Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Amiss

by srakowski - Compo Entry

Amiss is a roguelike survival game. You must enter 9 digit number into a 'computer' screen every 3 minutes in order to prevent the end of the world. If you don't put the numbers every 3 minutes the world (and game) end. In the meantime, you have to keep yourself alive by finding and cooking pig meat, and staying hydrated. Every action and inaction has a cost to your calorie and hydration. You have to weigh staying inside waiting for pig to cook with going and looking for water. You will eventually lose the game. The goal is to survive as long as you possibly can. The maps are randomly generated so you will never have the same experience twice.

There are a lot of things you can do that are totally pointless.. like mining out a stone. It may be useful to dig out out for a shorter path to water or a route you are exploring, but what you get from it doesn't really do anything. I ran out of time before I could find uses for these things. If you make it to a point you are well hydrated and fed... well... there isn't much else to the game. I had all sorts of plans for it during the compo so I think I might take the idea and flesh it out later. Hopefully a few of you catch the small non-functional easter egg that was the inspiration for this game.

I used MonoGame and made a straight Windows build. Hopefully it will work for everyone. HAVE FUN!

**** IF WINDOWS DOESNT LET YOU RUN IT ***
Right-Click on the EXE, select properties, and click 'UNBLOCK'.

*** IF IT DOESN'T RUN IN WINDOWS ***
You may need to install directx 9... not sure why things dont get bundled. Try installing here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#157Mood3.46
#198Overall3.60
#318Fun3.35
#389Humor2.74
#428Innovation3.29
#446Graphics3.26
#682Audio2.49
#1005Theme3.13

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:21am

That's a really good game for 48 hours. I don't get why you should enter numbers into a computer every 3 minutes to prevent the end of the world thought.

Graphics are awesome. Controls too. It's well polished.
But the game isn't really fun after a while: entering numbers and cooking meat without a finish, it gets old.

Sounds would've been nice.
And one thing: I accidently pressed escape when I was far in the game :(

srakowski says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Thank you for the review! I started the game off with a play on the TV show Lost. In the second season a guy had to enter numbers into the computer to prevent a catastrophic eventuality... I wanted to add soo much more but time constraints

RedPanda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:25pm

I love ASCII art Roguelikes! This is amazing! :D

MrMordem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Really awesome for 48 hours, great game

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05am

I liked the game. Though I got lost and couldn't find my way back into my house to cook the meat and enter the code.

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

The ASCII Art is a lot better than I initially thought on download. I like the aesthetic and takes on the gameplay. Very well polished!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

An interesting premise, I liked always returning to my hut to type those numbers in. Unfortunately I pressed the esc button when the terminal asked me to exit and found it frustrating to start over.

stjahns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

Mmm bacon! It was scary going out looking for stuff when I had to figure out how to get back in time, made things nice and tense, thought the world could blow up any minute! Once I had lots of meat and water I couldn't figure out if there was anything else to find or do, so I just hunted as many pigs as possible and accepted the inevitable apocalypse. Keep working on it, has lots of potential!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

Very cool atmosphere with the graphics and the darkness and the sound effects. Would be cool to hear what sort of music you'd put over it, if any.

angela says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Loved this! It reminded me a little of the Ultima Online game, and little bit of the LOST tv series. Scored this high on innovation and fun. Having the secondary goal of punching in the numbers made it really fun and challenging, and the suicide button was a nice touch.

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

the idea reminds me of the tv show "LOST".
really cool idea, and fun game.

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04pm

4 8 15 16 23 42

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21am

At first, I didn't think it fit the theme, but then I realized - the whole game depends on you entering numbers into the computer screen. I assume this was intentional and I'm just dense.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:26am

This game is really impressive for a 48 hour game. I forgot the numbers and didn't write them down. Then I lost -- I guess you warned me. :P

ajopart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31am

Great entry and idea !

nokusu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Really cool, i like how this game has a lighting effect around the character even though it's in ASCII, and the LOST thing where you punch in the numbers is pretty neat ^^

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I like the concept but I think that the player moves a bit odd. It was hard to walk from one tile to another.

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:52am

Very nice game. This is one I'm going to keep on my desktop and play again at some point. Know of any similar full-length games?

It looks like a roguelike but plays like an adventure or minecraft style game. If minecraft was inspired by dwarf fortress, this game sort of asks: what if it was the other way around?

I never actually found water my first game, but I enjoyed looking quite a bit. Really like the sound of mining stone. The sound on the computer seemed too loud, though.

Also, on the computer, I felt like I was entering numbers faster than it could register which was a minor frustration.

The intro text/tutorial was good.

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:25am

Dude, did you wanna give me a heart attack?! The first i here is this extremly lound pling... But i like your asci-style, has a very nice look, especially with the lighting.

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:29am

Neat concept. Could be something pretty cool if it were fleshed out more/finished.

srakowski says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:31am

I was worried that I should add a seizure or heart attack warning! But once the world ends once it keeps you on your toes for another round :)

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:11am

Nicely done. I like your ASCII art style and color choices. I would like it a bit more if the amount of key presses to get things done were decreased by a factor of 10 or so. Also a usability nitpick: the intro does mention the 'm' key, but by the time I get to the point where I need that key, I've forgotten all about it. Nothing in my mind connects "user menu" with "eat food". If the UI reminded me that the 'm' key did something, that would have been less confusing for me.

srakowski says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:31am

Thanks for the feedback. I meant for the user menu to do so much more... but ran out of time. I am going to try and flesh this idea out aside from the Ludum Dare. I will keep this in mind.

rvmook says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:48am

Graphics are nice controls could be a bit better, didn't I was struggling with the option menus. Wanting to press numbers in the menu and exatantely pressed escape to close it once, but maybe I'm just to stupid to understand. The game was cool, fun to explore and gather resources. Inputting numbers in the screen didn't make a lot of sense story wise, but added some pressure so that was cool.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:21am

Really freaking great game. I really like the idea of a minecraft type survival game done with ASCII graphics. Great work.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I really enjoy survival games... you should work on a post-compo version to add more of the game mechanics you thought about. The idea is interesting and the style fits well.

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I love this game! you should work on a post-compo version for improve some details

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]