Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ASDF ASDF

by alesys - Compo Entry

I wanted to create a beat 'em up using a GameBoy look alike.
The objective of the game is to survive 20 waves of mobs using only your fists and kicks.

**** Controls
Move left and right: Arrow Keys
Jump: Space
Hit: A
Kick: S

**** Features that I couldn't finish on time:
- More types of enemies with different behaviors
- At the end of each wave you would be able to upgrade an attribute (jump, speed, strenght).
- Score
- Power ups.

**** Made with:
- Framework: Adobe Air 16
- Libraries: Citrus Engine, Starling, Feathers, Nape, Signals.
- Software: Intellij IDEA, Flash, Photoshop, Bfxr, Logic Pro, Glyph Designer, Texture Packer and Audition.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#331Graphics3.45
#447Audio2.89
#523Mood2.96
#539Overall3.21
#549Fun3.09
#559Humor2.48
#571Theme3.59
#1018Innovation2.38

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22am

This is a really difficult game! I love the graphics though, and the gameplay is pretty solid.

locknic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

Hey man, I think you locked all of your categories. I cannot rate you on anything.

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

very fun! Why no ratings? Also the hedgehog character is adorable

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:23am

A nice complete little brawler. It was pretty fun, and I really liked the audio, but the controls did feel a tad clunky at times. Graphics looked nice.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

It definitely has that gameboy feel in terms of the graphics, and the sounds make me think of a gameshow (in a good way).

I do yearn to get to the top of the level, does that happen further on in the game or is it not possible because you didn't have time to do the upgrades?

Fighting system is pretty solid.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

This game is great! Super cute and fun! I wish I could jump onto the higher levels, though!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

This is great. Looks nice, cool sound. Pretty difficult, but good. Open your ratings OP!

alesys says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Oops, sorry I accidentally locked the ratings. They should be open now.

Thank you for your comments. Yes, it was planned that you could get an upgrade to climb the platforms. But I was running out of time and focused in the controls instead.

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

Couldn't made it through 1 level after 5 tries T__T
But it was interesting
And I don't know why, but after 2nd death you can't restart

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

Nice retro style

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07am

Nice gameplay. Also quite sweet graphics!

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Very gameboy-y, should have better indication of hitting/getting hit. Nice sounds. Good job!

Shampop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This is soooo cuuuuute ! But really, really hard. I couldn't beat the third wave. Cute and fun, pretty good graphism, and a basic but great gameplay !

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Fun but really difficult! Graphics are very similar to those of Gameboy, good work.

alesys says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

@volkoivan: thanks, just fixed that.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Innovation 2/5: It is basically a fight game.

Fun 4/5: It's fun but so difficult.

Theme 3/5: It simply is runned on a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: I love the gameboy pallete!!! I also used it in my entry!!!

Audio 4/5: Funny sounds. No music.

Humor 3/5: Funny characters.3

Mood 3/5; I don't really understand that category.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Interesting game:)

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Amazing!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Great graphics and fun game! Good job! ^^

Gabbmonkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I love this pixel art :33 good job man!

billrizer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Perfectly made retro GFX and audio - nicely done!

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23am

Really like the graphics style! The other ideas you have for this game sound like a lot of fun, you should keep working on it!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

Damn! This game is hard! Awesome graphics, sound and it's really, really fun! Love it!

karol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

A very polished entry. Love the pixel art. It would be nice to know how many hitpoints you have left though. In case anyone is wondering you can get hit 10 times before dying, while the enemies require 3 hits.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

One word... Awesome! :D

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48am

Really difficult. I like the sound and the graphics!

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25am

Great audio in this game! I also liked the art style.

I did have a hard time gauging how far my characters punch and kick would reach. I found it frustrating that it was hard to attack and easy to get hit. Also I couldn't tell how many hits I could take before dying.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:10am

I like the audio and the graphics, the game has some problems, I don't understand why movement exists, its much easier to just stand still and kick/hit enemies as they come to you. Some form of indication to show my health would be nice as well. Good Job!

