Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Avoid Rage

by jackrugile - Compo Entry

Avoid Rage is a minimal reflex game where you must avoid enemies coming at you from opposing tracks.

Control with arrow keys or WASD. M to mute.

HTML and CSS handle the rendering of the game, minus one texture overlay image. Music was made with Fruity Loops. Sound effects were made with as3sfxr. I used Howler.js and Modernizr.js for miscellaneous help.

Post your best score!

@jackrugile on Twitter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#13Fun4.10
#22Audio4.00
#30Overall3.98
#116Graphics3.92
#173Mood3.43
#210Theme3.91
#252Innovation3.59
#692Humor2.31

Comments

Devark says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:07am

Simple yet addicting concept - wish I thought of this! Looks really clean and polished as well. Nice work!

Cody Ward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08am

Really simplistic idea, and really fun! Well executed, and nice art style! No complaints here!

Finlal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:09am

Everything is just great, I love it.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48am

Nice concept! I like it that you use HTML and CSS as render! My score was 50!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

Simple, addicting, lots of fun! I got 70.

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

It's a neat little game with a very polished look. I like it! It would be great to add a little variation to the game, a powerup or event in an interval maybe?

voxel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:41am

Lighting the populated tracks is a really nice touch! Music is pretty nice too :)

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

Really polished look and plays really well. The music and the gameplay integrated very good. Clean and well executed!

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

Very fun and the music's great!

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

My best score was 94, most fun game I've played so far!

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

I'm addicted!

Nakate says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Got up to 113!

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

That was super fun! I kept dying really quickly but that's also because I couldn't stop dancing to the music. Haha

rjhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32am

Wow, super-polished. A simple game with great music!

I could do with some "punctuation" in the game's pacing -- maybe a burst of harder (faster/more) enemies during a song's chorus or something.

Top effort!

TMKCodes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:42am

I wish there was standalone version of this. I would probably play this more than Super Hexagon.

psychonull says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

Got 119! awesome game, very polish. music and graphic so good and minimalistic. great work.

Zi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05am

I'm only echoing what everyone else is saying. Simple, yet addictive and effective. High level of polish as well.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

Great game - very playable. Good polish as well. I loved the changing colors.

One critique - the horizontal / vertical lines light up pretty slowly, so you can't really use them as a tool to avoid the blocks. It might be cool if they lit up immediately so you could watch them instead of the blocks?

In any case, great game. Really enjoyed it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08am

Got to 77 on my first go. Interesting and addicting concept, and the music fits nicely with the pace of the gameplay!

RevoluGame says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08am

So much addictive !

runvs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:46am

Great graphics and sound. It would even be better if you've speed up the music as the game gets faster. :)

TheCams says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Simple but pretty efficient. I like the minimalist geometric style. The music is very good too. Nice one !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I like this game! Simple but fun! It should definitely go to mobile platform.

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I really enjoyed this game! The whole package is really cleanly put together and everything works great. My favorite thing is how the squares change to white when they are no longer a threat so you can distinguish them in your periphery. Great job on polishing up a simple idea and making it feel really nice. My score was 114.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

Simple game, but really well done. I Included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Kdfz6b6_ebE

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:31am

this is simple and to the point, but by no means did I find it simplistic. I could play this for hours! I'd be twice as motivated if there were a separate game state which is influenced by how well I do. Like, idk, a trophy list or collectible ASCII art for each level I clear, that I can view in a gallery later.

Kudos, thanks for making it!!

Muush says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16am

Very well executed. Very solid little game

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:24pm

My best was 121 ! Well polished and easy to understand. Great job !

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Hi there. Like the idea and presentation. Couldn't play it though, was really bad. 25 best ;( Not sure if it is always possible to continue, ie. avoid dead-ends, or whether I'm just bad. Good job!

jackrugile says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23am

@indigofiz I agree, if I had more time to work on it, I definitely would have added in some sort of secondary goal. Perhaps having to collect an item to advance the difficulty.

@rjhunter Ha yeah, it all just ramps up pretty fast at one pace. I would love to learn more about the web audio API so that I can sync gameplay to music reliably. One day!

