Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Worms

by longloaf - Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow Keys / WASD

Tools: Unity, Blender, Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#69Humor3.65
#600Audio2.63
#601Graphics3.02
#654Mood2.83
#726Theme3.47
#900Fun2.69
#907Innovation2.58
#1033Overall2.67

Comments

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09am

how does so much blood come out of such a small worm!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50am

Haha, this game is funny. And just long enough not to get boring. Nice ending!

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Although there isn't much more to it there is something oddly satisfying with the sound that those worms make when you squeeze them under your feet!

volkoivan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

Very funny, thank you!
I crushed all the worms and wasn't disappointed by the ending!
Nice!
5/5

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59am

Interesting little toy, here. Not quite a game, but I imagine quite satisfying for the right sort of person :P.

It'd be nice to have 2-3 death poses total, though.

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:00am

Have to admit, I was wondering what would happen at the end. Was not disappointed. Humor, Mood, 5 stars.

Glenugie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01am

Loving the squelching sounds, great audio for that alone

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02am

nice game!

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Good ending!

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:25pm

awesome ending! ahha

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Interesting. Not seen a game with tank controls for a long time :)

And I would decide to start eating lunch before playing this.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Hahaha! Great, I loved the ending. And those worm animations are so creepy and cool. I think you probably could have improved your audio sampling a bit as it cuts out if you stop walking! But the overall aesthetic is really nice ;)

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Hilariously awesome! Nice art and sounds! If only the worms could fight back.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Dangit, you got me. That was an unexpected ending.

trykondev says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

The models and animation are nice, I was not a huge fan of the movement controls, I would have preferred just moving in the direction you pressed. Overall a pretty good looking and disturbing game which I think is what you were going for :)

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

haha nice ending!! The controls are frustratingly slow. A timer and some obstacles and quick controls, smash all the worms before the time runs out, would have been great!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Not sure if the sounds are terrible or amazing

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Hi there. Nice ending! haha... Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Repulsive. 5/5

harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:35am

That was an experience. Love the sound! :-)

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:05pm

I like the end. and the wriggling effects

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Those poor worms! But you got me with the ending!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:51pm

lol, poor worms

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:42am

Oh! Agrr... This game is great! Created for people who likes to smash worms :)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:51am

Hahaha snowman is back once again...
Cool 3d...

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:30pm

It seems to crash on OSX. It opens for a very short time and immediately closes

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Yuck, I feel disgusted..! It was quite satisfying in the end though, even if that's probably considered animal cruelty.. great work, right in the feels!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Hahaha. The idea is crazy. I like the way each worm dies and the sound that is attached to its dead. Love it :D

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:39pm

hahaha lol

ianatherton says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:08pm

That was...different :D

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:25pm

not really a game, but a joke... a surprising joke!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Ha, nice! I like these very small games that just take two minutes to complete but still manage to surprise me in some interesting way. Well done. :)

Dec 23, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Cooool! :)

Fantastic artwork - it has that great retro feel of the indie games of the 90s made with simple 3d editors - without textures with low poly counts!
Squashing sound is great.
Humor - 5 stars, and you get it only in the end.

Concept could have been even more fun with a time counter as a way to measure efficiency and maybe ways to go faster versus making precise turns.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

nice ending, it's like Drut from Trapdoor the game :)

headchant says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

5/5 would play again

codeapparat says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

The worm movement is equally amazing and disgusting. Thankfully we can trample them. :) The FPS controls feel a bit awkward when used with a fixed camera, more like steering a vehicle. Different controls would make the game more snappy and fun. Some kind of challenge or losing condition would help to make it more exciting. Maybe a bigger worm that moves across the screen and you have to avoid it while crushing the smaller ones. The graphics are simple, but have a certain mood to it that i somehow like. Disgusting enemies in a game with ultra-simple and cute graphics is an interesting theme.

vrld says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Next gen high def graphics, crisp audio, superb gameplay and a deep narrative. Highly recommended.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]