Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Christmas, Deer

by LabOne - Compo Entry

Careful, this game contains violence and blood.
Control: mouse.

Audio may not work for some reason. And don't know why, gamemaker doesnt fit with some browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#132Humor3.33
#254Graphics3.58
#468Fun3.17
#523Mood2.96
#781Overall2.98
#988Innovation2.44
#1163Theme2.48

Comments

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Doesn't work, Chrome

LabOne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:20pm

@stray
You should try another browser or desktop version.

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Apparently the web version only works sometimes :(

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Beautiful, funny, but, uh, theme fail. Nice job anyway.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm

I tried the web and it was pretty cool ! The graphics look really cute i love it *^*

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Works fine on IE11. That was fun, timing is everything when it comes to swinging at the reindeer.

Rozaxe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45pm

So fun ! I like the blood and snow effect !

Benjamin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:47pm

55 ! ( On the web version ).
I challenge you to make as much juggle on my game ! :D

The intro screen is gold.

jlouisB says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Works for me with Firefox

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Greate runner! Work on firefox normal!

LabOne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29pm

>OldPeculier says ...
>Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:43pm
>Beautiful, funny, but, uh, theme fail. Nice job anyway.
But snowman... ('-')

mechabit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

cute snowman

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:31am

Graphics are quite nice and the reasoning for why he's killing the deer's is funny! easy controls and runs smoothly. Great job!

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:50am

oh man... doesn't work! Congratulations anyway. :/

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:52am

Great graphics! I like this style. Overall this is a great work.
By the way web link is doesn't work.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:23pm

So much cuteness!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Really nice, I think the controls are solid, the difficulty levels up a great pace which makes it very replayable, the parallax effect with the score and text in the background is amazing. Great touch that you can only axe things when the axe is actually swinging in front of you, so that also needs a sense of timing. Very well done, it all keeps an even level!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Confirm doesn't work with Chrome/W8.1 combo.

LabOne says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:06am

With W8.1 It works on IE11, lol. As they said in their ad -
IE Sucks... less.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Wow, the game starts moving really quick really fast! That's not a bad thing, though, the sense of movement feels great! It took me a bit to realize that the axe animation had just to be playing to deal damage, I thought at first that the axe itself should hit the reindeer.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice graphics.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:58pm

THOSE GRAPHICS ARE SO ADORABLE

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:01pm

You must really hate reindeers.
My sore is 140.
Works well in IE11.
Oh and I really enjoyed it :)

Logun says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Haha you get easy stars with that introduction :D The game is a bit too simplist sadly, I want more way to slaughter these $*#@% deers ^^

LabOne says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:43pm

@Logun
I will make special version version for you, my friend.

Dezzles says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:57am

Can't get it to work :(

thiaguera says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Nice graphics and animation.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:57pm

My only problem is that the axe attack is a little non-transparent. To explain: take Robot Unicorn Attack as an example: when you do your dash attack the attack starts immediately and it's clear exactly how long the invulnerability lasts for. With this it seems like I have to predict when the axe will reach it's peak swing. I'm not sure if that's the case, but that's what the animation makes me believe. Other than that, the game's terrific.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Lol. Mega-addictive game. With some issues and bugs, yes, but is nothing compared with the fun I had playing this. Absolutelly stunning!! Really, awesome. Congratulations. Something so simple but so addictive... :D

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

worked fine with IE 11, nice graphics !

-C

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice game, I love the art!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]