@stephenhaney That's a really good point about the speed of the light animation. Right now, they are basically just aesthetic. I didn't even consider that they could be used for gameplay help.

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks for the include, much appreciated!

@Christina Antoinette Neofotistou Badges, so good, so addicting... Maybe one day ;)

@mrexcessive When I first started coding, I had the intention of doing some sort of check for the player being in impossible situations, and avoiding that. But, I didn't have enough time to code it and honestly, I still don't know how I'd go about it with my limited logic ;)

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Wow, this is a well polished game. Great all around.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:57am

Really addicting fast-paced fun

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:09am

Simple but very fun gameplay. Also looks and sounds awesome, well done!

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Very slick indeed - you should give extra points for moving to the beat because I was trying to make my own drummer with my square character.
I got to 93.

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:27am

Simple but fun! Love it. I got 114. I love the clean style and how things accelerate and change colors as we go!

oranebeast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:06am

Would make an excellent app, Well polished and designed.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:12pm

fun, well-done- great effects,great sounds. simply awesome!
I loved the effects; the glowing mines, squares turning white after they pass.

my high score is 167.

there is one problem; you cant really avoid the rage :P

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:52am

That was fun. Nice job. My best score was 123. Really liked the guide lines.

pht59x says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:44am

KISS game: excellent !

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:49am

Exactly what I love to see from a Ludum Dare game. An extremely simple but ingenious mechanic and a bucket load of style and substance. Color changing is gorgeous and the mechanic feels like a gamified PIN number entry! Gotta perfect my micro skillz

Great job, man!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:07am

Ah, glad you posted a link on the front page. I'd been meaning to play this one again but couldn't remember what it was called.

This is the game I wish I'd made. So elegantly simple but so immediately fun.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:16am

Basic but very addicting. I love the concept, the game gets quite challenging the further you get. Nice job on this felt very polished.

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really cool idea and superbly executed!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:29am

Fun in a simple idea!
This game is really well done, congratulation!
You have done a good job, nice graphic, well suited music and enjoayable gameplay!
Well done!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:30am

Got 135 points :) Very good and simple avoider and the very good music made it fantastic.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:47am

Solid gameplay and good difficulty curve.

Using only html might greatly limit you if you want to add special effetcs, etc. in a future version though.

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:49am

simple and fun (even it's a little repetitive)
The only thing you can add is an High score screen (most challenging than post score in comment...)
(and: 75!)

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:53am

Really great idea and execution! Was there any intelligence built into the thing to make sure there're impossible situations?

Would be quite difficult to convert to touch, the directional precision controls are hard to get right without haptic. But it's still a fantastic idea :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:17pm

154 XD

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:25pm

really nice game, love the minimalistic approach to gameplay and graphics

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Simple and intense, nice work, great track also.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Neat idea - a lot of fun to play, and pretty addictive, although it throws few, if any, punches. I managed 130. Perhaps add some weird effects that occur at set intervals, for example increase speed for 10 seconds, add a delay to movement, "confuse" movement, etc to make it harder.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Addictive and neat. I like it. Music is great. One of my favorites for this LD session. Thank you ++

lemmily says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Awesome idea! Music fits nicely, I felt like I wanted to move to the beat somehow? Kinda like Crypt of the necrodancer! But still, nicely polished and rounded game !

okkolobr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Great job for a great game !
Best score here is 105.

Floriaen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Pretty good game!
I began to play with a lot of pressure :^)
The collision should probably be most intense.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Nice. Difficultly was a bit much for me to really get into. There is also no real positive feedback. Sometimes the death scared the crap out of me.

Having said that.. I did enjoy it for a little bit and the eye candy is wonderful. The music is also energetic and catchy. I like your idea (in the article you wrote) of having them pulse with the music. Maybe it could work!

More interesting difficulty instead of linear sounds nice too. Additionally, you could probably do without sending enemies down the center for the first 2-3 moves?

Simplicity and general polish remind me of atomicle from ld29.

Gwilym says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Yay, got 125. Everything is so polished, really nice game :D

Gungnir says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Very strong entry, nice and concise concept and execution.

