help but laugh at some of the dialogue.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:57pm

198! I'm super average... so sad. I guess I've got to pre-emptively cook stuff to get the high scores... that sounds like a very irresponsible dad to me!

Very fun game and, like everyone else has said, amazing voicework. One of my favourites so far!

I want a BUUURGER PADDY!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:03am

Nice idea, but better visual feedback could be cool. Also, sad we cannot turn de meat.
I made 64 :) (not a lot...)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:10am

loved this game - made me feel right at home - awesome

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:26am

I love the voice acting, although there's so much going on at once that the words get a bit lost.

Hilarious game concept, and well-executed too.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Was a bit hard at first (I am so horrible at cooking steak XD) but then once I got the hang of it, it became more progressively fun (Managed to get a high score of 258) plus the voice acting was hilarious.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I love games about food. Well done. I Included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3EfYtGD2H88

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]