Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lone Wolf

by KeinBaum - Jam Entry

Play a Wolf! Hunt prey but beware the other wolves.

Controls: WASD



Unfortunately this game is rather minimal due to lack of time. More enemies and prey with better tactics were planned, as well as starting your own wolf pack (hence the initial title "Wolf Pack") but these features aren't finished yet. Maybe I'll continue working on it and upload a post mortem version.

Also please leave a comment if the website is unreachable. I have no idea how much bandwidth it has to offer.


Changelog:
- Fixed dead animals still moving
- Fixed dead hunters still dealing damage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#324Theme(Jam)3.73
#559Innovation(Jam)2.95
#659Fun(Jam)2.85
#674Overall(Jam)3.02
#724Humor(Jam)2.14
#770Graphics(Jam)2.68

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

I can't seem to play this game... my character will be moving around and then will randomly turn grey and freeze.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

Cool game! I love these sorts. Minimalist graphics come across very well. And the AI might be simple but it still felt intelligent. Good job for such a limited amount of time.

cdwaddell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

I did not give this the highest stats, but I enjoyed it. I feel as though with some time and work on the controls and setting that it could be a lot more fun. In a way, it is another version of feeding frenzy, with the poop included.

pfitzner says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

I eagerly await whatever you end up deciding to do with this; I figured out that the smartest strategy was ambushing hunters while they were "eating".

KeinBaum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

@TheMonsterFromTheDeep
Does your character move around on its own? That shouldn't be happening. Dying from moving to much is intended though, you're starving. Catch and eat some prey (the green ones) to prevent that.

doos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

It took me a little while to understand what was going on, but when I did, I liked the minimalist style. Am I supposed to be able to eat wolves that are feeding?

KeinBaum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:17am

@doos:
Of course. Those are not the smartest kind of wolf so it' a pretty good tactic to attack them while they are distracted.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

If I hold a key for short time I lose the ability to control it

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

The game feels fun but the controls are a little buggy for me, the character tend to go forward if I move too much.
Nice work anyway. :)

gquibao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Enjoyed the game, but I think some sounds would be awesome here. The game is good, but the total silence kind annoys me a bit. Though it is a really interesting game. Nicely done!!

sergi0vargas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50am

Realy Fun!!

Johnro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:52am

I really liked playing this game. At first, it was highly difficult because of how crafty the green dots were at avoiding the player character, but after some time I was able to grow larger, and thus, harder to avoid. Very fun gameplay.
The game does align with the theme (though I, having a small screen, did have to scroll a little bit to see the bottom :P ) and so it got five stars for that as well.
I'm not sure how innovative this game is, though; it seems to work on the same logic as games such as Katamari Damacy: roll into smaller objects to get bigger. Since it wasn't especially innovative, it gets a three.
Where this game really shone through were the graphics (minimalist in a way that made sense) and fun (the game remained challenging, even after I gained in size). I might recommend in the future working on pacing; I assume that the spawns are random, but that often leaves gaps a few seconds long before another animal comes into view.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:56am

I like the game! The bug that occurs when you hold down an arrow key too long makes it tricky, but other than that I loved it. My only qualm was that it wasn't necessarily innovative, but good nonetheless.

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Lovely minimal little game, I like the Osmos/Solar style with a minimal aesthetic.

klave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:23pm

+1 for the aesthetics and the fluidity of the movement.

hectorhon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I like the minimalist style! Would be great if there were a high scores or something.

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Cool game, I die really too fast though. There's a dominant strategy about the small preys, the green one, which is going to the border of the screen where they can't run away, I just can't seem to it them when they are in the center of the screen, they avoid me to fast. The bigger ones that are also predator are easier to eat.
Well, with some soundtrack to get the player on the mood this would easily be much more attractive, also, making it easier for the player not to die, then he could just get into the mood and enjoy being a lone wolf =)

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I actually like the visuals a lot, it just works really well in context. AI felt quite smart, colour me impressed.

friggingames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I can't seem to figure out how to play it either. Seems to be freezing. But I love the minimalism!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Interesting to look at the behaviors and interactions. Good job!

hd_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45pm

I enjoyed the evolutionary symbolism of this.

Rothens says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Definitely needs more work, but it's a nice start, so keep up! :)

sputnik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Il love the minimalisme of it. quite interesting.

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:24am

Very hard to catch the green things when you're still small. Bug: Died to a pink thing which was 1/10 of my size

Ossi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:42am

Very simple and minimalist graphics style. I really like the way the movement feels and your use of the theme was well done, keeping the bounds to the browser window! Cool entry!

KeinBaum says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:06am

@MMOOxy: That's not a bug. They will attack and damage you regardless of their size.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:16am

This game provided a really good challenge! The prey was really hard to catch unless you managed to corner it.

Wish the game screen was a little smaller, because I had a tiny amount of scrollbar on my browser.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:41am

Felt like this entry could have been a little more engaging, especially considering the Jam status. It was entertaining and simple, but the mechanics were not immediately obvious. Perhaps an instruction screen wouldn't be amiss. Overall, a great entry that has quite a bit of potential, especially with more dynamic AI and some balancing.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:21am

I think i just crashed the game. Or maybe i died starving ? that was weird :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:31pm

The red guys was defeat me! The are so fast :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]