Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Follow the screen

by SumGato - Compo Entry

To win this game, you just have to do what the screen tells you! But... the screen looks a little broken, doesn't it? Fortunately, you can repair it with some money. And how to get money? Well, the screen knows! (Hint: you can earn money by typing certain things. You use money when typing with the keyboard, so don't type random stuff. You also get money slowly over time so you get a little help if you don't figure out what you have to do.)

In timed mode, the screen will show the letters of a word in a succession and you have to type the whole word. Try to type as many words as possible in 100 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#311Theme3.80
#333Innovation3.44
#335Humor2.84
#846Mood2.59
#901Audio1.82
#958Overall2.78
#994Fun2.52
#1111Graphics2.11

Comments

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06am

hmmm, I just used screen shot to read :P

Nice idea.

Aisland says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

I do worry there is a ghost out of the tv. Special game,good job

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31am

Intresting idea, but too short. I guest final word on third guess.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32am

Interesting mechanic, gradually revealing what you have to do. I can't say more without spoilers. Clever.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41am

damn you :P
At first I was curious, then came the anger, and finally I read the comment and GG :P
nice :D

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44am

Really cool idea! I got 890 in timed mode by buying just the connection! The words keep repeating ;)

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47am

Nice idea, well done but a bit to short ;).

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58am

hahaha, really nice concept! i slightly cheated at the end though (screenshot) to get the answer. :d good job!

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I just saw that one thing and I typed what is it and wow hahah. Won the game by getting the 2nd monitor!
It got me puzzled too~

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Interesting little idea but a bit short.

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I thought I would not beat it! Nice idea, someone might try the word randomly, by the way :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51pm

It needs more work.

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Awesome idea, I like it :)

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Nice idea! Not what i typically call a game but there`s something to it.

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Interesting concept.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Technically that was on several different screens, I'm going to have to dock point for that. Yes, only three stars for theme. I bet you feel ashamed of your cheating ways. Totally ignoring the theme and making a game on many different screens. How evil of you!

It's a fun game. I like that, with enough skill, you can win from the get-go on your first attempt even though I doubt many will. The idea that you are simply told how to win interests me as well. "Simply type [CENSORED]", it might as well say on a crystal clear plasma TV with perfect reception that I unlocked. Most games hide their victory behind giant walls of skill (Super Hexagon) or gigantic investments of time (Cookie Clicker), but Follow the Screen simply asks you to type [CENSORED]. If you can't make out the instructions, buy a better screen.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Hi there. Interesting idea but got bored after getting first two words, could have cheated but didn't see point... Nice presentation and sounds.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:42pm

interesting, cool and puzzling experience

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:52pm

This was a neat concept, well done!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:16pm

that was cool

Yazara says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice concept! :)

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Dude, its a diferent concept... I could not enjoy enough. Congrats, yet!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:10am

Short, sweet, fun to figure out. Excellent way to package your idea!

dunin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:50pm

fun idea...

LabOne says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Nice Idea

Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Pretty cool, well within the theme, just needed more audio type music, is a pretty cool game, through a television type simulator, congratulations :D

Scam says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:34pm

This was original and amusing.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:27am

It's an interesting concept, though I'm not a fan of unlocking things by waiting on points to accumulate. Though figuring out words and typing them makes it less of a waiting game, it still uses a lot of intentional obfuscation to hinder the player's ability to figure things out in sort of cheap ways.

I guess what I mean is, turning the display on and off and blurring the text seems like a really cheap way to add difficulty to a game. It's also not as rewarding to figure things out because typing the words themselves isn't engaging as they seem to be randomly selected. Meaning they aren't tied to each other in any way, and lose their intrigue because the users realize that it's all a bit... meaningless.

It mostly just falls a bit flat in terms of interesting interaction. I never felt like I really figured anything out for myself, I was rewarded and given a pat on the back for... not really doing much... waiting... reading text and typing it. It all felt like a hollow victory.

I think in order to improve that, abandoning the pay-gates and constantly increasing point rewards would be good so you reward players for what they do (rather than what they don't do). Interaction with the tv could be a bit more dynamic... perhaps move antenna to clear static?, change channels, things that require the player to be more involved with figuring out what the tv is displaying. Then finally, figuring out what to do to make typing the words themselves more interesting. Perhaps rather than a single word, they are constructing an entire sentence... and each word they find on the tv gets them closer to being able to guess what the whole sentence is? There are a number of ways to tackle each of these mechanics and the only way to find out if they're interesting or not is to test them.

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:14am

interesting mechanic of getting a better monitor. I think the best part is when you figure out what to type - expanding on that could be cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]