Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Baldaquin V

by Marcellus - Compo Entry

Here is my 5th LD entry, Baldaquin 5.

First of all, my friends and I decided to add a few more constraints for this compo, you can find more about it on this post : http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/05/alternative-limitation/

Now you understand why there are so many triangles.

Please play the game with SOUND, at least for the beginning.

PS : the blue team invades you at start, that's why you have to crush them !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#266Theme3.85
#411Audio2.94
#428Innovation3.29
#539Humor2.50
#607Overall3.15
#799Graphics2.71
#855Fun2.76
#952Mood2.45

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46am

Even with tutorial, I could hardly understand what to do =( How do I even get exp?

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58am

Victory! :D Nice entry, took a few moments to get used to, and just as I thought I was getting the hang of it, I get overrun by tanks! Pushed back and won though! Good game.

jpmit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I like the ambition of this.

High points for me were the voice intro, the music and sounds, and the soldier sprites. Good work!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40am

Real neat way to show XP; nice use of screen space integrating the map/HUD!

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Well, you really seem to like triangles :D . Interesting conpect, i wondered though why you had that physics engine for these triangles at the side for...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I can run tutorial twice at the same time, when I click start. :(

Marcellus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44pm

@ grid96 : because it's beautyfull
@ monochrome : don't know why, I tried multiple ways to reproduce the bug, and can't seem to be able to run it twice. What browser and OS are your using ?

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:50am

Wasn't clear on how to gain XP. Also can click the Start button many times starting the audio many times.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23am

@hazza : tutorial says you can get xp by defeating ennemies ho and now I understand the multiple audio issue. I feel really bad not predicting someone would try to click multiple times on start.

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:08pm

The first impression wasn't good, but I couldn't stop myself finishing my first round and starting a second, so I guess it's good after all. I like the extra restriction idea, but with something as simple as "only triangles", the graphics could definitely have done with an extra polish at least. But you've got the theme 5/5, and it is pretty fun. Your background, while simple, had the desirable quality of fading in the background and aiding focus after a while for me, so that's nice :)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Hi there. Looks interesting, but had no idea what to do. I did listen to tutorial. Needs an example simple level or something I think.

dlowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:31am

I like the idea, and I like the triangles :) Even with the tutorial, it took me a while to figure out the interface... and then once I got the hang of it, it was pretty shallow (in the sense that I didn't need to do any significant strategizing) and easy. Still: kudos on the neat game, and thanks!

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Complex and relentless ai. Incredible this was done in 48 hours.

friken says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:33pm

tutorial was a bit long winded, and even after no idea when I could upgrade. it let me upgrade one building but never saw how to get more exp or where it displayed. looks like an interesting idea that ran out of time before the end of the ludum

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:34am

Fun game! Is it possible to lose? I was doing pretty terribly at first and got totally overrun but eventually pushed the enemy back

Shampop says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:58am

Not bad ! Tutorial is a bit borring, but the game is quite fun. Kind of a simple Tower Defense, i liked it.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:52am

Nice one, but it's difficult to understand how to use the UI. After understand it the game is cool :) Congrats!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I really enjoyed this! Though I didn't really now how the mechanics with the triangle resource worked I like that it was very simple. Maybe the tutorial wasn't even necessary, because I still just sat and clicked away until I figured how to play. Really interesting entry!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:23pm

The fact that you put fog on war forbid me to react to opponent strategy. So how can I take advantage of the rock/paper/scissor mechanic ?
Anyway this is a good entry, and I like the triangle ressources and the amazing victory jingle !

I dig the additional limitation rules, I'll rate overall and theme higher because of it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]