Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Meaty Tears

by Zwergesel - Compo Entry

You are trapped in an android training facility that requires you to press a series of buttons in a specific order. The next button to press always lights up bright red. Push them all and you are free. But with every button press, more deadly traps appear. Can you beat the course? And how fast will you be?

Inspired by Super Meat Boy (duh!). In the end it became much more of a clone than intended, but I didn't have time to include the additional features that I originally wanted the game to have.

The game is very basic, but at least I finished it before the submission deadline.

Controls: Arrow keys or WASD to move and jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#249Audio3.22
#355Fun3.31
#355Overall3.40
#469Theme3.66
#685Mood2.80
#816Graphics2.69
#871Innovation2.66

Comments

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

I love the music! <3 Dang that upper left red button on the left wall is really hard to get to... I liked the idea of having new traps installed every time. Nice. Overall, nice job.

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

I liked the music, and the controls are nice and responsive.

The difficulty is frustrating, however. There doesn't seem to be a lot of rhyme or reason to the level design.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Fun idea to keep modifying the level like this. Felt like a boss level or something.

dokidoki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10am

I found this really hard (just as I found SMB really hard), but it's well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11am

This is pretty rad! I love how the level evolves as you go!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08am

A little tough to control, but love the idea.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Tricky! Very tricky lol :)

Good game, good fun, great music :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Love the controls! So Super MeatBoy style! :)
Theme is well implemented. A one-room game with changing obstacles. Good work!

GentlyPub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Great game! :) Very tricky but cool.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:45pm

A well realised game with tricky level design. A little too much SMB inspired in my opinion : try to make your own character next time! Good work though ^^

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:31pm

At the very beginning it felt like an unfinished prototype, but once I clicked the first button... Then the magic began :D

Nice SMB-inspired entry. A little more visual feedback and a little tweak to the "physics" could help, but overall I think you did a nice job :D Keep on developing!

Sos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Oh man, so har! I lveo the idea of ridiculous amounts of traps appearing as you progress!

zompi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Tears... Good title. It become too difficult for me at some point xD But really cool idea with appearing traps. They are very cleverly placed.

Boracho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

I love the feel of the controls. Meaty indeed!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

OK, I got 4, now I give up. The game is definitely hard but it doesn't seem unfair. I really like that you respawn at the last button you pressed-- adds some interest to the gameplay. The wall jumping is floaty and hard to get used to but I like the character's quick movement speed because it makes the hundreds of character deaths seem less cumbersome, LOL. Great concept.

pkenney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Cool - I played this longer than I expected to! I'll confess I didn't finish, though... I switched hands because I got cramped up and then eventually gave up when I had to sneak through the triple tiny saw blades.

You made me feel satisfied when I did get past one by making it so hard!

You also did a good job with the tight platformer controls, which of course is critical in a game like this. The new dangers were unexpected and cool. Particularly nice on corners, and the slight sliding on slopes.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00am

The first thing I thought after starting to play was 'Yaaaay, Super Meat Boy!' Really like the physics, and most of all the wall-jump, I feel it's really good implemented. Nice little game :)

Logun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice ! I stayed more than 15min raging on all this lasers and saws ! :D Nice level design evolutions i liked to discover every time the new trap !

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:07pm

A little bit too hard, but pretty fun

kalugny says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I like that the game uses the same level but ups the challenge.
That top left button though was just to hard to reach (and w/ the laser - impossible)

stipple says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice game. Very challenging and balanced.

edve98 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice game, but it's wayyy too hard for me, I tried my best, but I couldn't finish it :c

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Hi there. Couldn't work out how to continue after getting lowest left two buttons... got stuck, no obvious way out.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:11pm

10 mins! is that a good score?

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:46am

Love a good platformer, well done.

Dunric says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Very nice! It was much harder than it looked!

MaesK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game, but the button over the laser is quite hard to be the third or fourth one. SMB inspiration is quite clear, and that's good. Great work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]