Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Adrift

by Pixlexia - Jam Entry

Adrift is a game about solving puzzles and teamwork.

---

### HOW TO PLAY ###
WASD - Movement
Q, E - Switch characters
Space - Toggle player auto-follow
R - Use Yellow's skill (stun enemies)
Escape - Restart to last checkpoint
Enter - Skip to the end scene once you get the Green guy

Each character has a unique ability:
- Blue can open/close doors
- Red can push crates
- Yellow can stun enemies by pressing "R"
- Green can deactivate traps.

We really wanted to add more complex puzzles and mini-levels but we designed the game to be easier because we wanted you guys to finish the game and see the end scene.

UPDATE: (Dec 18, 2014)
- Crates now respawn to their original position when you die. Alternatively, you can press Escape to restart to the last checkpoint.
- Once you get Green, you can finish the remaining puzzles, or press ENTER to skip to the end scene. (Because we badly want you guys to see the end scene.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Graphics(Jam)4.31
#118Overall(Jam)3.76
#142Fun(Jam)3.59
#157Mood(Jam)3.60
#256Humor(Jam)3.12
#277Innovation(Jam)3.43
#305Audio(Jam)3.20
#1014Theme(Jam)1.88
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53am

Cute, too bad id has no sound :/

oatsbarley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I really like the art style. Cute characters!

Kep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Very cute animations. I really like the abstracted 'making friends' action. It doesn't matter what they are saying, all that matters is that they are talking and it takes some time.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The graphics and puzzles are awesome! Love it! The minimal sounds are very fitting.
-Steffen

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:59pm

What a lovely game ! Very enjoyable and relaxing to play.

Reyn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great art, the game makes me think of botanicula. You definitely need to take this further. Just a shame about the theme :-|

anokta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:17pm

art style is lovely! definitely deserves more attention. one thing though is that i couldn't relate the idea to the theme (i got stuck just after getting the green guy join our 'family' though, my bad if there is something else at the end).

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Funny game, but I get stuck sometimes when a box gets in a corner and I'm no longer able to recover it and move it again to the place I need it to be! Anyway, I love the art style and the mechanics of 4 characters cooperating with their own abilities. Overall a nice game!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:08pm

So cute! Yet the ending was so sad. I wanted everyone to be on the raft :_( Nice work!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Can not play, Unity webplayer does not support Linux OS's.
(you can export executables for Linux, though)

Teesquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:34am

Great job! I really enjoyed the challenges:) It was an emotional ending. It made me feel blue:....(

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:24am

Fun game with cute characters

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:48am

Nice game! I guess this would be "Entire Game on one Scene" =) I got stuck after getting the green guy, I couldn't see a way to cross the red square or stop the red lasers. Art is great, and animations as well.

01101101 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Very nice graphics, cool puzzle gameplay but I got stuck just like vinull.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Nice work on the graphics. Interesting mechanism.

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really nice puzzle game! Awesome arts, don't know how it fits into the theme though... Also, I got stuck when my red character push the cube to far. The red laser didn't let me get it back..

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Awesome music. Awesome graphics. Awesome work.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:59pm

This was great! Love the little characters, art was minimalist but really worked. I'd like to see more visual feedback when stunning and the ability to pull blocks, but other than that it's really slick. Would like to see more of this world!

pht59x says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:55pm

jQuery is causing trouble with FF: the game does not load.

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Cute game. I didn't see the theme and I had trouble with perspective, but I had fun and it reminded me goblins and the lost vikings

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to use green's power.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Excellent presentation with this game, love the graphical style, very cute. Decent gameplay too, reminded me of Thomas Was Alone a bit. Good stuff!

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:18am

ADORABLE! Very thoughtful of you guys to include the ability to skip to the end :)

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Wow... Beautiful! Well done art style and mood. I Loved this game (notice big L in Love). Only 3 flaws: I still don't understand green's mechanics (although I somehow passed that puzzle), I don't get theme correlation, sprites sometimes overlaps themselves in wrong way.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:42am

Wow really cute game. I like the design and feel of the audio. The graphic are simple but really charming. Overall really nice!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:01am

The first half of the game seemed pretty well designed which leads to wander why the second half had so many bad design choices. There was no indication that only the red guy could pass over the red floor, which is especially confusing since you just got the green guy. Also why is it that the green guy can only be used on one switch that looks like all the other switches that the blue guy steps on.

I liked this game and I hope you'll fix all the problems it has right now. It's just a shame that they're there in the first place.

-AlucardX60

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:19pm

great art and animation, and fun gameplay, don't know if it really fits the theme though/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]