Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Abdominal Snowman

by Dissiden7 - Jam Entry

Take the role of the infamous ABDOMINAL SNOWMAN and try to escape the icy caves.
Use your fabulous abs to abcrobatically navigate the 7 halls of the caves without losing all your protein snow.

-----------------------------------------
CONTROLS:
Left and Right arrow keys to move, Up arrow key to jump.

(Only tested on Safari OS X)
-----------------------------------------

I decided to disable the Theme category as we kind of went down the route of the Snowman, like some other grinches.
We ended up using the theme as a level design limitation but just so that we could say we used the theme.



Coded by me (@joaoguerra) and Arted by Simon (@Si_Ashbery) during the little free time we had this weekend.
Hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#416Humor(Jam)2.74
#468Audio(Jam)2.81
#472Fun(Jam)3.08
#534Overall(Jam)3.18
#626Graphics(Jam)3.03
#683Innovation(Jam)2.76
#733Mood(Jam)2.71

Comments

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:47am

Fun little platformer. I liked the shrinking mechanic, made some levels very tense! A bit difficult to jump off the walls, but was still pretty fun.

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice graphics, I liked it good job :D

Ozeotropo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Good one! Nice mechanics

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:24pm

The shrinking mechanic is a nice twist. Also, I like the 3(?)
frame running animiation a lot. Managed to finish the game, but without getting a single star in the last level, otherwise I would always die shortly before the goal. Is there a trick I haven't figured out?

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Noooooooo, i'm melting ! :D
Pretty fun game !

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Don't you mean, *ab*crobatically? ;D

Anyway, this was pretty fun! I've only seen a shrinking thing like that in one other game. Also, the snowman's animation is excellent. Good work!

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32pm

@ShellfishGames yes, it is possible. but hard. :)
@Chaoseed YES I DID!! (no I didn't but I'll edit) :P

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Awesome! Very good leveldesign (in case of ramping, and explaining the player the mechanics without textboxes and whatsoever). And I really like the Audio!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00pm

The shrinking mechanic is really *cool* ;D

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Cool idea! I hope you continue it after lD! Good job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very cool, challenging levels and funny character. The music really sets the mood for the game. The controls could be a little more smooth, i felt like the character wall slide was strange, as if it was stuck to the wall more than it should (hard to describe actually).

Overall a very nice game, has potential, with some more polish to the controls and maybe one or two extra mechanics could easily become a christmas themed game! :)

Zathalos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

Dem abs :) Cool concept.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:25am

cool but the wall jump is PITA. He shoud bounce of the while on it to make easier jump.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:22am

I like the mechanic at the top! simple but solid gameplay great effort!

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:41am

Nice plattformer with a interesting shrinking mechanic. Well done.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very clever idea with the wall climbing. I didn't realize how you were supposed to get to high areas at first. I couldn't make it through the last level or two without jumping so the snowman melted more slowly.

Abdominal Snowman is a great title.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:31am

I like the idea of getting smaller as you walk around :D ... original ... works well on linux

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:47am

The core mechanics is cool and well thought. I think the mechanic and gameplay would have make even more sens with a regular round shaped snowman :) (you current bad ass char design is fun though)

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Good character and funny gameplay. I think this is a good idea for the mobile platform =))

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:37am

The snowman is pretty nice, but he can't jump so high to complete the 3rd level

Dissiden7 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys and gals.

You can complete all levels with all the stars.
After you nail down the wall jump (which admittedly could be easier to pull off) you should only have a hard time with the last 2 levels.

Have fun. :)

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:09pm

nice game, really interesting with wall climbing and shrinking mechanics. Nice job.

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:31am

Clever mechanic. I think some polish on the UI would go a long way to make the game feel more complete. The stars, and the buttons didn't really match the snowman or the level art.

I liked when the levels required you to have shrunk in order to progress. Some more puzzle elements would be great.

Also, not sure if it is meant to be a pun, because the actual term is abominable snowman. Maybe I missed something.

pht59x says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

An okay platformer. Music is too repetitive.

orion_black says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Interesting concept. It would be nice to see a more fleshed out version with less lineal levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]