Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pixplorer

by ArcturusDeluxe - Jam Entry

NOTE: Due to the whole-platform-world-on-a-single-screen nature of the game we highly recommend your monitor size be larger than 1280x720.

Hello again! We are Nega Drive and we've made a tiny platformer for Ludum Dare this time.

Your objective is to guide Pixelfella and help him find all four keys in the map. Most of the map will be enshrouded in blackness at first - it will be unveiled as you explore. At the top is a block that will disappear once all keys have been found. Once you've got them all, head back up to the surface and drop down the shaft to finish the game!

You'll find gems as well, these are not required to complete the game, but are often located in fiendish locations so that nabbing all of them confers upon you all the bragging rights in the universe.

Watch out for any liquids you might find, for they'll instantly kill you, as will patrolling robots. You have a gun to deal with them though, so shoot away!

Controls are explained in the title screen; arrow keys to run/drop, Z to jump, X to shoot, V to toggle the handy-dandy zoom window. You may also use a 360 pad, on which the left stick moves, A jumps, B shoots, and X toggles zoom.

KNOWN ISSUES:
- Controls are a bit fiddly at times, and you often find yourself jumping into the ceiling. This is just one of those things that needs more time to tweak.
- Shooting has a weird delay to it sometimes.
- Enemies can get stuck.
- Some gems might be incredibly hard to get, especially in the dungeon area. You can get all the keys and complete the game though.
- The in-game music doesn't quite match the mood of the game. It's one of my old tracks. If we do a post-compo version it will have more fitting music.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#111Theme(Jam)4.05
#149Overall(Jam)3.69
#158Audio(Jam)3.53
#160Graphics(Jam)4.01
#277Fun(Jam)3.35
#337Mood(Jam)3.28
#416Innovation(Jam)3.17
#672Humor(Jam)2.25

Comments

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

I can't load the game. Stuck on the Logo screen.

herofresh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31am

Putting jump on z? and shoot on x? y?
Its just unfair for ppl without a english keyboard.
Everything was too small

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

pretty interesting concept!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

SinistraGames: Unity on the web has some issues with focusing and stuff, have you tried CTRL+F5 to do a hard refresh? And make sure you're clicked into the actual game window, as well.
herofresh: Sorry! That was an oversight on our part. We also don't have a lot of time to add things like key rebindings etc. Also the game is supposed to be small, thats the whole point. Try the zoom key!

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

Great idea of exploration.
Respawn is bit annoying or maybe I just don't know how to play :)
Game is very good looking.

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

I liked the zoom-in mechanic, thought that was a clever way to adhere to the theme. As mentioned controls were a bit floaty, but there were still some fun jumping challenges and good level design there! Eventually got stuck in the bottom right, with too daunting a path back to the next checkpoint. Checkpoint system was a great idea, too.

jmborden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Very cool concept for how to keep the game in one screen by showing a world map and an "action" screen. Sort of had a comic book look to it... it hits five stars in innovation and theme with this view. Nice variation on a theme and good work!

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43am

Art was well done, and I greatly enjoyed the gameplay (although the saved points occasionally put me a little too far back and I got frustrated) I loved how you worked with the theme with the ability to see the whole board at once, but also had the ability to zoom in so you could see the spot you were playing in.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55am

Excellent work! Have to admit the jumping physics were pretty infuriating, but the world and fog of war effects and variation as I uncovered the background was really really well done. Congrats!

kumoi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23am

Very nice graphics! This is a really awesome take on the theme. Good work!

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49am

Great map and exploration!Music is funny too!

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24am

I love this game. Great concept.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03am

Great overall game and music. But i often got stuck because of the jumping mechanics. I think the jumping parts work better if you dont float trough the air and have more controll over the jump.

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

good entry, i like the metroidvania style

Insality says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

great implementation of you idea :D
Brilliant! ;]

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24am

I really liked the idea of having such a huge world, but the controls are really difficult (at least for me) and are a bit of a barrier to getting into the flow/enjoying the game. The graphics are really nice and remind of me the old DOS platformer days (i.e. Jill of the Jungle). :)

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:27am

Fabulous game, fun to play, controls are a bit hard but eventually enjoyable, one of the best games I've seen on LD. Only real issue was the hitboxes, which like mention on the post are a little off. Other than that a great experience. I played a good half an hour, but couldn't finish because it's really hard, but fun.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I like the idea of zoom to see better.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Love the fog of war style platformer, the layout is interesting and I'm sucker for lots of little pixel detail which all looks great in this game! Great use of the theme! -CC

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great exploration game!

iShadow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice graphics, good sound, fun gameplay. Very good game, except jumping was a bit weird, but after a while you get to use to it.

marsermd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

that is freaking awesome!
I love the idea and bioms and everything

leffe108 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice game with quite long gameplay. I did only cover some part of it even though I played for quite a bit.

anabolicMike says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Great Game... Its like that super caves game! I like it a lot actually! Hard as my ween on Naked Jessica Alba day though

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Pretty good overall, but I think a bigger screen would be quite useful. Besides, the controls feel a little unresponsive. Keep it up!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice art! I like to explore big places (in a screen)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:05am

Nice concept and interpretation of the theme :) Well done !