Legiion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29am

i really like the retro lock of this

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44am

I like the character

exoddinary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Oh lol I thought you need to get upstairs by jumping over the ninja. After 2-3 dies then I know I should kill them

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:21am

Knocking enemies around is really satisfying.

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Nice.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

nice game style.. very fun!!! congrats

callumW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:52am

Solid mechanics can be quite hard to get combat like that to feel good.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Nice retro game.
I liked the graphics style!

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I can't see the bottom of the screen on my browser.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17pm

very old school style. Nice gameplay but a little hard to time the hits right.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Really fun game! The controls are tight and the graphics give and audio go well together. I don't know if you can get high up the level in later waves (past 3) but I really wanted to. No health bar makes it a bit hard to judge when to play safe or not. Great game overall.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Loved your entry :)
The gameboy style is pretty accurate and cool looking.
I made a game with citrus engine too, but couldn't make it executable on the web :(
Great game! Hope you'll add what you couldn't do in time for us to play with :P

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Good graphics, gameplay is tight but it's hard as heckkkk. some more visual feedback would go a long way, solid effort at any rate! :)

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I liked the graphics and the music. But, it's kind of hard to play.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Remind me super crate box :). Nice Game Boy style. Great work!

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Awesome art! A bit annoying not having health bars for anything and that makes the game kinda hard and frustrating. cool mood.

frondeus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice oldschool! :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I was awful. Had there been a bit more information with animations or the limbs extended a bit, I would have felt the fighting was more fluid, but it was fun when I did get used to it.

sam101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Funny, quite a bit difficult, but the gameplay is fun. The game-boy like feeling is quite great, and the sound is cool (while not sounding 8bit however)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I like the minimalism. I'd like to see an expanded version of this!

Wakka says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

well done, only found the kick and box graphics not clear enough.

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice game :) I liked the oldschool-game assets and it was fun to play. Maybe a feedback on our life points could be a nice improvement :)

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37pm

nice game, difficult though, also cool art style

jelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I liked this one, but it could have been nice to make the kick and the punch, more different, if they are at all. Maybe kick knocks them back? It could be helpful when dealing with the hordes. Well, it was fun anyway!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Cute and fun game! i love it! :D

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Awesome game, kick ass style. Controls are a bit tricky, put jump with arrow keys or next to punch keys.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Love the art style

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:34pm

I love the feel to this game, fantastic work. It is indeed quite hard but I'm a sucker for the game boy aesthetic. Great entry!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Its a decent start.

No difference between punching and kicking.

Very very easy.

Nice graphics.

The movement when you attack is really great, and the hit boxes for punching and kicking also feel really good.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47pm

awesome game! :D I love it

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:32am

I like the gameboy like graphics. Feels prety solid, simple and fun.
It's like a punching version of the original Mario Bros.

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:59am

Love those pixels. Very minimal color palette and fun key mashing gameplay. I died a lot, but had fun. Very gameboy-esque. Good work!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:26pm

pretty simple game, but challenging and entertaining

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Hi there. Like the style and sounds. Couldn't complete wave 2. Nice retro everything. Good job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:05am

Tough but fun! I love the ultra low-rez pixelart, and that new wave hud effect is excellent!

shotty456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

The punch is much more powerful than kicking. Great game though!

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:10am

Nice start of Super Crate Box like, very cool pixelart and good use of the CitrusEngine, well done for this!

spotco says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:24am

Pretty difficult game but the retro gameboy style is great! I just wish I could jump higher and hop around the upper platforms a bit.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:22pm

quite difficult but very fun entry!

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:32am

I love the concept and visuals. The hitboxes were a bit unforgiving, and made it quite difficult to get the hang of taking on multiple enemies at once.

Also, if you continue on this, i'd suggest making the up arrow an option for jumping.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]