Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Yuki and Snow

by Raiyumi - Jam Entry

Note: Unfortunately saving doesn't work - but the game is pretty short. Have fun!

Yuki and Snow want some yummy cheesecake - so how will you get it if the front door is locked!? Use the mouse to move Yumi around and interact with objects in this point-n-click puzzler. Enjoy!

Controls :
Mouse to interact
M to Mute

Misc: This is my 4th successful LD entry and probably the harshest - and most difficult to make. This time I went out of my comfort zone to make a point-n-click style game. But alas - I have completed it!

If you need some hints - check out this page:

Downloads and Links




cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42am

Awesome artwork. I wish more people played your game, cause it looks amazing. Good job! :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Superb graphism and a really smooth design, i love it!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Great atmosphere. I love the background music.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Great graphics and audio!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Love the art!

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I love the style, graphics. UI animation is awesome. Unfortunately, can't get out of the room =(

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Prety graphics and a good soundtrack but some bug

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Amazing graphics, audio and mood!

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

I suck at this kind of games but this is top notch as far as i can see. Really well drawn graphics and a nice palette.

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Also enjoyed the artwork and music aswell! I picked up bunch of things and release the cat but then i got stuck with the code in the book :D

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Beautiful game, but I couldn't figure out how to open the chest and gave up.

RadStar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Cool atmosphere and beatiful art!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Awesome graphics I love this kind of art, congratulations for the work! great game

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:28pm

The art is very nice and I enjoyed the setting, however I got stuck and gave up after I used the broom on the watch, sorry :(

LMT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Very interesting nice game. Keeps to the theme very well and a nice mood. However I'm not particulalrey good at these xD

ceosol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

The combination locks on the chest and phone seem to be broken. I tried all of the combinations that you can get by examining objects and none seemed to work. Just by happenstance the things unlocked as I was clicking through possibilities. I don't even know what I was on when they opened. Was there a purpose to the cat other than looking cute?

Don't take all of that to mean that I didn't like the game, I thought it was fantastic for 72 hours :)

Aomeas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very good mood, but i got stuck too after having the "code" in the book and the clock on the table. A spoiler would be great :3

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

@ceosol : Thanks for bringing it up. The book code works fine, but on the pocketwatch the roman numeral "I" is supposed to be 12, not 1. My mistake.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I love the music so much! Also, excellent graphics! I wish I could beat it...

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I'm a sucker for games with a great atmosphere! :D

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

@ceosol - re:raiyumi : Actually I take back what I said about the clock. Rather, just look at it like a normal clock instead, and not be mislead by the roman numerals. :P

Mase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I dig the graphics and music, but I don't understand the codebook... thought about it for like 10 minutes... still nothing.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Pretty awesome, but man is that code for the chest hard to crack. I feel like I'm missing something.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Nice game with a calm mood and atmosphere, I like it a lot.
The puzzles are pretty difficult though. Couldn't understand the codes and get the chest open. Perhaps that part could have used simpler logic?

torcado194 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:14am

Amazing art, sound, and animation. very inspiring!
The puzzle was very difficult for me. I think the reason why is because there was so much information with the two clocks before reading the book that i thought the numbers for the chest came from the clocks, not entirely from the book. Maybe if you made the situation with the cat come after opening the chest, it would've been less confusing. Otherwise, i thought it was very clever and cute! There were a lot more puzzle oportunities you could've done, but what you have is fine concidering the time limit and how polished the game is.
I did encounter one bug where i picked up the book(?) from my inventory and it somehow got stuck at the bottom of my screen, and i couldnt put it back and also couldn't click on anything else, which forced me to reset. Which wasn't a big deal because it's so short.
Anyway, great job! I can't wait to see more from you

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:21am

Wish it would have been easier to solve, even with the hints I have no idea. Time and Math is hard. Puzzles without any guidance are hard. Great graphics, music and controls, enjoyed trying to figure it out.

Larry says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I confirmed that I'm terrible with point-n-click games. I really do like the graphics and the music matches the mood.

t4u says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Beautiful but we need hints.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Awesome artwork which is really impressive. I am not a story fan, but I liked it. Neat and well done. THX ++

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Love the art! Backgroudmusic is great!

