Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tyrannicide

by koujaku - Compo Entry

"You either die a hero, or you live long enough to see yourself become the villian." - Harvey Dent

Even a well meaning dictator can become a tyrant, and in this case, Nemo, the once noble time traveler succumbed to the power of the very items he swore to protect the world from. Nivea, queen of the Wraiths, never had any love for the man, but had always hoped his honest roots would keep him in check. Now though, Nemo's behavior has become erratic and hostile, an unpredictable wild-card more likely to harm than to help.

You play as Umbra the Shadow Wraith, part of Queen Nivea's elite guard, and you have been sent to end Nemo's reign. Use your ability to teleport through space to gain an advantage over your foes, storm the castle, and deal with the rogue tyrant Nemo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#140Fun3.63
#220Graphics3.67
#266Mood3.28
#314Overall3.44
#372Innovation3.38
#1204Theme1.80

Comments

ecoay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Would be a good game if followed LD theme. However it doesn't take place on a single screen.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

VERY COOL!!!! Well done sir

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really interesting concept. The art was pretty cool too. I'd like to add that it took a while for me to understand the teleportation mechanic.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07am

Enjoyable :3 the teleport function is pretty cool *-*

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08am

Super awesome teleport. Slashing feels really good too.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:14am

A nice little game. Loved the style!

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:15am

This is one of the funniest games I have ever played.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:29am

Nice game. :) But, the theme doesn't suit the game.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30am

Fun game! I liked the teleport mechanic a lot.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

Really didn't fit the theme at all. The teleportation mechanic was great though!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

Love the sword fighting combat mechanics! The teleport is fun too.

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32am

Interesting concept, could see a lot of interesting puzzles being made with it. Environments are nicely detailed.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42am

Great mechanics! But I think since its level based it doesent fit theme so much. But, anyway, its pretty interesting and enjoyable to play! Great job!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

Cool concept. I love the art! I don't see how it follows the theme but it is a neat idea. It took me a while to figure out how the teleportation works.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

I enjoyed playing this one :)

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30am

Reminds me of classic Prince of Persia, except this is more fun. :)

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

Good game. Teleporting is fun.
The walls could use a non-friction material to not get stuck on them when jumping against. Jumping itself feels not as good as teleporting.
And the theme is missing.

prymidion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45am

Pretty cool mechanic-- I like the teleport/attack rhythm of the fighting. This could be turned into a cool longer game.

However, I got stuck on walls while jumping, and enemies didn't start attacking me until the 3rd level.

Not sure how this fits the "one screen" theme though...

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46am

Wow, this is great. Once you have the controls figured out it's becoming really action packed.
Great art style too.

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47am

Neat game! Looks good and was a decent challenge. I think I beat the king by glitching him out (I teleported onto his head, then he let me just attack him freely). Including the arena mode was a nice bonus, too! Well done!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54am

Final boss is too strong to defeat, but at last I step his head and kill him with my speed slash. :D

icedvariables says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01am

Great fun, the boss is bloody difficult though

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

Fun :)

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Really liked the art style, missed some animations.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

The teleport mechanic is Awesome!

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I think it's worth to keep making this game. One of the bests entries!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Enemies suddenly behave and react differently in later stages despite being the same enemies from stage one.

Really floaty jump just doesnt feel right.

Awesome graphics and style. Cool mechanic.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Being able to teleport was very cool, nice effect when you do it too :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:59am

good game! the boss battle seems kinda hard and unfair :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Holy crap, very well done! Fluid movement, awesome mechanics, good graphics! Nothing bad to say about this!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:40am

Really nice game! Felt great. The absence of music actually added to what I felt was quite a stealthy game, teleporting behind bad guys and jabbing them to death. Interesting that you didn't have to kill all the bad guys either. All down to how you play. Really enjoyable - only downside is theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hi there. Bookmarked for a return visit, excellent fun. Like the mechanics/light bubble around 'revealed'. Fun unpicking the defences. Nice sounds. Some quiet background music might be nice... or wind or something... Good job!

guldlock says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The teleportation/slowmotion ability was awesome. The boss made the game. It looked really cool holding down the teleportationbutton and slash around the character :D well done

karol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:24am

I loved the game. Amazing graphics and gameplay. I can't really pinpoint why, but I feel jumping isn't quite perfect.

MaesK says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Lack of theme, but the game is great! I liked a lot these powers, they remind me of Tragalgar Law from One Piece: Teleport and slash them :D

Excellent work... but is it possible to beat the final boss? He always kills me on the spot.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Unity Webplayer does not support Linux.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

))))))))

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

I guess it's good. It's certainly playable, nice animation and sound. Do you really only have one 'life', though? That seems like it would get frustrating pretty quickly. Also, there's some story on the game page, but within the game itself there doesn't seem to be much incentive to do stuff...

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Very nice, polished game with a great mechanic. A shame it wasn't longer.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

Fun game, though I wish it fit the theme better and had more animations.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

I didn't see the relation with the theme, but the game was great !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]