Taldius says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:36am

The game is simple but it actually work pretty well and is fun!
Good job. :D

dlowe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:39am

Thanks for the game!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:42am

I like the concept, and you did an awesome job with the pixel art. I think it would be much, MUCH better with better controls. I feel like I barely have any mid-air control, and it also feels a little floaty. Nonetheless, nice game

StMatn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

Great game!

The controls are really a bit fiddly, since you have full inertia in midair, but make a full stop when you touch the ground. The platform collision also is improvagle, when touching edges.

The graphics look really nice. I really like pixelart, so the environment was really pleasuring to watch. The slow revelation of the map also is realy satisfying. The Music and audio were fitting und really fun to listen to.

Awesome job!

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:53am

Excellent game, lots of fun and really creative. I found the controls maddening in the lower-right quadrant, but I still really enjoyed the game (I just didn't finish it. :P )

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:58am

I really liked this. I loved the graphics and the exploration. I found the jump to be very difficult to use, I think it would be easier if you could do smaller jumps by quickly pressing the button. Good job on the theme as well.

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:00am

Thank you for giving me such a wonderfully huge (and intricately illustrated) world to explore! I really liked the music too

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Very good game indeed, but the controls.. maaan. Eventually I got used to the jumping to some degree, but still often needed like 10 attempts to reach a spot that didn't really seem like a challenge when looking at it.. :)
However, the visual style is pretty unique (and great!), I quite like the music and the overall concept is pretty cool.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:05pm

realy good game ,love the graphics and audio.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Cool and unique concept! Like the graphics and the gameplay! Awesome work!

sputnik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Good idea et great art, but the gravity makes the control kinda hard.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:15pm

This is by far the best thing I've seen! THIS is what the theme was meant for! And it's funny that I kinda missed the whole controls screen and played without zoom :D Kudos to you!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Enjoyable, challenging, well executed platformer. We need more of those.

mactinite says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I love the fog of war type effect. Really cool way to explore the level. the jumping was a bit floaty, could have used more air control, but that's just a preference thing I suppose.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Take my 5 stars in graphics, amazing game. Cool music, very nice theme usage. Sometimes control fells like slipping but its a detail.

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very strong entry. Gorgeous pixel art and digging the music too. Not sure I like the floaty controls.

allanolivei says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56pm

ooooohhhhh not ... I got stuck in the wall .....
A very good platform game, challenging and it fit well to the topic.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Like:
- The high fidelity
- The pixel art
- The soundtrack
- The sense of exploration

Dislike
- The character movement (too much inertia)
- The inability to cycle through past spawn points

Overall, nice entry!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:19pm

This looks really good and I want to play it, but the loading page freezes on me. Any chance you could provide an executable?

Night says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I like the game very much, it captures my mind! The idea with big map on one screen is great. Only controls (jumping) are not very comfortable. Thanks for game!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Very cool game, i like limitations.
The animation of the player looks fantastic.
Music is excellent!

Well made!

bushmango says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I like the zoom idea, but zoomed in shows too little and zoomed out is too small :/ Graphics are nice. How big is your team? Credits? Tighten up the controls and this game will be great ^.^

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:01am

Thanks for the great feedback everyone! We're already working on an improved post-compo version with better jumping and tweaked map design. We've also added a Windows exe of the current version, for those having trouble with the web version.
bushmango: There are two of us. One artist/musician (me) and one programmer.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15am

Jumps felt pretty floaty. Wasn't a bad thing, just sometimes I wanted to be able to execute smaller ones, which was sometimes hard.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36am

Really nicely put together.

vidarn says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I loved the level layout and the exploration. Good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nicely done. Graphics are crisp and vibrant and the zoom window is a nice touch. Pretty standard, but solid, platforming with great level design. Ending was a little unsatisfying, but I finished with only 23 gems so maybe there's something special if I get all 24? I will have to play again to find out... Great work!

barkergames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:52am

I love the take on the theme!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:39am

The graphics is very nice, lovely style, and I like the exploration element here.
I think, may be it will be even better if you make the jump more controlable and add an ability to scroll screen by mouse drag?
Pretty nice entry.

tMalicet says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:33am

I love this game. The graphics, music and level design is great. The controls are not smooth enough however.

nosfer says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:03pm

very nice graphics and use of theme. Very frustrating controls, collision detection and placement of "liquid" traps. It feels more like unreal tournament (floaty) jumping than super mario :)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

Whoa. Gorgeous art and a really nice, well-executed focus on organic exploration. I appreciate the zoom function and how it was realized :D Don't have anything to add to the known issues. I'd love to see a more polished (or even expanded?) version of this!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]