Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pin Cushion

by Empyrealhell - Compo Entry

Pin cushion is a discovery platformer (a metroidvania without the "vania" part), where instead of exploring a vast open world, you have to figure out how the world around you changes in reaction to your movements. To keep within the theme, there are several points on the map where the whole room shifts, with parts of the foreground sliding away into the background, and parts of the background coming forward to make new platforms or obstacles.

I ran into some physics problems during the first day, so I ended up losing about four hours to that. As a result, the map isn't finished, there is no sound or music, and the player is just a blue block. I mainly wanted to focus on making a platformer with tight and responsive controls, so that's where I put most of the time.

Most of the controls are explained in-game. The only one that isn't is that you can press R or the back button (360 controller) to go back to where you last transitioned.

EDIT: I have updated the map to remove the spot that makes it unwinnable. I have also added a link to a map that shows where everything is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#726Graphics2.80
#830Overall2.93
#874Theme3.34
#882Innovation2.64
#908Audio1.75
#920Mood2.50
#922Fun2.65

Comments

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

Really like the tiling, and it looks so different each time. Never before have I jumped so well as a block of blue!

maxyan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49am

Interesting concept, little bit annoying controls feedback

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29am

wouldve liked to play it but it lags waaay too mucn on my machine. oh well

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

That was fun and challenging.

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42am

I normally don't like platform games at all, but this I liked a lot more than most.

Krz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:50am

I enjoyed it, was fun gaining additional abilities, was there any end of game though?

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:55am

Krz: Yes, there is an end. If you are having trouble finding it, check the guide map, it should give you an idea of where you need to go.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Big screen, laggy on my mackbook. I would use spikes on the walls.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33pm

This is a pretty decent platformer for being made in the LD time limit. A few things I ran into though... I collected the sandwich on the first level but then was stuck for a while. I back tracked through the level trying to get the environment to change but nothing happened. I didn't go far enough right after collecting the sandwich to trigger the next level. If I were redoing this I might just trigger the level switch on collection of the item to avoid confusion. Or at the least make the teleport zone overlap the item so it's not possible to collect it without warping. Also, what are the dark gray panels meant to be? I originally thought they were ladders and tried to climb one... to my blue squares demise.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

doitle: good point about the sandwich, sometimes we get so used to a level or mechanic that we forget what it looks like to fresh eyes. As for the gray panels, it's supposed to be tightly-coiled concertina (razor) wire.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42pm

..hey, awesome tiles you got there :)

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30am

I really like the graphics, It makes the game stand out very well, Good job

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:25am

I couldn't tell if it was laggy or if the controls are just kinda slippery. Whatever it was, I couldn't really get very far. Nice tiles, though!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:26am

Really nice game design! Love the tiles! Really well done!

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:34am

Reminds me of my bathroom! No checkpoints made this frustrating.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36am

Interesting concept. Interacting with invisible doors and objects makes it a bit weird, and some spaces are too tight to land while doing a wall jump. The fading and tiling is really nice though. Good work!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39am

spacedoubt: are you on a mac? I've had a couple of people comment about poor performance on macs, but there should be very little inertia on the movement.

hazzahazzam: It should set a checkpoint every time hit a point that causes the map to change. If you hit 'r' or the back button on a gamepad, it should take you to your last checkpoint.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

Cheshyr: Do you remember any spots in particular where it felt too tight?

caporaltito says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

Nice little platform game

Yazara says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

Nice design on the environment! Too bad that you couldn't finish the player character :/
The controls work pretty well!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Hi there. Looked interesting on loading but couldn't jump out of the first stairwell, physics of the platforming seems a bit harsh.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:12am

I didnt quite get the wall jump right but other than that the concept of level shift is cool!

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:16am

I like the subtle lighting effects and the transition effects are great!

nokusu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice graphics on the background, the gameplay is quite solid,

it has the potential to turn into a cool game, all you need now is a character sprite to replace the block of blue and a bit of sound and music :) but yeah 48 hours is relatively short,

i really dig the idea of the metroidvania style progression where you gain new abilities.

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I enjoyed playing this game! I really liked the transition effects to change the levels and the pull tile mechanic. Very cool!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Quite a challenging game! The only thing for me was at first I didn't realise which points you had to reach to move to the next level as it just looked like any other point in the map.

Hob623 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice looking tiles and lighting, although lag problems and lack of checkpoints makes this one quite punishing, especially in some of the harder sections. Still, nice work!

Budaniel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:27am

Had a problem with being sent back a screen each time I had to restart a level after the first. Also got reset mid-run one time for seemingly no reason. The controls were solid though and the theme seemed to fit the style well.

schnerble says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:29am

Platform mechanics were very nicely done. The exploring and power-up system is nice too, though it was hard to visualise a goal when the level changed in initially-invisible locations. Those kill-reset jumping puzzles can be tricky, though - hard to tell when to jump to work out when you'll make it.

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:45am

Awesome concept, I think with more graphics and sound this could turn into a fun game. I got a little annoyed with how quickly the text disappeared from the screen, couldn't really read what everything did. Overall great job.

Dracir says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:51pm

IM BLUE!!!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:30am

Interesting idea! Looks cool as well. I'm really pathetic when it comes to platformers but I think it's on the right side of challenging. Nice work!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Neat idea, and from the map it looks like you had it planned out well. I got stuck on the disappearing blocks in B.

john458 says ...
Oct 31, 2016 @ 2:16am

WTF? The game doesn't run.

Error.
Failed to load mono.

Details:
Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/PC/Desktop/Pincushion Natives/Pincushion_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).

What is this error and how to fix it?
Run on Windows 7 64-bit

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]