CosyCave says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:53am

Beautiful graphics and I love the mood on this one. I couldn't solve the chest puzzle but that didn't stop me from enjoying this game. Great work!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:37am

I really sucked at this game, I couldn't figure out the combination. But anyway the music was great, the sound effects where cute, and the visuals where adorable. A very good experience.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:50am

Great looking game, like the colour palette.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Lovely looking game. I really liked the way the textboxs popped up, so nice. Great entry that feels highly polished with it's graphics and audio. Also congratulations on your 4th successful LD.

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice graphics but unfortunatly book didn't work for me( Wish I could play longer

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Impressive presentation! All the little detail create very nice atmosphere.

Unfortunately I wasn't able to solve the puzzle without the hints as well. It's seems that, along the lines of what torcado194 said, the design is at odds with the common setup for password puzzles: there's one item that has the password, another one that maps the password symbols to some other symbols, and the third item for entering the resulting symbols. Since the book acts as two former ones combined, there's a lot of space for possible interpretations (my most reasonable theory was that the numbers in the book are sums of the numbers assigned to a pair of symbols near them, but it obviously didn't quite work out).
Sorry for the long rant, I just thought it was interesting to think why is it hard to figure out the solution.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56pm

@alfadur : Thanks! It was really hard trying to come up with the puzzles in the short time frame when I had trouble getting the thing to work. But you gave me a really good idea for puzzle design. :)

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25pm

@Raiyumi: Glad I could help, would be great to see more of these puzzles. :)

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:59am

Wonderful job of the mood of the game and the pixel art is superb, I wish you could examine something after you pick it up though, because I accidentally pickup something too quick and didn't read what it was

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:34pm

What a cute cat! I realy love this game!

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Good job on the pixel art and the general mood of the game, everything about the game feels very polished.

Honestly I had a hard time figuring out how to open the chest, but I'm usually no good at this type of game.

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:24am

Wow amazing game ! Love all, mood, gfx, idea and gameplay, very good pixelart piece here, in my top for sure ! Congratz !

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:54am

It's so cute >.< Kawaii desu ne!
Though the game is not long, the graphics and audio blend together to make a very consistent-feeling environment. The game style may be simple, but the game is very smooth and well-polished. I absolutely love it!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:52am

Just awesome!(ohh the colors!)5/5.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:54am

Really great entry! Nice and relaxing music, awesome pixel art and cool game design (even if the puzzles were very confusing).

Overall, I have to say it's one of the best games so far xD

Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:36am

Hmm... this is a visually gorgeous entry with great audio design. I love the color choices, especially that little point of red from mom's flowers, and the character design is solid. All of the point-and-click is great, too (other than a bug I found where I had to use my book to get the clock down--my broom wouldn't animate correctly). I only wish that the puzzles had been a bit better-scaffolded, because I really felt in the end that I was playing a guessing game with no logical way to think through the proceedings :/ I so wanted to help Yuki and Snow get out of the room, and yet... !

Thank you for the game -><- I'm looking forward to seeing you next jam!

Ulydev says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:18am

5/5 ! A masterpiece, I really loved it though I wasn't able to solve the puzzle. My bad :(

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:08pm

How do I use my items on stuff? Drag & drop doesn't work :/
Great graphics and mood, btw.

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Nice artwork, I like it a lot! I got stuck at some point thought so didn't play it till the end.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:16pm

THE PRESENTATION ON THIS GAME IS AMAZING. It's beautiful. Perfect color work. Love the sound. Those tweens. Oh yes.

This is the first great game I've rated so far. I couldn't finish the puzzles, but the mood is so amazing I'm happy to just sit around in this house and enjoy the sights and sounds.

So good!!!!!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:33pm

cute game, love the artwork and the music, well done

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Can't solve the combination puzzle, I'm completely stuck :( It's really hard! Apart from that: great game, nice music and visual style, really beautiful! And it has a cat :D Well done!

