Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Unlikely Adventures of Peggy LeDig

by Venturelli - Jam Entry

Howdy, matey! Aid the pirate Peggy LeDig in finding all kinds of weird randomly-generated treasure.


HOW TO PLAY:

> Click/Tap to select a place to dig
> Your parrot will warn you if you're getting close to the treasure. Pay attention to the circles: they give you a hint for a possible location.
> Each item found increases your Luck value for that run. Higher Luck means rarer items!
> Dig as many items as you can before the time is up.
> You can use Gold to extend your time and keep your current Luck value!

Created in sort-of-24-hours by:

> Bruno "Tinnus" Ferreira - Code
> Mark Venturelli - Design, Sound and Art
> Pedro Machado - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#32Audio(Jam)4.05
#84Fun(Jam)3.76
#97Overall(Jam)3.81
#118Innovation(Jam)3.75
#157Mood(Jam)3.60
#157Humor(Jam)3.38
#189Graphics(Jam)3.92
#201Theme(Jam)3.89

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

bakudas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Pretty cool game, but after read your post-mortem i agreed about the goal and itens feedback. Good audio and art!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very cool game! Simple yet fun and engaging. Love the music!

xexeo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Tinnus, congrats! It is a nice concept, however, I don´t see me playing it for a long time with more perks. It could grow into something very interesting, or at a mini-game in a pirate game similar to Sid Meyer´s Pirates (actually, this is better than some mini games from there).

xexeo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Sorry, I mean WITHOUT more perks.

pegigante says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Fun. Good sound effects.

gustavodort says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great game, had lots of fun :B
Congrats!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:22am

Interesting Game! would be great for mobile devices. Nice entry!

Joror says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Good light fun game! Some variation in the playfield would be cool to add.

NPException says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I love the art style and the concept! Put it on the Google PlayStore please :D

Trite Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:51pm

It looks good. The treasure always seemed to be at the same place in the right upper corner. The music was ok. Good job :)

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:55pm

If it would mark "where you've already dug" (and maybe with timer revoed), I think this could be pretty fun game for a kid to play.

Art style is very friendly. The puff effects are cool. Instructions clear. Only 24 hours spent creating this? Good job.

togie says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Awesome game all around, i agree that there needs to be more but for 3 days you packed quite a bit in!

madalaski says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Best game I've seen so far on this Ludum Dare. Played it for 30 minutes straight before tearing myself away so I could rate it.

jonah1nine says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Really good game! I mean, it's complete and everything. Lots of potential. Keep it up. Well done!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Played this for ages! The only thing I didn't like was that I eventually topped out at getting Epic items, and that the remaining quests were down to pure chance as I couldn't (as far as I could tell) influence my chance to get a specific item.

Still, everything else was fantastic. This is one of the best games I've played from this LD, and definitely the one I spent the longest on.

Norgg says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Really polished graphics and a simple concept which works well. Couple notes:

A few of the goals (like the 9999 gold and 500 items ones) seem really grindy, especially when I've unlocked almost everything else. Also, by the time you've got to those the bonuses don't feel like they'd mean much any more.

It'd be nice to have something else purchasable as a trade-off against paying to keep your luck.

Once you've got a high base luck I think it makes it really hard to complete the lower level quests, I'm stuck needing 3 smelly items and haven't seen any for ages.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Wow, I'm actually amazed that you are actually making it all the way to the Epic items, haha

And you are right, Cake_Catastrophe and Norgg. We had just a single design pass on the quests, and they are kind of broken in the end for the exact reasons you mentioned.

Again, thanks very much for playing and for the feedback :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Chocobo Hot'n Cold!!!! :D

Ficou muito bacana, parabéns, as quests deram um up enorme no jogo, impulsiona um monte a vontade de continuar cavando, e tem uma pegada mobile mto boa, comprar a luck de volta na próxima jogada, muitas sacadinhas bacanas

Kuupu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Chocobo Hot N Cold !!!! : D
Good game, congratulations!
The quests really make a difference, makes you want to keep on digging.
It fits a lot on a mobile device, buying the luck back to the next round is a amazing feature

hogtrick says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Cant figure out how you guys managed to make this in so little time. Amazing game guys. Best game I've played so far, and probably will be playing in the rest of the weekend. hahah

Aske says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really like the music ! Good job!

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:32am

Love it!Very enjoyable,polished, mood is great! 5/5

Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:06am

A fantastic game sees hope in my mobile

scias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Cool! I love the fact that it's more or less a complete game, it's also got good and consistent quality, good job :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Really, really, really, really addictive. The only thing I found was the parrot doesn't goes down when you dig, so is for this that I can't rate your graphics higher than 3. It was so funny, so addictive, incredible idea and with a great mood. The audio was the best. Congratulations, you did a great job :D

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:00pm

This is really simple but surprisingly fun. Would like to see the mechanics expanded on so it doesn't get so repetitive, but for a short play session I quite enjoyed it.

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Sadly, I was dug nothing :(

tormentes says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:07am

I've got a lof of fun with this game, and besides that, it reminds me of Monkey Island. Yep, I know my brain has made a weird connection... Any case, I like this game.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Yarr, I be lovin' the music matey, it be soundin' like the theme from Monkey Island! :P Not seen gameplay similar to this either before, very original!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]