Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Adventure

by Rnd - Jam Entry

Inspired by Blue Ball Machine Factory animated gif
I make simple platformer, with entire game in one screen.
play as mini hero called 'pixel', crawl a dungeon in one screen.

the level design is still not finish cos I only had few times to work in it (my bad). but feel free to play it.. its pretty annoying LOL

arrow to move
Space to Jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Theme(Jam)3.63
#562Fun(Jam)2.97
#750Graphics(Jam)2.72
#799Humor(Jam)1.85
#891Mood(Jam)2.36
#897Innovation(Jam)2.30
#923Overall(Jam)2.64
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I don't know whether this was intentional but you can keep mashing the space bar to fly which makes the game exceptionally easy.

Rnd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46am

yeap its bug (my bad)

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

If I hit a spike I go back to the start...you bastard! lol.

Fun little game. =)

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04am

Without abusing the 'flying' bug I have to jump very precisely. It's a little tedious.
Overall it's nice.

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Level layout was pretty thoughtful, with some more advanced checkpoints I think it'd be fun to keep trying the trickier jumps. Otherwise it has a nice pace to it!

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01am

I'm really drawn to the idea of navigating a tiny character through an intricate map that all fits on one screen, and would love to play a more fleshed out version of this. Could really use checkpoints though, hitting a spike halfway through the map is really harsh.

Vidsneeze says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02am

Wonderful platforming experience! i thought i had a double jump thing going on until i read the comments about the bug! Still pretty rock solid platforming though!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

Nice idea! I like the idea of a one screen platformer with a very small character. The controls were a bit too loose for me. Felt like you were using the Unity physics system. I would maybe suggest going with your own system, the unity system is a bit to sluggish in my opinion for precision platforming. Solid entry though :)

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55am

Cool game, it really does have that ball machine aesthetic. The space bar flight bug makes the game easy, but also a lot less frustrating :D

Managore says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:21am

Like others have said, a few checkpoints would have been tremendously helpful, but even without them it's a fun game! Well done.

ramyaanudeep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

greatly done with pixels

brainstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Innovation 1/5: It doesn't innovate at all.

Fun 2/5: It gets boring too fast because the lag of checkpoints.

Theme 3/5: It simply runs in a single screen.

Graphics 2/5: They are too simple, but well made.

Audio n/a: I can't rate that.

Humor n/a: I can't rate that also.

Mood 2/5: I've been a bit bored while playing.

Overall 2/5: A bit boring game, anyway with some work and checkpoints it could be great.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Controls were pretty smooth. Needed a little bit more variation but I liked it nonetheless.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:20am

Good short simple game. You could jump constantly though, but it made it less frustrating for me. Good job

gameattack says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I like the minimalistic approach. black and white + 3 colours and everything small. It fits the theme pretty well. A goal other than just collecting coins would be nice ! Something that gives more motivation.

Searge says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:38am

Really nice game. I kept playing it for a little longer than planned.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]