Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Energy Supply

by Daniel Debert - Compo Entry

PLEASE DON'T VOTE AFTER A MINUTE OF THE GAME. IT KILLS LUDUM DARE.



To launch double click the jar file.
If it does not work then reinstall Java 8.
Try also running it from the console by using command:
* java -jar EnergySupply.jar


Follow me on twitter : https://twitter.com/Ghandhikus


To use source:
1. Download it
2. Open projects (eclipse) or create from sources
- There are two projects inside
- core for the core :)
- desktop for jar export
3. Link libraries if needed from EnergySupply_lib.rar
4. If something does not work then feel free to ask me on twitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#597Humor2.43
#696Overall3.07
#718Graphics2.82
#793Fun2.84
#816Theme3.39
#856Audio2.04
#857Mood2.58
#882Innovation2.64

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:18pm

quite nice but I think still easy

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38am

@wandersenus I made it a lit easy so that people won't spend hours and hours playing it.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16am

Downloaded JAR. Closes as soon as I open it (Win 7 x64).

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

^ Launch it through console.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:25am

Still doesn't work:
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: java.lang.Math.floorDiv(II)I
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)
Caused by: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: java.lang.Math.floorDiv(II)I
at com.clockwise.energy.ext.maps.TileData.setTile(TileData.java:72)
at com.clockwise.energy.ext.maps.TileData.generateMap(TileData.java:114)
at com.clockwise.energy.MainScreen.Init(MainScreen.java:81)
at com.clockwise.energy.ext.screens.ScreenManager.Init(ScreenManager.java:67)
at com.clockwise.energy.Game.create(Game.java:24)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Try downloading Java 8.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Just thought of that, after checking what version I had (7). Works now!

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice game, easy but funny

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04am

Doesn't run under java 7 :(

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

^ I am fixing that right now.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:18am

Should be fixed.

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

A nice satisfying little economy game. It would be cool if you got more indication of just how much better the gas/coal/oil/nuclear plants were compared to earlier versions, it didn't feel that obvious how much better they were.

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:57am

It's fun to see so much money.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01am

@Wilson, I have left it to curiosity.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:17am

I started with a Wind Turbine Selected and that confused me for a bit because I realized I didn't have enough money to play it.

I like the concept, I could imagine a game about an energy economy that you play against/with other players.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:30pm

^ That is forcing people to click on the button.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I love management game so you game is special to me :D
It's quite slow for testing even when running it in the background
But I really like it

Timm638 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I downloaded your game and in the first seconds i realized that this is a incremental game.

=Innovation=
I try it to compare it to other incrementals [cookie-clicker like games].
That the building are built on a limited field is unusual and good, but also

=Fun=!

=Theme=
Medium, Good

=Graphics=
Good

=Overall=
I would rate you 4 stars, but the placement system is still buggy, you can place multiple storages on one spot.
Why didn't you thought on a autobuyer for coal and uran.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Autobuy system would make this game pointless. Placement should be fixed ;___; I will check that again.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nah... It works fine. There are 3 types, 1x1 2x1 and 2x2. Their height however spans a little above the blocks they stand on, that's due perspective.

Tanner says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice idle game.

Dontre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

Nice game, it`s a good idea to calculate earned money when u start game again. I have 50 bil $ now.

XTremEive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I think I didn't get everything. But the simulation is running... That's a win.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Its like cookie clicker without sound

CrefossusJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39am

Good start, other comments pretty much have said it all (a bit slow ish). Windows that pop up kind of kill the theme for literal interpretation, but at least the play area is one window.

DevWouter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:49am

I'm sorry to say that this does't feel like a game. You just build stuf and wait for the money to roll in so you can build the next thing. If there was something like maintenance then there would be some strategic element in what and how you build.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:50am

^ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_game

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:55am

If you don't get the game then don't vote on it.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Ok I like the concept, but I'm stuck. I deleted the solar panels before having the money to build another one.. How can I reset the values(I like the idea to keep the money saved even if the game is closed, but now this thing became a problem for me! :D)
BTW graphic looks nice! I'll vote you anyway. Nice job.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Near jar you have save.kryo file, delete it to restart.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:45pm

cool guys.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Always nice to see an economic sim in Ludum Dare.

I think there's some bugs with placement, a few times I was able to put things on tiles that weren't already empty.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I confirm, cool game. :D

gmaker says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:19pm

fun little game =) good job!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I love building stuff! :)

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Good work! it´s a cool game but maybe needs to adjust the difficulty

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]