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:26am

Beautiful graphics and audio. I especially like the UI, it pops really well. I beat it and loved it, but I found it a bit hard to work out what to do after picking up the book.

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I'm awful at puzzles so I got stuck fairly quickly, but I love the music and art you put into the game! The palette makes me drool it's so beautiful.

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Great atmosphere! =D
I found the game too hard, but was able to beat it after reading the comments and the tips.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:01am

I really don't have the patience to play that kind of games... and since I could find a way to get the watch I just gave up. Is there a walkthrough somewhere that I could use to evaluate the whole game?

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday:
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

el-pepi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very cute graphics. The clock puzzle was a little weird, I didn't have a clue that I had to sum.

Night says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Such beautiful game and good mood. And I like a story.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:27pm

@PapyPilgrim : Unfortunately, there's no walkthrough of the full game yet. :(

@Rick : Thanks!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:03am

Nice art, I try to figure how to open the chest. But that not work... Good game by the way!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:22am

Beautiful artwork!

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Once again you created a delightful relaxing atmosphere, really nice game, congratulations :) !

Is there any way to DL the music ^^ ?

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Game glitched and the broom flew away lol

Relaxing game, but the challenge lacked somewhere, didn't feel much motivation to keep searching for the clues to open the treasure chest.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Good entry and awesome pixelart!
It's a pretty cool point'n'click game. Took me a while to solve it and I used the hints hehehe. If I hadn't limited time to vote, I probably wouldn't have used the hints. However, depending on the game I like to finish it before voting to enjoy it fully :3
Also, it has nice audios and fits very well with the theme. Great work!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:55am

@NicePenguins : I've uploaded it to soundcloud and you could DL it there.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:12am

The ui is so juicy, really like it! Love the graphics and color palette!

I couldn't finish, i don't know what to do to solve the treasure chest and what to do with the book!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:02pm

The puzzle just doesn't make sense to me... even with the hints

ncannasse says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Nice game ! Would have prefered the enigma to be less number-oriented :)

Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Pretty cool! The graphics are lovely. I never did figure out the secret code, but maybe I'm not very good at that... ;)

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:35am

I enjoyed the artwork and music so much. Great work.

Tifu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:44am

I love the interface and everything, the way the text boxes pop up is really good. Nice music. Nice graphics. I just can't figure out anything though, I've rubbed every item I have against every other item and am all out of things :P

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Beatiful presentation! Couldn't opn the chest :(

VDZ says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:33pm

It's unusual for me to say this, but this game is just way too hard. I always finish games before rating them, but for this one I just have to make an exception - it's just impossible to finish without having the entire solution spoiled to me (and nobody in the comments is spoiling it).

The big problem with this game is that almost the entire game is contained in one single puzzle that isn't divided into sub-puzzles. In practice this means that no matter how much you get right, you never get any confirmation you're on the right track - you just have to take the leap and reason it out using lots of assumptions and then pray you were on the right track. But you weren't, so you go back to the drawing board and have to try all over again. It would be far more doable if the game let you know when you're on the right track via sub-puzzles or clearer hints, like some kind of puzzle featuring only the relation between the watch and the clock (assuming there is some relation), and using whatever comes out of that puzzle instead of the currently unverifiable information from the clock/watch puzzle itself.

I really wanted to love this game - it's highly polished, graphics are amazing, mood is great, I love the music and it does everything right for sound design. But this is a puzzle that can't reasonably be figured out except through tons of trial and error. The more steps you have to take before you get confirmation you're doing things right, the higher the chance that you're using the wrong approach to solving the puzzle, and in this case it just kills the game in my opinion.

gelisam says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

For those who, like me, wished for an extra hint for the chest puzzle:


dunin says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:54pm

nice polished game. UI and graphics are really cool.
For me, puzzle are not enough fanciful (but I prefer lucas art games to escape room...), I don't have the "wow clever"-effect by solving it...

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Beautiful art and music, great point&click game!

egor-idiot says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Awesome gfx. Nece game!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:30am

This is a really well-executed, polished submission. The artwork and subtle effects really bring it all together--great work!

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]