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Very nice take on this particular kind of genre. It plays really well and the looks and sound fit very nicely into the gameplay. Good job!

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Wonderfully addictive, great entry :)

skiddings says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:55pm

beautifully simple and really fun!

leondryaso says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I love this entry. Altough the face gave me an heart attack first :D

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:04pm

5/5. Awesome.

cabezotta says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Dude! did you play my game? it has the same concept! i swear that i just saw yours in a post in the blog, i never saw it before.. obviously you don't have to believe me, but if you believe in science, this is awesome!

I did some things different, but a lot of stuff is practically the same. So weird! Its a great game though, sorry to make one so similar, it was not my intention.

Awesome entry.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:18pm

this game is really fun. Very polished and enjoyable to play. Five stars for fun.

Robber says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:20pm

100! love how simple this is, but still great to play, like the music!

Code White says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Awesome work here! Top score of 79, love the music, love the idea, love the game.

Stending says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Oh crap, your game is pretty similar to mine, and you made that in 48h ._.
Super game, I love how you polished it, and you used the theme so well!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very good game. Concept is simple but yet interesting, same for realization. I like how you managed collisions, it's really tolerant and never seems unfair. That's a really good point in those kind of game.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Very good game. Concept is simple but yet interesting, same for realization. I like how you managed collisions, it's really tolerant and never seems unfair. That's a really good point in those kind of game. 5/5

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Neat game, addictive, could see myself getting stuck playing it for a long time.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Brilliantly simple design. Good music. I can't play these types of games long because I know I'll end up throwing something at some point. Excellent work.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Fun idea! It feels like a scene in an action movie where the main character is rolling around avoiding enemies attacking from every side.

Backterria says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:32pm

some games take a second to realise that they are great!that's one of them!5/5

Felladrin says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Pretty good game! Simple, challenging and complete. Good idea for the infinite play (keeping the total moves/deaths/time). Very well done!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Very well polished for a game made in <48 hours. Also extremely addictive. Good job.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Fun small game to kill time. Awesome music. And I like details like when two NPS (Non player squares) collide, one gets terminated. :)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I enjoyed playing this the more times I died the more I wanted to play it. It was frustrating at times but overall I liked it a lot.

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Whoa! Very simple and very addictive! The music is great! Good game!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Really really addictive game!
I want a mobile port! It would be amazing to play on my phone! *_*
One of the best LD Games so far! :)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Amazing game, simple and challenging.
Very cool music!

Well made!

Kitch says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Really great concept, simple, fun, clean and right up my alley. I could see benefiting from some super hexagony screen warps and rolls in the future :)
Great job! Thanks!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:31am

simple and addictive : ) nice entry! love the music aswell

Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great and simple !

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Great! I like this.
Is everything random? It never start the same

I think it would feel better if there was a real connexion between music and what we see on screen, but.. you know, that's a compo! And music is cool though

Great job on this one, lot of cool details like destoying the cube when they're gone, and on the way you die in the game.

Good job

jotson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Really nice. Simple style but very polished. 124 points!

Managore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:04am

Great yet simple game. You executed the idea perfectly! 123.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Great game, very polished!
I feel like it should get harder a bit faster. Nice work though!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Simple yet really addictive game, graphics are very effective in a minimal style and the music is so damn catchy! Would probably like some sort of visual effects like flashes and screen shaking to effect reach with game play.

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:58pm

So great. The quick restart, the two ways you communicate incoming danger, the pulsing motivating music, the refreshing colour palate, there's so much to like here. But some swipe controls on it and call it done!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Simple but well polished and insanely addictive plus that background music is just completely awesome.

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Simple, fun, challenging, rage inducing, squary, great music. Well Done!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Very cool. I like games like that. best score 121.

Although difficulty increases to fast IMO. Player dies to often. It would be more addictive if average play time was longer.

Also leaderboards are a MUST for games like that. I would definetely play longer if I had someone to compete with.

Also I dont know what engine is this and what are its options but 60fps gameplay would be awesome.

Knighty says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Pretty fun game with good music! My high score is 162.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]