Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Too Many Windows

by Linkigi - Compo Entry

'Too Many Windows' is a reaction/strategy game based on the daily troubles of having more windows open than screen space.

Throw windows around in search of buttons to click. Time is in short supply.


Share your highscores and your criticisms in the comments.

- SFX were made with sfxr
- Music was made with bosca ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Theme4.36
#50Innovation4.11
#89Humor3.52
#210Fun3.50
#217Overall3.57
#299Mood3.24
#405Audio2.96
#1003Graphics2.38
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

fun fast-paced game. when the clock started ticking I got so stressed, that I somehow made all the windows start jumping and bumping :D ahah

tudd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:37pm

scored 5600 :) Really funny and I'm sure everyone here can relate!

Music is great and I like the explosions too :)

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Cool game! Interesting how you made moving windows fun.

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Really very cool. It's kinda like me, trying to code on my netbook: the game. XD

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

My laptop: The Video Game

Coolway99 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Fun and fast paced. I would personally suggest you add things to the windows. Like make one adware and another one a web browser

davesoft says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Haha, reminds me of work. Great little game :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Solid, fun to whack the windows around frantically searching for the buttons, kept me playing for a bit to beat my highscore.
If it looked like a desktop with actual windows I think there'd be something even greater here!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:13am

Ha, cool concept. Got me playing for a while. Good job

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great concept! I think the gameplay was a little frustrating. You need to more closely mimic the windows interface. Also maybe start the player with just 1 window and slowly popup more windows after a bit.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24am

Got 11500 the second time trying :D

The strategy is interesting; for me I give up the very big green one and hide it somewhere else. Then I can completely see the other three, then only drag the green on in when I can't find button in the three.

Very interesting game and with more mechanism involved it could be splendid!

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Really cool idea. It was defenitly a fun game, good job!

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Fun and fast.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very nice!The speed is great!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:38pm

love it, very original game, well done :)

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:17pm

fun game, glad to see someone using game maker

Renaldo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Fun game. It plays with your brain. I got the impression that the windows were getting bigger.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]