Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Sketchy Game

by Todnut - Compo Entry

A Sketchy Game!

I'm taking a dynamic sketching class right now so I drew all the images for my game in a toned sketchbook and scanned them in. I think it's got a pretty unique look.

All the code is C++ and uses emscripten for the web build. Sorry, didn't have time to add any sound this ludum dare!

The controls are very easy - just the left mouse button. The gameplay is inspired by Paper Mario, Pokemon, and South Park Stick of Truth. It's a simple turn based rpg.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Graphics4.53
#70Mood3.70
#89Humor3.52
#111Overall3.73
#157Fun3.59
#240Innovation3.60
#256Theme3.86
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Yay, I made home! Absolutely loving the art - so charming. As well as simple, but very attractive gameplay. I feel invited to replay with another snowman build. My favorite so far!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Lovely graphics and different but nice gameplay, although it was a pretty simple experience. Anyway, one of the best I have played this far.

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Charming art work and gameplay. It's a shame about the lack of sound, but this is still a solid submission. Really great work, mate.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Take this fireball!!!
Cool idea :-)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

WOW, that art...that is seriously cool looking! Well done on the whole, I really enjoyed this one! :)

c2v4 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I made it! At a second try, but it still counts ^^. great graphics.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Awesome game!

Asado says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great game! All about choosing the right powerups... I'd love to see more from you.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great artwork! Although eveyrthing looks a little bit static. Maybe adding a little bit of swaying animations would work. Also, why would anyone want to skip a turn?

callumW says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Loving the art and controls are pretty smooth.

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Thank you! (For creating such a lovely game.)
Great that you were able to limit the controls to only LMB! (Consider that it would make a great mobile/tablet game too?)

[I won:)]

Aden Manson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

AMAZING! AWESOME FUN TO PLAY! DEFINITELY CHEERED ME UP FROM MY SICKNESS!

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Beat it after several attempts. The graphics are very nice.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Lovely drawings. Short and sweet game - I'm glad there was no one else after the fireball, or I would have been toast.

GameSetup.exe flagged by my antivirus as "DRep" infection when I tried to download it, then Firefox gave me an unknown error notification. I'm not sure what all that means... I've got Avast 2015.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Very fun to play! So cute as well ^.^

Webravenz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Nice graphic :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really beautiful looking game! You get 5 stars for graphics that's for sure! I found the gameplay a little dull though, but I think that's just personal taste.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Wow, what a charming game! I really like the graphics and the story you created for the snowman. The battle mechanics were simple but effective and had a really neat gimmick with it. I love how I was fighting a bunch of characters that were related to heat! Very well done!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Looks and plays amazingly nice! Easy to understand and love. Thanks for letting me know about Emscripten also, seems to to a great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Love the aiming mechanics and the graphic style, good job !

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Big Fireball got me :(. Good looking art and simple yet fun gameplay :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I made it home, I win! Looks very cute. "Hairdryer uses himself on you". Oh boy...

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Hi there. Liked the art and implementation, but the game itself just keeps ramping up and you must lose... though maybe that is the point... Good job!

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:50am

I like this unique take on snowmen, and the gameplay is certainly not the usual Ludum Dare games (those mostly being of the action genre). The art is also very creative and nicely done.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:47pm

You chose an art style with a lot of charm! I really enjoyed the whole "cold things vs hot things" theme, and the game definitely skewed me towards the pro-cold side. Darn you, hairdryer! You could probably make the "Skip Turn" button something more useful, like perhaps a "Defend" button (and have some enemies telegraph some larger attacks). Great job on this!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:32pm

This was wonderful and the mechanic was quite fun. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]