Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Orion The Cat In A Winter Puzzle-Land

by mactinite - Compo Entry

Orion the Cat is in a Winter Puzzle-Land. Solve 9(!) puzzles and find out what awaits you at the end!

Move boxes, step on buttons and uncover the mysteries of those weird rock formations.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#174Graphics3.77
#182Overall3.63
#216Audio3.30
#266Mood3.28
#404Humor2.72
#419Fun3.23
#771Innovation2.83
#1075Theme2.95

Comments

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00am

I love the puzzle aspect to it, and the cat is 110% adorable!

Johnro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13am

Awesome game! The way the spikes activated seemed a little weird at times (In the second and third levels they didn't go down properly, but did so when I restarted the level) and I'm not quite sure how it fits with the theme this year, but other than that, it's great!

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43am

@Johnro That is really strange, the spikes were made to function as doors but they seem to act strange if I have a lot of tabs with a unity instance running on them.

Also, it fits in the theme because each level takes up the screen (no scrolling) and the screen doesn't really change as the level elements fly off and drop down on each level.(bit of a stretch, and if I have to explain myself I kind of failed. haha)

Thanks for the feedback. :)

erik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14am

Snowman! I played through to the end. Nice work. I liked the models, and I thought the faces were particularly neat, and added some nice variation to the puzzles. Smooth movement instead of tile move would be nice.

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

Really reminds me of older games like Chip's Challenge. The mechanic of having just one screen that gets a new stage built onto it is pretty cool and perfect for the theme.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28am

Well polished game :) You've got lots of stars from me.

ratking says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Great entry overall! A bit hard to see the path sometimes (because there is no visible grid), but overall a really cool puzzle game. Loved the coop aspect!

feiss says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12pm

well done! what an amazing load of work done.. :)

lionroot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Great Puzzler

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Fun and smooth ! Nice models, good work !

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25am

Very well done. Graphics look great, animations are nice (I like the item drop in effect in the beginning of each level) and the puzzles are fun.

2blejump says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

If you don't mind me asking, what do you use to make your models?

mactinite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:20am

@2blejump I used Blender. :)

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Nice game, specially that stage where the two cats are controlled at the same time. It's Sokoban with cats :P I'd like the cat to move more smoothly when you keep the key pressed, but it's fine. Keep it up!

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I love the cat! Cute model to be playing as. I enjoyed the puzzles. The way the level fell onto the scene was a nice transition when starting or restarting a level.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very nicely done. Love the animations and graphics.

dook says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Cute little puzzler. I really liked the style, and the puzzles were fairly challenging.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:46am

Nice compo. Interesting puzzle game. I like how the levels are created each time. Music is fully kitch - like an old russian song. Well done ++

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:00am

OMG, I loved this. Thank you for making it!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02am

Integrity of game is awesome. This is complete game, not just trying and unfinished experimenting.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Cute little puzzler. Very Sokoban-esque, although the double player thing was a neat twist. Nice presentation too, the simple 3D graphics have a nice charm. Nice work!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This was very cute, nice game play, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]