Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Slimey's Quest

by LMT - Compo Entry

A short little platform game where the environment changes around you all in one screen. Arrows or WASD to move. Get to the switch to move stuff around.

All made in around 10 hours work time. I hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#11Fun4.12
#19Theme4.47
#25Overall4.02
#116Audio3.50
#130Mood3.53
#133Graphics3.88
#147Innovation3.79
#363Humor2.79

Comments

broepi says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:46pm

aww, cute thing. and innovative interpretation of the theme.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

simply amazing. The level design is great, the art is nice, the music is soothing. amazing job!

merrak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24am

Good job on the level design.

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17am

I liked the level construction, just con not get to complete a level, the spring kind of crashed me into the ceiling

Colorvade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42am

I like the player's momentum, and the platforms sliding around really sells it. :]

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44am

really satisfying jumps
plucky, slap-bangy sound effects (altough there arent many of them)
great use of the theme, its like playing in a transformer
colour scheme well-picked
I'm jealous of your background

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:08am

Very nice! The audio is lovely, the graphics are just as lovely, and the interpretation of the theme is also lovely. So a lovely game all round.

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:34am

very cute, nice control, and precise level design ! great work !

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34pm

WOW! Very intuitive; The puzzles; How the game introduce new challenges; Simple Gameplay and graphics, and the music gives the right mood! Great game!!! =)

t4u says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Finally a nice way toi dela with the LD's worst theme ever.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Beautiful!! Gameplay, sound, graphic everything is great. Neat concept!!
For me, this game is a 5/5. Well done!

Fasox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15am

Nice game dude...
Perfect fit for the jam theme.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I just HAVE to point out how great the music for this is! I just loved it! Graphics look pretty cool and the gameplay was fun and creative. The mood was really great! 5 stars!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

very creative

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Excellent entry! I like how you used the theme, the game is simple but very addictive and challenging. It feels very polished too, impressive that you created all that in 10h only! I like the graphics too, and the level you designed are many and the difficulty curve is good - nothing negative to say about this game! :)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Smooth gameplay and graphics. I really liked how you got around the theme.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really great adaption to the theme. Great work!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really nice game, good use of the theme and loved the way it taught the game mechanics.

jpmit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Nice job. I really like the level design. It was a good difficulty evolution, and about the right length for me!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Simple yet a lot of fun

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Great adaption of the theme! This must have taken long to test. I don't have much to say, it was overall very solid entry.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11am

very polished entry, great level design fun mechanic!

Rogerup says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:14am

Great game! One of the few good games on LD31 which completely fits in the contest theme. Hoping you reach a good position.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:40pm

This is a very clever idea! like the mechanics and little animations, the graphics are very cool too, well done!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Hi there. Nice look and feel. Like the music, and the character animation. Couldn't get past the (first) level with a brown rectangle... tried a few things. Good job so far!

tobyp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I really like the way you "got around" the theme with your cleverness, and the game is very clean, and has a nice progression of challenge. The music is really good, too! I was hoping to figure out what the Slimey's Quest was, though...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:29pm

That was I call perfect learning curve! Very good balance between challange and passability.

The Jahn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:22am

very well done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:58am

Nice game with an interesting interpretation of the theme. I love music a charactere. I can't figure out how you can improved this. Well done. Bravo ++

Javabot says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:36pm

really fun game, had a ton of fun playing. I really wished it was longer!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Wow! The best theme inerpretation so far. Looking very innovative and promising =)
Good job!

Mase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:49pm

There are a lot of levels, which is nice, but the challenge isn't increased quickly enough. There aren't a lot of new obstacles introduced along the way. The animal heads could've been more adversarial, but they just act like more red buttons to press.
It works smoothly though & I enjoyed seeing the new levels form.
The background is OK but maybe some parallax effect would be nice... it might give the game more of of an expansive "quest" feeling while remaining on one screen.

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Great job on this. I thought you adherence to the theme was fantastic and the transitions were awesome. I felt the guy was a little too "slidey" on the platforms. The part with the spring in the center of the board was much more difficult than the rest of the game because the guy hits the ceiling. Other than that, I think your puzzles had excellent construction for the time frame.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Wow...Indeed, the idea is similar to mine, but yours is better implemented and feels a lot more polished, too. I loved the pacing and the way items are introduced. Awesome job!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:26am

This was wonderful. The transitions were great and so smooth. Fantastic job, well done!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:59am

WOW! A lot of difficulty! But I finally beat it!
Love the feel of your game too, and music!
Thank you for making such a game. Beyond anything I thought of!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:46am

Great work! I really like the art and gameplay! And all this in just 10 hours. Outstanding!

AMS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Good level design and concept, I really enjoyed this game, good job!

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I liked the cute graphics, and the smooth platformer controls. Aesthetic kind of reminds me of Super Mario World, which is good - they had a great colour palette and aesthetic style!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:39am

love the slime character and the level designs! very innovative i enjoyed playing this game great entry!

jfreax says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I really like the game. Cute graphics and the feeling of the controls is very good!Had a lot of fun. Very well done!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very nice work! The gameplay was spot on, level transitions were pretty cool for Stencyl (must have taken a while to set up) and the graphics were nice. One thing though, you probably should have exempted yourself from the audio category for using cgmusic, or at least mentioned it more centre stage in your description.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Love this game! reminds me of "Bean's Quest" on Android (check it out, it is awesome)

Threstle says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Really great game ! =) Simple but efficient, and properly designed.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Just finished the game on Kongregate. I played it randomly there but when I saw the level evolving step by step, I knew it was an "On One Screen" game :) I enjoyed by the way, it's smart, smooth, intuitive and kind of lovely. I couldn't explain in accurate terms why I enjoy the overall "feel" of the game, maybe it's the gravity tuning, the sharp controls, the level design, or maybe it's all about the slim :p

pixzleone says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Very cool! Keep it up!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very nice. Difficulty is just right, not to hard not to easy. Nice graphics too.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:05am

I liked the leve design very much, nicely done! cute graphics as well ^^

ilokimo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:48am

Very good use of the theme, quickly done but interesting and fun.

Benana2 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:18pm

If you die before hitting a platform, you have to reload the page and restart.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very nice!

karlos1 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 4:23am

Very nice game.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:51am

Great work! I randomly found this on Kongregate and as soon as it started I knew it had to be an LD31 game. I was able to find it here so that I could give you a proper rating.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:37am

I couldn't start the game, I don't see any character. The level changes from time to time.

LMT says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Alexandre Szybiak. That should now be fixed. I accidentally overwrote the file.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Love the graphics and how fun is to play. Very good job.

xaedes says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very nice game. The changing level is a nice interpretation of the theme and its very enjoyable to play. The music is both relaxing and motivating. The small levels gave lots of repetitive feedback and I experienced no unwanted frustration through deaths.
GJ!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]