Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Abyss

by Flying Jester - Jam Entry

The player searches through darkened rooms for treasure and equipment while avoiding or defeating monsters, collecting health items, and selling loot. As a room enters the darkness, it disappears forever. When you return, the room has changed! It's an endless, randomly generated world, all on a single screen.

All treasure and monsters increase in power as the game progresses.

Attacking is done automatically by touching enemies, and you are invincible for a short time after taking damage (same for enemies).

There are shops out there, although they are fairly rare, represented by a '$' sign. Selling the weapons you have found will get you quite a bit of gold.

To switch items, use < and > (comma and period).
To use an item (mostly the healing vulnaries) use space while one is selected.

Weapon strength is totally dependent on the weapons level (L).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#748Innovation(Jam)2.64
#880Mood(Jam)2.40
#897Theme(Jam)2.93
#953Overall(Jam)2.54
#970Fun(Jam)2.21
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Asaratha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

The red floors going off into the distance, I have hope I can continue the map! Invisible wall. Why does this happen? It's very frustrating.

I have absolutely no idea how to use my inventory, I've gotten all these weapons but how do I use them? How come if I open a chest but continue movement the dialogue box closes? I hit Q thinking it would possibly scroll through my inventory and I accidentally closed the game.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Kind of slow after a point. I can't be bothered to collect 10,000 golds just to reach level 4. The enemies seem to be simultaneously invincible and unable to attack, and can be safely ignored. I wonder how my character (happy face) is carrying all these swords. I like the concept a lot though.

pfitzner says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I want to like this more than I do; I really do. It's a great concept, and I congratulate you for trying it out. It just has a lot of problems with it.

1. I had no idea how to use any of the weapons I was getting. I've tried most of the buttons on my keyboard, with no luck.

2. I never had to use the weapons, since the player character is so much faster than the monsters. I literally ran circles around the dungeon until the game crashed.

3. The game crashed because I hit Spacebar over the 'Press Shift to Exit Shop' prompt; it threw an error and shut the whole thing down. That's... a pretty big bug.

4. Even without the above, the game is really monotonous. Even just one variation on the graphics would've worked wonders.

It's a nice start, though, I'll give you that much.

pk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14am

The game seems to close if you press W or some key in the vicinity.

Enemies seem to do nothing at all? My HP is always full and they never disappear.

You should probably verify that this build isn't broken(you forgot godmode on?)

Flying Jester says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27am

Ah, it wasn't in godmode per se, but it that was a real issue making the player invincible.
I also updated and fixed the issue with crashing in the shop.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

The concepts there, the theme is there, the only issue i have is that the controls are almost like a second thought. (traditional controls would have been nice) using both <> to select weapons was un-intuitive for me.
Couldn't figure out how to actually use the weapons i collected, but loved how each room "respawned" as i left.

Nice concept :D

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:54am

the keys are not really intuitive, the theme is well respected, the game could be more fun if we could attack with a sword!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Kinda slow... But not bad.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Pretty Sweet, nice work. I hope you continue to develop the game after the Jam is over.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Could be a little bit more polished, but great game :)

lxd1 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:18am

Fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]