Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Desk Top!

by Ossi - Compo Entry

It's time to clean up your Desk Top! In this game you select and control Desk Top! Icons on their way to the Recycle Bin. Watch out for obstacles as you try and get the highest possible score and survive with the highest possible amount of health!

Controls:
Mouse to select and click to take control of an Icon.
WASD or Arrow Keys to move Icon once selected.

Highest Possible Score: 26
Highest Possible Health Accumulated: 97

Can you survive to the end before all your health runs out?!

Developer Note:

Woo! I managed to get this done way ahead of the deadline and I spent the last 3 hours just polishing up the levels and adding little animations and particle effects to give the Icon's more personality.

I really learned a lot from this and I'm actually pretty surprised at how quickly I got it done. Breaking the gameplay mechanics into small chunks really helped me avoid the feature creep issues I've had before. Spending less time on the art in the beginning and then updating it later also saved a lot of time! First fully completed game jam entry I've ever done in 48 hours!

This is also my first time making my own music too ( I've made sound effects before only ) and I like how it turned out. What better way to start the new Ludum Dare site revamp than with this entry. Really proud of this one, hope the rest of you enjoy! Thanks for playing!

Tools Used:
Unity w/Monodevelop (Engine, IDE (C#) )
Pickle (Art Software (Sprites, Backgrounds) )
BoscaCeoil (Music Software (Music, Sound Effects) )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Humor3.90
#173Theme3.98
#193Fun3.52
#231Audio3.26
#240Overall3.53
#305Mood3.23
#365Innovation3.39
#456Graphics3.24

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22am

This is a very meta game. It's sorta like after the Ludum Dare when you have to delete 50 downloaded games off your desktop / out of your download folder. A lot of the icons were pretty funny references and all in all a solid entry.

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:24am

I like the music the most :)

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25am

it's was funny :3
just as doitle says it's look like after the LD and it's make it more fun.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26am

Favorite so far! Fun graphics, nice physics, and solid game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27am

Pretty cool! great concept. very polished

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47am

Amusing, fun game. However, I felt that I was repeating the same challenges multiple times, but with different characters that all functioned in the same way. Having some sort of interaction between icons would have been very effective.

Bogden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00am

This is a hilarious game. Great little icons. Music is fun. Gameplay is a bit wonky though. The collision detection seems to be a big square around the icons.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very funny and efficient game! I really like the pysic of icons. Nice music and nice retro graphics. Adding a "time attack" mode or something like that would have made this game perfect! Nice job!

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Love the puns! Bonus points for that!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice idea and graphics!
Audio is fun, reminds me my childhood and my sega md2 ;)
But I had an issue, when I missed a trashcan icon stuck in a lower right corner

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This is really clever idea. Fun!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

This game rules. I love the controls, music, and sound. Graphics are cute.

A++

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Sooooo slipperyyyyyyy! I suppose that was what you were going for, though, heh. I appreciated that it took place on one 'screen'. I'm not really one for the action-games-you-need-to-practice-a-lot, but this seems good enough for what it is.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Very funny game!! Love the idea and the execution!! Also very difficult sometimes...

bushmango says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06am

Thanks for rating my game, Four Seasons!

I really loved this, especially the graphics and the little puns. I felt bad throwing away Ludum Dare 31 though! Loved it.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very fun game !

The elasticity and the bounce against the wall are both challenging and very satisfying to use.
The animation, music and text work really well together too :)

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:22am

Excellent game! I loved the recycle bin theme, and the name puns were awesome :P I loved the art of the icons, but the red blocks could've used some more polishing though. The movement is really good. One of the best so far, congrats :)

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:13am

Health 61/coins 26.
Seriously, loved this. Amazing music for your first time.
Really had fun with this, the tutorialization with the icon names was brilliant, and that last icon haha perfect. Great entry :D

madmaw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23am

Nice music and mood. I kept playing for the app names

baseteam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36am

nice concept!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I wish that would be standard mechanics for Windows - cleaning desk will be much more fun!

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:07am

Nice and fun, good idea

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:18am

Clever use of the theme! As far as gameplay is concerned, I think adding in safe blocks you could bounce off and a time attack mode would be a nice improvement, so players have an incentive to bounce their icons off stuff to keep their speed up, rather than just taking it slow. Also, some of the icons have hard to figure out hitboxes. Perhaps adding a highlight on the selected file could help with that!

Nice work with the music too!

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:58am

Clever and funny idea for a game. I enjoyed it.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Basic game.

grid96 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:55pm

So awesome :D Great idea, looks cool and makes lots of fun playing it.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Hi there. Like the graphics and tutorial approach. Did about 8 levels. Love the twangy/slappy bass and the gentle round sounds from the icons. Good job!

Diamonde says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I laughed alot playing this little game. The Browser McCloud icon was my favourite^^ Only thing I would want to see is a time-trial or something similar and perhaps get higher score based on time and life points left.
Overall a very enjoyable entry! Thanks.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Grappling with the intentionally floaty controls was really fun. It would be cool to have a timer, so players can't just inch along really slowly through the levels. Nice work!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:06am

Goddamn lovely! I've been play this game about 1 hour!)))
I like this clipboard style

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:12am

fun little game. Pretty funny too! Great play on the theme. Music was good, but got a little repetitive after a while. Graphics are cool too, feels like an old windows 1.0 desktop. Great effort overall.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:24am

Cute! Maybe a time-based challenge or some variation in the gameplay would make it even more fun.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Love the style, very polished. I also appreciate the level of meta that's going on here. A game on a screen on a screen about deleting LD games...

One very minor nitpick I have is that the hitbox of the icons is always a fixed square, even if the icons themselves aren't. This didn't really become obvious until the C-- Nerd Cred icon, but it made things a bit harder. One easy fix would be to highlight the hitbox when you click on an icon, like when you click on icons on your real desktop. Just an idea :P

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Great entry! Seems like there's also a lot of room for extension, the gameplay obviously calls for moving obstacles next. :)

jthistle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great particle effects and I liked the bouncing mechanic and take on theme :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This was a cute idea, good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:03am

The game is VERY generous with the lives; even on very horrible runs on my part I could finish them. If it had fewer lives, it would have been a very interesting test in patience. Also, as other people have mentioned before, a time attack mode would have been perfect for this game.

On the plus side: controls are slippery in a good way (enough to lose control if you're not careful), the music is spot on and the icons are quite fun. Good job! ^^

Off-topic for everyone: You should try syncing your movements with the music and the Mood gets a 6/5 :D

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:39am

Would have liked more mechanics, just the bouncing and "red zones" got a little repetitive after several levels.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice concept, which fits very well with the theme!
The icon names are pretty funny hahaha xD Also, I liked the music and your pixelart graphics. Maybe a bitmap font would fit better with the graphics ^^ And the best is the snowman at the end!! ☃

* Congrats for your first fully completed game jam entry. I did it on my third attempt.

nesis says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:52am

The theme and the puns were well-handled. I also liked the way you made the filenames a kind of tutorial. Good first attempt at making music! The one thing I'd suggest is normalising the volume by checking how loud it is compared to other applications. (A small issue, really.)

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:15pm

This was fun, and a great idea! The hitboxes seemed to be a bit too big.

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I wish I could clean my own desktop like that! Sadly, the graphics are not as strong as the idea.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Funny little game! I Included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3EfYtGD2H88

belstras says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

Funny referencing to apps and games. Graphics reminded me of 90's desktop and the music enhances the game really nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]