Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Square, Big Tower

by EvilObjective - Compo Entry

You live next to a massive tower. The guy who owns the tower took your pineapple. You are going to climb that tower and get your pineapple back!

Press A and D to move left/right
Space to Jump (and wall jump) and swim
Press R to restart from the last checkpoint
Press J if the jump mechanic stops working. It should work again after pressing J.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#51Fun3.83
#107Overall3.74
#140Humor3.31
#184Audio3.36
#305Mood3.23
#574Graphics3.07
#735Innovation2.89
#1139Theme2.67

Comments

FinnMacd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23am

Great game! i had a lot of fun playing it. I'm glad you think im a winner.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Loved it. Shed a tear at the end. Great visuals, the audio was perfect for the game. My only complaint is the noise that mashing the spacebar to swim made my keyboard make. Maybe add an option for hold to swim? Awesome job, only one level (well, almost) but its a huge one.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Love the physics. Really solid gameplay. A little light on the theme implementation, but overall nice game.

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25am

I really like the platforming aspect.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

Cool concept. Not sure if it totally fits the theme, but I did like the gameplay. I especially liked that you got back your double jump no matter what terrain you hit, ceiling or wall. There were some frustrating moments, however.

JFern says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26am

Pretty fun platformer and the controls felt nice. I think the theme was a bit off but I did like the misleading beginning (plus the hard way which was worth it haha). SFX were sort of grating when playing through (like the lasers). Reminds me a lot of N+ :)

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27am

Huh, the bouncy platforms are surprisingly fun, when you can get yourself caught between two of them :).

Also: "J" opens to an infinite-jump-in-midair exploit. Luckily, that's doesn't circumvent too much of the challenge.

jmborden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

This was the first game that I've played in this compo that drew me in. Nice work!

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

Great game ! I has very nice Super Meat Boy feel to it !

doitle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:36am

Controls really well and is a fun platformer. Definitely reminds me of Super Meat Boy. I don't really get how it fits with the theme though?

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:38am

I liked the epic fall at the start of the game, and the fact that I got to fight bad guys for my pineapple.
Physics were good!

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Loved it ! Especialy the great level design. It's like a huge level of Meat Boy with a bowser at the end !

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I liked the level design quite a bit, though some parts seemed unnecessarily punishing. Overall I enjoyed it.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Pretty fun, liked the intro.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Fun platformer! Some parts of the work confused me, like the part that says "Continue" and "Home" but there were some nicely laid out puzzles in this.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

NOOOOOOOOO!, I KILLED THE PINEAPPLE!!! as always, stellar humor and level design. i loved the hard way.

ps. i died again in dark souls 2...like 4 times. one day...

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12am

Loved the "hard way" gag. Didn't expect to enjoy this one as much as I did. Great work! :D

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone.

@MadCapacity Took the short cut did you? :) The 'home' and 'continue' parts were only relevant for those who tried the hard way.

@hoqjed Thanks! Noooo that sucks. One day man, one day...

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:48pm

WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT. NNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO knocked him into the lava anyway. thanks for that!

Goutye says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I loved the Hard Part! Really funny. You can be proud of you! Really! Can you explain the link with the theme? x)
Thanks for making a game like that!

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

@Goutye Thanks! Sure I can explain it, I see a number of people don't see the connection or think it's a bit of a cop out.

I interpreted the theme as the entirety of the game in one level/scene as opposed to literally containing the gameplay to what was visible on screen. That is why there are no separate 'start' or 'instructions' or 'game over' screens or cutscenes (the little exposition that was needed was done in text, visible from the moment the game starts); essentially, everything in the game exists within one screen, visible as the camera moves with the player. That is why I also included the "fall" at the beginning, so that the player can see the entirety of the game, from the boss "fight" on the last level (literally the top level of the tower) down the the first level of the game, which is of course the literal first level of the tower. I hope that makes my interpretation a little clearer!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:47am

PINEAPPLE!!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I'm a winner. Nice game, i kind love the harsh sounds effets that keep pressure you to go forward faster.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Hi there. Loved your game. The plummet at the beginning made me laugh out loud... nice reveal of forthcoming difficulties. Like the non-lethal bouncy obstructions... The movement is great.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:29am

Nice game! But I wanted to go the hard way :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I really like the controls in this game. They've got a really unique feel to them, and it was fun to learn to make the most of them. Nice work!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:57am

The pineapple was a lie! Nice simple game. Solid controls, feels nice. A bit hard to make precise moves tho.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very fun! I played about, eh, halfway through and then reached a ponit I didn't feel like trying to pass...Anyway, I can tell that you had a good idea and executed it well, even though it's maybe not THAT innovative. Everything was communicated well; for example, it's not hard to figure out that grinding gray stuff is bad--and even if you don't realize it, the checkpoints are frequent enough that mistakes aren't much of an issue. One thing I absolutely loved was the little particle effect coming off the player; it helps you easily locate yourself, while still keeping the character as a tiny square. Great work!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:47am

A fairly loose interpretation of the theme, but an enjoyable game nonetheless. It felt very polished -- the minimal aesthetic worked well indeed with the smooth animation and the little dancing particles.

In a nice change from most LD platformers, this was actually about my skill level -- the early parts were a little easy if anything, and I actually managed to complete it (although the penultimate room did stick me for a while).

Fantastic work all around.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:43am

Awesome! By the way, thank you for letting the player read the instructions and know where to begin before starting the game, something that most of this type of games didn't made.

pht59x says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:36am

Can't play the game. Got stuck on the maze screen. I'm using Firefox. The sound is ok.

lemmily says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Enjoyable game you've made here :)

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Oh no, my pineapple! Cool game :D I really liked that you only used rectangles for the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]